We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent eats!”

Crazy Bout Crawfish Cajun Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent eats!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The desk clerk at the hotel recommended this restaurant. Boy, are we glad we took her advice! The wait staff were very friendly and the food was absolutely wonderful! The kitchen was a bit slow (almost 45 minutes to get our food), but I suspect most of our order wasn't actually cooked until we ordered it. The grilled alligator was to die for! The crawfish boil soup was quite obviously made with real butter and cream. My husband had the "Blaze Star" burger and found it quite delightful. The restaurant has an impressive collection of local brews (sadly, only bottles, though). And you can buy a 6 pack (mixed or single type) for less than $9. When our waitress realized my husband was sampling the different beers, she gave him one of their new brands on the house. If you're ever in Breaux Bridge, LA, be sure to stop and eat at Crazy 'Bout Crawfish!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisAndTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    72
    23
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We give this place a zero score (0). THE WORST SERVICE & FOOD EVER.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The WORST restaurant ever. Horrible service; staff & owner are unprofessional, rude, ghetto. They don't know how to speak to you or take your order correctly. Then gives you an attitude when you tell them. You have to pray that your food comes out correctly. Most time its no seasoning or spoiled food. WE WILL NEVER WASTE OUR MONEY THERE AGAIN EVER.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyjellykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Real Caju Experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here. On our drive through Louisiana on our way to Alabama. There were six of us in our group and we ordered the Seafood Festival Platter and a cup of gumbo each and a side of fried alligator. It was just the right amount of food for our group. The fried alligator was the most tender I have ever eaten. The Crawfish Jalapena Cornbread was so moist and delicious, I think I could have just ordered that and been happy. Our only complain was that we were trying to get back on the road and the service was kind of slow. However, the atmosphere is great, lots of locals hang out here, and if you are not in a hurry, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonSaysHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,044 reviews
1,330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,199 helpful votes
“First time at eating crawfish”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Four of us had dinner here. We all had three pounds of boiled crawfish in the hottest sauce they offer. Three pounds of crawfish for $12.50 pp. This was the first time that any of us had ever eaten crawfish. The owner of the restaurant showed us how to eat them. It took us over two hours to eat all of them as the meat in the tail is very small and requires lots of tedious work for just a small amount of food. The owner told us that this was most likely the last night that they would be serving fresh crawfish this season as the end of season for crawfish is usually over by beginning of July but this year the season lasted about a month longer than usual. Fresh crawfish means that the crawfish are alive right before they boil them vs. the frozen crawfish. The owner of this restaurant said she only serves fresh crawfish. Crawfish turn dark color (almost black) at the end of season and it is very difficult to get the tail meat out when they are this old. This was the first time any of us had ever eaten crawfish so we have nothing to compare it against but we enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Martinville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
158 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“love this place!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

With one word I can describe this place: FUN !!! The menu is straight Cajun but has some twists to it like fried bread pudding. The employees all seem to love working there. You wont leave hungry, be sure to ask for a sample of the Praline Liqueur.......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cajunflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crazy Bout Crawfish Cajun Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Bout Crawfish Cajun Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing