We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh! so short”
Review of Maison Madeleine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breaux Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Madeleine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Would we have known, we would have stayed longer. And be it only to have that great breakfast again.
The house is situated in the middle of nowhere but at the same time very close to everything. Getting to the motorway, finding a restaurant, starting a swam tour ... all that is not more than 15 minutes away.
The rooms are very homely and it feels like you are visiting dear family or friends. At the same time Madeleine is not overbearing with her attention (do you know what I mean?) so you dont feel obliged all the time.
Its amazing what Madeleine has done with the place and it needs to be mentioned that all the effort really pays off, but does not reflect in the prices.
And did I mention the breakfast? Its ... I cannot find the words. Go there and try for yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superjanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

Maison Madeleine is a truly outstanding place to stay. The house is beautiful and full of character. The owner Madeleine is absolutely charming and has poured her heart in to creating an exceptional inn.

We only stayed for one night but we dearly wished that we could have stayed for longer and we plan to return. The area around the inn is fascinating and well worth a visit.

Maison Madeleine gets my highest possible recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

My extended family (5 adults) visited Maison Madeleine in January. It's a very unique b&b, it can only handle up to 6 people total (which is probably a stretch) , but was perfect for us.

Its about a 10 minute driver from Breaux Bridge and Henderson, on the shores of Lake Martin which is a bird sanctuary that is partially owned by the Nature Conservancy (they are building a nature center which is scheduled to open over the next year).

One has the sense of the primordial Louisiana swampland. We were there on an unusually cold week in January, even we saw an owl, herons and egrets. Most of the year there are alligators etc.

We were scheduled to do a swamp tour right on Lake Martin, but the unusual cold (<40 degrees) caused us to cancel so I can't talk about that. We did have a memorable dinner at Pat's in Henderson, and caught a zydeco band there also.

The B&B itself is very charming, it has been featured in Southern magazines. The owner moved an existing antique building and restored it in such a way as to retain most features of the house. There are lovely gardens surrounding the place and we had a truly spectacular breakfast.

We have traveled a lot, and this was really a find.

However, that being said.. it is not the kind of place that will appeal to everyone. The accommodations are intentionally on the "old world" side and the bathroom has a bath rather than a shower.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonmadeleine, Owner at Maison Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelle775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonmadeleine, Owner at Maison Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stéphane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonmadeleine, Owner at Maison Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ChristelMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonmadeleine, Owner at Maison Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breaux Bridge
4 mi away
Maison des Amis
Maison des Amis
#7 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
48 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mouton Plantation Bed & Breakfast
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breaux Bridge (Lafayette Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
5.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Breaux Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Madeleine

Address: 1015 John D Hebert Rd, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-7420
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range: £126 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in your own private oasis in our couples suite located on the second floor of this family home or make the couples suite a two bedroom suite with one bath to share with family and friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing