We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for all ages”

Harrah's Louisiana Downs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the Super Derby is a world-class track offering both quarter horse and thoroughbred racing.
Frisco, TX
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We took a quick road trip to LA for the holiday weekend. We weren't sure about taking our kids to the horse races but we're glad we did. They had (just for fun - not betting or anything) dog racing in between the horse races and the kids loved that. They also had free pony rides, bounce houses, petting zoo, and face painting! Not sure if it was just for the holiday but in the 2 hours we were there, the kids were very busy with the things to do and watch. Facility was clean. Food was inexpensive ($1 hotdogs, $3 nachos).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LTrainer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    503
    366
    106
    114
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall - good experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This isn't vegas but I still liked LAD. We enjoyed betting on horses and there are several betting/viewing areas around the complex. Slots were ok, but we enjoyed betting on the horses more. Got 2 free buffets from playing and was one of the best casino buffet's we've ever had.

Drink cart has a balloon hanging from it where you can find them easily. One of my biggest compliants is when you wait forever for a drink. You go to them so no need to wait a long time.

Now, this is a locals hangout, but that doesn't bother me. Overall, we enjoyed this casino

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kf2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Monroe
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Horse Racing”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Horse racing is always great. Casino is colorful. People always seem to be smiling. We always enjoy our visits to Louisiana Downs. They now have two hotels on the property.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kyderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice gambling spot”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Has a good variety of machines to choose from and the waitresses kept the drinks coming. And there was plenty of space to move about to get to where you needed to be. We really enjoyed the experience at the Louisiana Downs...I would recommend this casino to anyone who is interested in a good place to take a chance to get lucky and win big!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Asia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food & fun”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The food and service is great at Silks club dining at horsetrack. Sandwiches, fries, shrimp cocktail, salads are all great. Ask for Ashley or Maureen to be your server and you'll be happy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlynnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrah's Louisiana Downs also viewed

 

Been to Harrah's Louisiana Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing