We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & quaint”
Review of Maison des Amis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison des Amis
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, clean, and comfortable accommodation. Very romantic surroundings. Friendly greeting. Antique furnishings lovely but not quietly discreet for a romantic evening.
Coffee on site robust. Would have been better with real milk instead of powdered creamer. Luxurious linens & towels. The all night porch light poured into our room with drapes fully closed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

This B&B is absolutely charming. We stayed 2 nights in the Teche Room. The decor in that room is very eclectic. It's located the farthest away from the front of the maison and closest to the gardens and the Bayou Teche. It was lovely to just step out onto the porch and enjoy the view. It did rain a good bit while we were there, but somehow didn't mind spending the afternoon in such a lovely bed and breakfast. The zydeco breakfast at Cafe Des Amis is worth getting up for at the crack of dawn to get in line. I also enjoyed talking to Brenda, the housekeeper. She is very friendly and helpful. I was amazed to hear about the many celebrities and dignitaries who have visited and stayed overnight in Breaux Bridge. I enjoyed every minute of our stay at Maison Des Amis.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Janem9261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed for just one Saturday evening for an anniversary getaway from New Orleans to Breaux Bridge, and it was delightful.

As it turned out, we were the only ones there, in front room on Rue Washington. Nice room, large attached bath (my wife loved the claw-foot tub), very comfortable, nice period decor, and a pleasant tabby cat out on the all-round veranda. Beautiful back yard and gazebo and deck on the Teche. And near everything, yet just far enough off Bridge street to be quiet.

I suppose if you have your heart set on live-in hosts, you may be disappointed, as some reviewers were. We read this site before our trip and figured it would be fine for us. It was. The owner has gone to some pains to see that everything you might need is there--snacks, stocked fridge, coffeemaker, as others have said. Umbrellas, books, and even a croquet set. We needed the caretaker only to get the wi-fi password, which he pleasantly gave us by phone.

it 's a beautiful restoration of a very old house, and was a fun experience for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for one night - something not possible with other inns in the city I contacted - and enjoyed it.

The garden was beautiful, as was the gazebo overlooking the river and the bridge. The showers were nice, and the two cats that seemed to live there friendly. Soft drinks were provided for free, and it's a 1 minute walk from the fantastic Cafe Des Amis.

What more do you want? This was the perfect place to relax for the night after a crazy week on vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willjedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We rented the entire house for our family and loved it. The property manager and her husband were very helpful and took care of us. Loved the gazebo and rocking chairs to sit out in. The rooms were very comfortable and decorated lovely. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonestarrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Ok, honest, when I pulled up to the B & B with my wife and three kids and my parents, I thought ...ok.... We rented all 4 rooms very happy with the price and the charm this place has is wonderful. The property manager and wife came to greet us and explained every thing we needed to know, where to go and cared for our every need. Then we went out back.... WOW.. could have stayed there four hours and on. Water and right at the towns bridge. Cafe De Amis is walk a block and sit. HAVE to eat there. service is wonderful!! The waiter for dinner was great, we mentioned we were coming back for breakfast.. check this.. he had a table set up for us ready when we got there.. amazing. We did swamp tour with Shawn , he is the one to use. anyway, my only problem with this place, I did not plan more days to stay here as part of our multi city trip. I will be back!

Room Tip: All in one. Great place close to Great food and Great folks! Service like it should be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonestarrroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This experience comes on the heels of having visited Breaux Bridge and Des Ami Cafe on several other occasions; however, this is our first stay over. The Maison Des Amis is a truly unique and special experience. Built around 1800 and falling into near collapse, the owners have resurrected a vital piece of history from forever being lost. The house is rich in period construction and detail, is superbly rebuilt and gives the chance to step back into time. As with any structure - and experience - with a historic relic there are idiosyncrasies: none of which come remotely to compromising a very special and treasured opportunity to lodge in such a wonderful Maison. Laissez les bons temps rouler!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTnHillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Breaux Bridge hotels
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Breaux Bridge
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breaux Bridge (Lafayette Area)
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison des Amis

Address: 111 Washington St, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-5141
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range: £109 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison des Amis 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Caribbean/Creole residence, Maison des Amis overlooks lush gardens, which lead to a charming white gazebo that sits over the legendary Bayou Teche. Built around 1870/1880 and known as the "Boudier" house, it is the oldest historic structure along with the "City Hotel." Completely restored in the mid 1990s and conveniently located in the downtown historic district of Breaux Bridge; one block from antique stores, gift shops, restaurants, and cafes. The inn consists of four guestrooms, each with its own private bath, antique furnishings and direct access to the porch overlooking the gardens and bayou. Famous Louisianan designers decorated the guestrooms. Each guestroom has high ceilings and old cypress long leaf pinewood floors, and is decorated with original art. Guests can relax in the glassed-in sun porch, stroll in the lush landscaped gardens or read the daily paper in the rattan rocking chairs in the gazebo. Complimentary beverages and daily maid service are provided with a personal touch. General tour information is available. Upon request, our manager can create a tailored tour to meet your personal needs.Guests receive a complimentary Cajun-style breakfast at the world famous Café des Amis restaurant or Chez Jacqueline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maison des Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing