We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayou Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breaux Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayou Cabins
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

After a 2 day drive, sitting in the car and traffic, this was a wonderful experience for us. The grounds were well maintained and clean, interesting antiques all around, made you feel you were on the bayou from way back. Rocky and Lisa, very warm and friendly people. We actually stayed in 2 different cabins, which gave us the opportunity to experience different themes. It was relaxing and very enjoyable with great restaurants near by and the alligator tour. We will be back again for sure. Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    48
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
71
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here previously and I gave it a 5 star review. Sadly I have to change that now.
Our stay was very disappointing this time. We were quoted at $100 for cabin 8 so we happily reserved it for 2 nights. Our bill however was $312 after the high occupancy tax. I find this questionable for several reasons. First off we were staying in a cabin designed to sleep 6 -8 people (2 queen beds a futon and a sleeper chair). When asked at breakfast if we needed extra towels soap and whatnot. I replied no. So we didn't use any more extra amenities than if one person stayed there. I have 5 kids and 3 of them are ages 5 and under. I'm talking about the get in free to most places tiny tot stage and yet they were counted as just another full person like an adult.

I just feel like things have changed and after being quoted one price it was a shock when we went to pay our bill. Their high occupancy tax of $56 a night could have paid for a night at a regular hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank wendijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

we've been there serveral times and it was FANTASTIC !!
great, clean top cabins, extrem friendly folks, nice view, great food .....sometimes great cajun music and allways nice folks around for a talk, a joke.
great restaurants, swamp tours and more
we'e back in a few days.
george & CC, vienna, austria, EU

Room Tip: every single cabin is unique and fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

4 of us rented a 2 bedroom cabin. This worked out well. The only issue was that it was truly a 2 room cabin, so the bathroom and kitchen both required you to go through one bedroom or the other to get to them.

Breakfast was great, the people were friendly, and we were in a good location to explore the bayou!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Marvellous spot, very individual and a definate one off. We stayed in the Elvis cabin, which was wonderfully decked out. Nothing like relaxing on the rocker on the back porch over the bayou with a daquari from the drive through at the petrol station next door. This place has the character and friendliness of a backpackers but without the basicness! Very good value and great southern hospitality all round.

Would really recommend Cajun Country Swamp tour. The guys that run it have incredible knowledge about the swamp and where to find the best wildlife; it is like being on safari! And they really seem to care about the environment and preserving it, unlike perhaps some of their competitors.

Also, you can get a great southern feast at Pont Breaux's Cajun restaurant up the road.

Room Tip: The website has lots about the rooms- they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were on a trip that started in Austin TX. We planned to drive to New Orleans and while we had firm plans and reservations for most of the trip my wife suggested we "wing it" with the general idea that we'd stay somewhere around Lafayette for a couple of days. She wanted "something different, more like a bed & breakfast", so I reluctantly agreed to a "maybe". We stopped at the Louisiana Welcome Center off I-10 in Vinton and saw a brochure for Bayou Cabins. It looked interesting, so we called. Spoke with Lisa and booked a cabin for 2 nights, the Palace #7. Lisa advised that she and Sonny were taking a few days off and we probably wouldn't see them. She agreed to leave the key for us, and we could call her cell phone if there were any problems. I figured what the heck, at least we didn't have to worry about getting a place to stay, so we headed East. The signs were easy to follow to the cabins from the Interstate and we arrived at a very quiet, seemingly deserted
little colony of old, neat looking cabins. We had a little difficulty finding #7, as there didn't seem to be a definite rhyme or reason to how they were numbered. A young woman showed up and pointed us to the Cajun Palace, complete with key hanging by the door. We stepped inside and our jaws just dropped!! We were not prepared for the funky coolness of this place, even though the grounds should have tipped us off. Antiques, chandeliers, strings of lights strung outside, a deck out back overlooking the Bayou Teche, plus a small screened in porch with a high table and chairs. We kept looking at each other in disbelieve and smiling like a couple of kids on Christmas morning. Those smiles lasted the entire time we were there. What a cool place this is, like stepping back in time. We settled in just in time for a thunderstorm that was just the cherry on the cake. This place is definitely NOT the Hilton or Ramada Inn, but that was not what we were looking for. If you want something with a little character and are just a tad adventurous, then you need to experience this place. Mind you, it was clean, comfortable, cozy, and relaxing. Though you are just off the road, the sounds of birds, the wind through the trees, and the lazy moving water just yards away are what surround you. We never got to meet Lisa and Sonny, but chatted with their friend Neal who was there to do a little work around the place on the morning we were leaving for New Orleans. Super cool guy, it felt like we had been friends for years, despite the differences in our drawls. We hope to be back someday soon, meet the owners and partake in the breakfast everybody raves about. Great memories of this unique place. Give it a try if you want something out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: #7 aka The Palace costs a bit more but had an amazing canopy bed form the 1800's and a sitting r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harlycarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a lovely visit. These are good basic cabins that reminded us of places we stayed when traveling with our parents years ago. The cabin was clean, reasonably well furnished and the hosts were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast, free coffee in the cabin and free wifi were definite pluses. We did not find road noise to be a problem. Breakfast was great fun. Rocky and Lisa cook and serve and exude good feelings and high spirits while taking your order for breakfast and serving you. As I said we had a lovely visit and enjoyed what felt like an authentic cajun experience. Your hosts really make all their guests feel at home. Great people, great price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomAfton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breaux Bridge
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
7.6 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#24 of 49 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 49 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
1.0 mi away
Maison des Amis
Maison des Amis
#7 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast
Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayou Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayou Cabins

Property: Bayou Cabins
Address: 100 W Mills Ave, P.O. Box 3, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-4850
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Authentic, Bed and Breakfast Cajun Cabins along historic Bayou Teche. Each with their own personality dating back to the 1800's. from the Cajun Cabin,Suite Camille to the Bayou Museum. A full breakfast in the morning in Bayou Boudin and Cracklin Cafe is included. Complete with linens, cable TV, AC/heat, some with coffee pots, microwave, refrigerator and some with complete country kitchen. Great food, music and friendly people nearby. 100% Cajun. Voted 1 of the top 5 places to stay according to the Stay List "Hotels That we Love" National Geographic Traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayou Cabins Hotel Breaux Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing