We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAVE to stay here!”
Review of Maison des Amis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison des Amis
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Ok, honest, when I pulled up to the B & B with my wife and three kids and my parents, I thought ...ok.... We rented all 4 rooms very happy with the price and the charm this place has is wonderful. The property manager and wife came to greet us and explained every thing we needed to know, where to go and cared for our every need. Then we went out back.... WOW.. could have stayed there four hours and on. Water and right at the towns bridge. Cafe De Amis is walk a block and sit. HAVE to eat there. service is wonderful!! The waiter for dinner was great, we mentioned we were coming back for breakfast.. check this.. he had a table set up for us ready when we got there.. amazing. We did swamp tour with Shawn , he is the one to use. anyway, my only problem with this place, I did not plan more days to stay here as part of our multi city trip. I will be back!

Room Tip: All in one. Great place close to Great food and Great folks! Service like it should be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonestarrroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

This experience comes on the heels of having visited Breaux Bridge and Des Ami Cafe on several other occasions; however, this is our first stay over. The Maison Des Amis is a truly unique and special experience. Built around 1800 and falling into near collapse, the owners have resurrected a vital piece of history from forever being lost. The house is rich in period construction and detail, is superbly rebuilt and gives the chance to step back into time. As with any structure - and experience - with a historic relic there are idiosyncrasies: none of which come remotely to compromising a very special and treasured opportunity to lodge in such a wonderful Maison. Laissez les bons temps rouler!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTnHillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

As mentioned earlier there was noise from traffic going over the metal bridge fairly close by. But, having said that, remember.....everything is close by! The rooms were somewhat cozy, but all we were there for was to clean-up and sleep. The grounds were terrific, beautiful lawn and great gazebo right on the bayou. The housekeeper and her husband came by to check on us as was very nice! Breakfast by voucher was more than terrific at Café des Ami and it was a very short walk to get there.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have in site bath facilities however having the rest room just down the enclosed hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Unless you like to party and dance at the local pub, the B&B was a complete let down for us after staying in a brilliant B&B the previous night in another town for the exact same price.

There was no one to greet you, no one to get assistance from other than a housekeeper via cell phone (a perfectly pleasant woman), no chairs in the room, no table in the room, miniscule TV, and poor heat management. There was a steady roar of traffic noise going over the nearby bridge day and night. The food was fine in the Cafe des Amis and the breakfast coupons were more than adequate for the price of breakfast (breakfasts are not served at the B&B excepting two days a week).

We were surprised by the bathroom for our room being down the enclosed back porch. It reminded us of one star hotels in Europe. Rooms 1 and 2 had their own en-suite bathrooms. However, guests from the first two rooms needed to walk down the back porch to make coffee for themselves. The noise from their walking by did wake us in the morning.

The price was way out of line for the quality of this B&B. I'd look elsewhere, if we were ever to revisit Breaux Bridge.

On a positive note, it should be added that the B&B backed onto the bayou which had a lovely deck for guests to use and enjoy as well as a wonderful kumquat tree- the fruits were ripe when we stayed there. The bananas were just flowering. Snacks and drinks were there in the back porch refrigerator for all guests to use.

Room Tip: People staying in room one have returned to it often.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zydecoqueen, Owner at Maison des Amis, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed our backyard, the complementary beverages and snacks, and the fine food in the Cafe des Amis where you felt the breakfast coupons were more than adequate for the price of breakfast.

As the owner does not live in Breaux Bridge, we ask our guests to call Russell in advance so he and/or Brenda can be at the house upon our guests’ arrival. If they cannot be there at the arrival time, Russell provides the needed information and meets the guests at another time. Brenda and Russell are born and raised in Breaux Bridge and provide guests with the flavor of the town.

The Maison was reconstructed based on the original design and is on the National Registry of Historic Homes; 1800 homes had no kitchens. Depending on what night guests stay, breakfast is served at either Café Des Amis or Chez Jacqueline; except on Tuesdays for which guests can have a complementary lunch at the Café Des Amis. Guests can have breakfast at their leisure, choose their entrée based on their dietary needs, and experience the local cuisine. This information is posted on the Maison Des Amis website, conveyed when guests make reservations via the phone, and stated in the confirmation and welcome letters. Also posted on our website is detailed information about each room. We specifically state that the Picou and Teche rooms have private bathrooms that are located down the hallway. This information is always conveyed when guests telephone us as we know that an ensuite bathroom is a deciding factor for some people when making a reservation.

All rooms have a TV, chair(s), central air and heat and were decorated by local Louisiana designers. Our intent is to provide the ambiance of the 1800s. There is a mild hum coming from the Bayou when cars pass over the tow bridge. We have installed Magnite in all rooms to limit the outside noises. Guests are provided with the owner’s and the caretakers phone numbers during the reservation process, in the pre-arrival email, and during their stay; we tell our guests to call us 24/7. Unfortunately, we cannot remedy a situation if we are not contacted (as was in this situation); we could have placed another chair in the room and remedied the heating issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

As stated by others, this is not a typical B&B. That said, we had a great experience here. Our room, #2, is a great size with two comfy chairs and plenty of space to move about and a bathroom with a great clawfoot tub. The housekeeper, Brenda, is a lovely person who was very welcoming to us. Her husband was in the hospital, having heart surgery the next day, but still wanted to talk on the phone with us to make sure we were comfortable. As we were there on a Tuesday when the cafes are not open for breakfast, we were provided with fruit and yogurt for breakfast. There is a coffee maker available, as well as a fridge filled with waters, juices, and sodas. The location of the inn cannot be beat as it is really in town. Even walking to breakfast on a very rainy morning was not terrible. Parking on the street is a bit unusual, but was really ok. We could have parked in the Tourist Info Center lot, and they were fine with our being past the stated 8 a.m. time to move, but we did not do that. We did know there were other guests there at the same time, but we never did see or hear them. I would stay again, maybe in room #1 next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auvoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We loved the Maison des Amis on our first trip into Cajun country. The B&B is in a very old house (which of course means that there are some problems, particularly noise), but it is exquisitely maintained, in the central part of town, and has gardens and a gazebo flowing down to Bayou Teche. The four-poster bed was delightfully comfortable, and our room was well-appointed. There is a kitchen area built onto the porch, which also provides access to each of the rooms, and the kitchen had various kinds of snacks for the taking, a nice touch. Breakfast is available at two close-by restaurants that accept a voucher, provided with the room. Altogether, a culturally rich place to stay, much more interesting and homey than the usual lodgings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoBeRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Highly reviewed but think about the pros and cons: pleasant town, great yard sloping down to the bayou with its gazebo, but in room 3 the bed is in the middle of the room with doors/windows on both sides. Getting to the bathroom at night is an experience. The room was cold and couldn't be warmed up because the airconditioning is shared with the next room. There is little room around the bed, although the sheets are smooth and the mattress good. Parking is in the Tourist Information lot at night, but in the day you are asked to move the car onto a side street. Cafe des Amis is popular but lunch was not very good and the line on a Saturday morning was more than 20 minutes - longer than we were able to stand. Jacqueline is a a hard working lady but either she needs more help or a new cook at Chez Jacqueline, so it offers no real alternative. We second the review of jojoDorset, since at half the price it would still be a poor bargain.

Room Tip: not 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwmarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breaux Bridge hotels
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Breaux Bridge
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breaux Bridge (Lafayette Area)
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison des Amis

Address: 111 Washington St, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-5141
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range: £109 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison des Amis 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Caribbean/Creole residence, Maison des Amis overlooks lush gardens, which lead to a charming white gazebo that sits over the legendary Bayou Teche. Built around 1870/1880 and known as the "Boudier" house, it is the oldest historic structure along with the "City Hotel." Completely restored in the mid 1990s and conveniently located in the downtown historic district of Breaux Bridge; one block from antique stores, gift shops, restaurants, and cafes. The inn consists of four guestrooms, each with its own private bath, antique furnishings and direct access to the porch overlooking the gardens and bayou. Famous Louisianan designers decorated the guestrooms. Each guestroom has high ceilings and old cypress long leaf pinewood floors, and is decorated with original art. Guests can relax in the glassed-in sun porch, stroll in the lush landscaped gardens or read the daily paper in the rattan rocking chairs in the gazebo. Complimentary beverages and daily maid service are provided with a personal touch. General tour information is available. Upon request, our manager can create a tailored tour to meet your personal needs.Guests receive a complimentary Cajun-style breakfast at the world famous Café des Amis restaurant or Chez Jacqueline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Maison des Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing