We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at reasonable prices.”

Poche Market & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Bay City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped in for dinner but were told they had a private party so we couldn't sit in the dining area to eat. Instead we ordered some shrimp, catfish, boudin and crawfish etouffee to go and took it back to the hotel. The food was good and the prices were reasonable. They gave us plenty of food. I wish we could have just eaten it there. I think it would have been better, but that is OK. The shrimp and catfish were very good. I really liked their etouffee, it was very flavorful but not blazing hot. Very well seasoned. The boudin was good but not my favorite. I guess everyone has their own idea of what the best boudin is. Their's wasn't bad, I just like some others better.

They have a great selection of specialty meats, sausage,etc as well as lots of other cajun grocery items.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    50
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
2 reviews
“"Unique"”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very friendly and interesting place. South LA Cajun market at its best! Very good. Tasty plate dinner at night at reasonable price. If you are in the Breaux Bridge area, please stop by. Well worth the stop! Also homemade pies and dishes to go. Just a great place to wander around and shop!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank darnell83144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Cajun food”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We made a detour on a recent trip to Houston just to go here. We found it last year and had to make another visit. If there's anything you need or want relating to good Louisiana food, you can find it here. The Sweet Dough pies are unique, but delicious - a spicy, almost cake- like dough filled with your choice - coconut, blueberry, Bavarian Cream, and more. Be sure to get a lunch plate with their dirty rice - outstanding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orchid94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
2 reviews
“Southern Fish Fry”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Crunch in every bite! Catfish was fresh and tasty! We ate here twice and while waiting for our take out we met a local young lady she was so sweet and helpful and gave us some good local tips.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great market for true Louisiana meats”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

A huge variety of fresh meats: alligator sausage crawfish, Cajun pork, Tasso ham and many more cajun meats. An array of Cajun sauces,spices and rubs. Homemade doughnut pies and pralines. This place needs to be spotlighted on Food Network and Travel Channel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blahblahteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poche Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poche Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing