We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breaux Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“What a great find!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Coming from New Orleans and desperately needing a getaway from work, my wife found Cajun Country cottages. We couldn't have picked a better place to completely relax. The cottages are all on the lakes edge. The cottage we stayed in was charming and comfortable. We slept better than we have in a long time. Woke to a hot breakfast delivered to our door. Enjoyed the local cuisine. This is our new getaway. Chris and Stephanie, job well done!

Room Tip: No swimming pool but the canoe rides were wonderful :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
106
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

When I walked in, it was so dark. We stayed in the little cypress. The sofa looked like it was from 1960. At night, bugs were coming in like crazy under the front door. The owners never answered thier phone so I coated the floor with dish soap. It seem to work. The bed upstairs was comfortable. I just didnt have good vibes staying here. It's down a long dirt road so don't worry about washing your car before you come. The breakfast wasn't anything out of the ordinary. The price was high. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adventurermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieBaker, Owner at Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Since this guest stayed almost a year ago, it's a little hard to respond but I can start by saying that our long awaited road is now paved. We have our cottages situated on the edge of our lake, which appeals to guests wanting that "being on the water feel". We take care to seeing that our cottages are clean and comfortable for our visitors. Eclectic might describe them best. We try our best to be available to our guests as much as possible. We take pride in our B&B and try our best to show it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topanga, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in the Little Cypress Cottage for two nights in early July, 2013. Although it rained most of the day on our first day, we loved the cottage. It is cute, quiet, and comfortable. We enjoyed feeding the turtles, fish and ducks in the pond at the end of our deck. The bathroom is downstairs from the bedroom (as advertised), but we did not find this inconvenient. The full kitchen is terrific! Chris and Stephanie are very kind and attentive hosts. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We rented the Magenta cottage for a short stay in the cajun country (1 night) and truly, we wish we would have stayed longer...

The hosts were just really kind, the place was neat and beautiful, with a big deck on the lake and beds were comfortable.

It was relatively near at driving distance from everything we wanted to see in Breaux Bridge ans surroundings.

In the morning was even able to feed ducks from our door porch, while they were only 2-3 feet in front of her, on the deck and not affraid at all.

Just a quiet, great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matamore6669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The setting, on a quite, beautiful pond filled with turtles, fish, ducks and other birds, is gorgeous, and the friendly, helpful service from Chris, who owns the place with his wife, was equally superb. It's a little hard to find at first, but once you get there, you'll know you picked wisely. It's only a few minutes from Breux Bridge and only 15 minutes from Lafayette and very close to Lake Martin, which offers killer swamp tours. The perfect place for my first taste of Cajun Country. And the breakfasts were outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeboo599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

If you're looking for a peaceful, clean and quiet place to relax, this B&B may be for you. There are 5 cottages situated around a small lake with ample spacing and there is quite a lot of viewable wildlife coming and going in a way that creates a very cool country vibe. Our cottage (Evangeline) was rather large with a full kitchen and livingroom, porch that you can enjoy even if it is raining and a small dock on the lake if you'd like to enjoy that. This place is especially good if you just want to sit around and relax. It even comes with a small-ish dog that is very friendlly, but seems to be trained not to enter the cottage should the door be left open. It's like she makes her rounds to see if everything is going ok.

I will say that if you're not one to sit around to enjoy where you're staying, you may find this place a little pricey. We paid $160 per night and we could have gotten a 3-star hotel in town for $35, so be sure you are looking for a unique B&B experience and not just a place to crash. There was a 1-month cancellation notice requirement when we booked, so you'll want to be aware of that.

Also, if you have stayed at other B&Bs around Lafayette, you may find that the breakfast offered is comparatively basic (eggs, meat, muffin or bisquit with OJ). It'll get you started, but won't excite you like some of the other places that go all out.

So in summary, if your focus is on a clean, comfortable, quiet place and you have a few extra $$$ to get rid of, you probably won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Their WEB site will give you a good idea of what the cottages offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieBaker, Owner at Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
We'd like to thank all of our guests who have made our business flourish over the last 12 years. Thank you for the wonderful comments you've submitted to tripadvisor.
*because we only have 5 cottages, during peak season, we have a longer cancellation policy than our normal 10 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

If you're looking for a quiet and secluded spot from which to explore the sights, sounds and tastes of Cajun country, you couldn't do much better than this place. We stayed in Little Cypress for a couple of nights on our honeymoon and loved the lake at the bottom of our private pier, complete with turtles and ducks. The bedroom was very comfy and the breakfast excellent. Whilst the kitchen is stocked with the basics, it's not really set up for elaborate self-catering - and why would you want to with such great restaurants and takeout near by? We really enjoyed our stay. The owners provide a thoughtful but unobtrusive welcome which gave us the secluded feeling we were after on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breaux Bridge
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
10.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
9.2 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#25 of 50 in Lafayette
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
8.2 mi away
Bois Des Chenes Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Maison des Amis
Maison des Amis
#7 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1138A Lawless Tauzin Dr, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-6339
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 lakeside cottages bring you as close to our lake as possible!. What a delight to walk out of your cottage and have this beauty right at your door. The porches have wooden swings and our piers on the lake place you right on the water's edge. So relaxing and tramquil! Cottages are comfortable and well equipped. Close enough to tourist attractions and restaurants, yet just far enough off the beaten track. Come enjoy and relax! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cajun Country Cottages b&b
Cajun Country Cottages Hotel Breaux Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing