We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously Fun & Educational Swamp Tour”

Atchafalaya Basin Landing & Marina- Swamp Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
“Fabulously Fun & Educational Swamp Tour”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wonderful morning tour of the Atchafalaya Swamp under perfectly breezy weather conditions. From the receptionist to the captain and the fellow on the dock, the staff were very helpful and full of information. Captain Tucker was entertaining and he taught us much about the swamp. We had a pleasant encounter with Max and Bella but you'll have to take the tour to learn who these two characters are!
It was nice that we were permitted to bring our own drinks and snacks for the family although there is a little store on site that has, for sale at reasonable costs, the same kinds of items.
You will not be disappointed in this operation and you will come away having learned a whole lot. Keep your hands in the boat at all times and be happy that they give you protective ear gear. It is EXCELLENT value for the money!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 696ninaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    19
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting and Beautiful!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We wanted to take an air boat tour and see the other side that Louisiana has to offer. Captain Kurt was very knowledgeable of the area and the wildlife. The views were beautiful and my kids loved the alligators. After the tour Captain Kurt recommended a great local place to grab a bite of lunch...Chicken on the Bayou.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familyonthegoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We're from Australia and this was an absolutely fantastic afternoon...our first time on a fanboat...amazing scenery, interesting commentary and the whole experience was one of the highlights of our 18 months of living in and travelling the US....what a beautiful area...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stujen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best birthday party!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and granddaughter share a birthday so we surprised them with an airboat tour of the Atchafalaya basin. Ten of us in total. Although we live within an hour of Henderson, none of us had done it. We loved it! Tucker was a great guide. He knows and loves the area. Very knowledgeable about the environment and local history. He introduced us to Max and Suxette, two alligators. And a big gator named Mack. Highly recommend Basin Landing. Wish we could have tried the Turtle Bar but several in party not quite old enough. Tucker and Kelle recommended we try Crawfish Town USA for lunch. Always eat where the locals eat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So much fun”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

It was a great day and a great trip. Me the little and my lovely wife enjoyed every minute of the tour. We saw 6 alligators and even though the boys and I loved every minute of it. Supprisely the little lady did also. Great tour was great.

Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atchafalaya Basin Landing & Marina- Swamp Tours also viewed

 

Been to Atchafalaya Basin Landing & Marina- Swamp Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing