We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayou Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breaux Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayou Cabins
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I thought is was...well, okay. The site itself is beautiful. On a bayou....ummm...not so much. It's kind of on a mud puddle set beside a highway. For the price, it was alright. Highway noises all night long. Place was clean, well-kept and quaint. If you want a true bayou experience, check out someplace else. If you're on a budget, this works...if you squint real hard you can imagine you're on the bayou. .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    48
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
72
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at the Bayou Cabins in early March of this year, as an impromptu, frequent flyer getaway weekend. We were enchanted by this group of picturesque little cabins by the canal. Clean, comfortable, and funky in a good way! Someone has really given these little cabins some loving attention, and we just naturally felt welcome by the eclectic decor.
These were cozy accommodations, but for a couples weekend it was perfect.
Free breakfast by the owners and all sorts of fun memorabilia adorn the walls of the main cabin.
Not to mention the giant crawfish welcoming us in the central yard!
I cannot wait to go back! You could stay at a more generic hotel in the area that might be more spacious, with ubiquitous sports bar, and void of quirkiness, but it would be like ordering a fast food hamburger when you could have a pile of spicy boiled crawfish made to order- you might be a little freaked at first, but once you get into it, you are so blessedly happy.
We found our stay very restful, and liked the cool nights to help with sleeping. Our cabin was immaculately clean. The location is actually pretty damn convenient- we were not bothered by nearby commerce and we didn’t really notice the state highway out front.
The Bayou Cabins are a 4 minute walk away from another amazing discovery, “THE FRUIT STAND” which is in my top 3 favorite stores in the Universe. You can buy said fruit, but also spices (1 bag of Cayenne would be enough spice to supply Minnesota for the millennium, as our Uncle explained), moonshine, beer, take out, or sit down for some boiled shrimp…amazing!
You can also walk to Pont Breaux for nightly zydeco and food. We also very much liked McGee’s landing on the other side of the Levee near Henderson, a 20 minute drive away.

I am not sure how it would be in July when the air is like pudding or with mosquitos (not our favorite time to visit La in general). I have been misled by the offer of "charm" in lodging literature previously; in the case of the Bayou Cabins, it is a legitimate claim, I garontee!

Room Tip: Check online for what cabin looks fun to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G_Cheblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My family stayed here and I cannot say enough good things about it.

For the same price as a hotel we got to stay in a large cabin with cute and quirky details. We stayed in the "museum" cabin which had antique memorabilia throughout (like an antique vacuum cleaner, spindle and vanity).

It was clean, comfortable and had a big front porch that was great to sit out and gave a cold beer on. Breakfast was provided by the cafe in front and is part of the package. It was delicious and the innkeeper is not only warm and friendly but provided excellent references to the nearest swamp tour.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a fun family vacation in Louisiana.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here in July 9 years ago and really loved it, but this visit was very disappointing. The Management was again cordial and helpful and our cabin was clean, but was too cold at night and the heating was inadequate. Our cabin was VERY expensive! The breakfast was meager and below average, and the small office- gift shop where breakfast was served smelled unclean and unhealthy. We planned to stay 3 nights but stayed 1 night. It's nothing like it was 9 years ago.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N1TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

OK, so this place was cheaper than similar alternatives in the area, working out at about $75 per night. We stayed in the Miss Elise cabin, which was cute and quirky, if a bit on the shabby side; there's a Victorian dresser and old lady hats and perfume bottles strewn prettily around. It was clean and well heated, although the fan heaters do make a bit of noise at night.

A couple of gripes - the bed was pretty darn uncomfortable. I don't know if it was the mattress or the size (it's a bit small for two people) but we really didn't sleep too well in there. Also the window blinds were broken and kept falling down, which was awkward.

Then there was the toilet. The flush chain broke clean off one night, and my husband had to do an emergency repair job with some plastic twine. It was late (after 11pm) so there was no-one to inform about this in the main house. He figured it had been repaired before, but badly - same problem with the blinds! To be fair though, we didn't tell them the next day as we were rushing out the door to make a swamp trip, and weren't back till late.

There is certainly water behind the cabin, and you can sit on the private porch and look at it - but don't expect the prettiest view! It backs onto a plain field with a dingy bar at the top (the Bridge Bar - we went there one evening and regretted it almost immediately), and there's a busy main road right alongside.

On the plus side the free breakfast in the morning was filling and tasty, and the landlady is absolutely adorable. It'd be better in warm weather, I should think, as they have a lovely outdoor area with lots of seating. A fridge in the cabin would have been great - you can't really keep any food in there.

In summary, if you're looking for basic, no-frills, (mostly) serviceable accommodation at a reasonable price and you're not fussed about views or traffic noise, this'd probably suit you fine. Just come equipped for the odd repair job!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirisetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Rocky and Lisa made us very welcome in the middle of a shocking rainstorm, were very flexible about which cabin we could have, the price and how long we stayed. They were also full of information about the area.The inclusive breakfast is amazing value and includes their prize-winning cracklin' and boudin. We stayed 3 days and were very happy with the 3-bedroom cottage with it's little kitchen and verandah. It's a great spot right on the Bayou Teche to base your stay in this fascinating area.

Room Tip: If it's raining hard and likely to flood, don't pick a cabin right on the bayou!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

My elderly father and I planned on spending four nights. The first night, the power went off for over 4 hours. The cabin was not clean and no flash lights. We left the next morning. My father said he worked his whole life not to stay in a place like this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Molly O C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breaux Bridge
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
7.6 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#24 of 49 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
8.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison des Amis
Maison des Amis
#7 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast
Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breaux Bridge (Lafayette Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayou Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayou Cabins

Property: Bayou Cabins
Address: 100 W Mills Ave, P.O. Box 3, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-4850
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Authentic, Bed and Breakfast Cajun Cabins along historic Bayou Teche. Each with their own personality dating back to the 1800's. from the Cajun Cabin,Suite Camille to the Bayou Museum. A full breakfast in the morning in Bayou Boudin and Cracklin Cafe is included. Complete with linens, cable TV, AC/heat, some with coffee pots, microwave, refrigerator and some with complete country kitchen. Great food, music and friendly people nearby. 100% Cajun. Voted 1 of the top 5 places to stay according to the Stay List "Hotels That we Love" National Geographic Traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayou Cabins Hotel Breaux Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing