We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Cajun food”

Poche Market & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Cajun food”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We made a detour on a recent trip to Houston just to go here. We found it last year and had to make another visit. If there's anything you need or want relating to good Louisiana food, you can find it here. The Sweet Dough pies are unique, but delicious - a spicy, almost cake- like dough filled with your choice - coconut, blueberry, Bavarian Cream, and more. Be sure to get a lunch plate with their dirty rice - outstanding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orchid94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    49
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Covina, California
2 reviews
“Southern Fish Fry”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Crunch in every bite! Catfish was fresh and tasty! We ate here twice and while waiting for our take out we met a local young lady she was so sweet and helpful and gave us some good local tips.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great market for true Louisiana meats”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

A huge variety of fresh meats: alligator sausage crawfish, Cajun pork, Tasso ham and many more cajun meats. An array of Cajun sauces,spices and rubs. Homemade doughnut pies and pralines. This place needs to be spotlighted on Food Network and Travel Channel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blahblahteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“How has Poche's not been on Triple D?”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Well worth the drive off the hiway! Traveling from Tx to NC, we were hungry and looking for a hole in the wall, non chain place to dine and stumbled upon Poche! Thankful that we did! Huge portions and at a great price. Always a recipe for success! Love the food and just ate our and listened to the local folk talk. Now that I know about this place, I will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puckchucker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crawfish Etouffee”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Poche Market is close to Cajun Country Cottages where my sis and I stayed for 6 days. They serve a cafeteria style lunch but it's also a store and smoke house. We were there the day Crawfish Etouffee was being offered. Now I've had it in the best of restaurants in New Orleans but I must say, I never had the flavor that I tasted in the crawfish etouffee at Poche! They gave me three times the amount I could eat but I did take the rest back to our cottage and finished later. It was amazing! I bought their BBQ rub and Seasoning, haven't tried them yet but sure to be the same quality as their food. The menu is changed daily, so call ahead to find out what the special of the day is. I'm going to order some meat from them on line, we're having a neighborhood shrimp boil and I think some crawfish bodin will taste yummy in the boil! The store is stocked with just about anything you need, even ready made meals. Also try the "sweet potato bread pudding"! Really good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poche Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poche Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing