We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway-Just wish it had been longer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breaux Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Getaway-Just wish it had been longer”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

we could not have asked for anything better. It was warm, cozy, quiet, and relaxing. Despite the cool weather, each am i sat out on my private dock on the lake, wrapped in a blanket, sipping on warm coffee. Ducks would come flying in to join me enjoying the morning sunrise. i only wished i had more time. We stayed in the Little Cypress which was absolutely perfect for us as a couple. The downstairs offered us a warm fire each night as we just smiled and laughed staring at the glowing embers and enjoyed a nice glass of wine. The resort was close enough to enjoy a nice dinner and blues music show in lafayette or a zydeco dance breakfast in the am.... Breakfast at the resort was simple and perfect... Some of the best biscuits i had ever had as they arrived on our doorstep in a country basket with freshly squeezed OJ. Cajun Country Cottage was just what we needed... it was not so far off the beaten path that we could not get to town easily and it was totally quiet and relaxing...some of the other resorts were on the main street-very loud with cars rushing by. I will absolutely be back this time with our boys during the spring or summer to enjoy some fishing and some canoeing and some family time.

Thank you for a wonderful getaway from the city. I researched all B/B inn both in Lafayette and Breaux Bridge. I could not have picked a better place. Thank you for the hospitality, the quietness, and for allowing us an opportunity to focus on just each other. oohhhh... and the setting sun over the lake was beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We loved our cottage, Evangeline. It provided a wonderful place to slow down after our travels. It was nice to come back to a welcoming "home" in the country, with the lake (and the friendly ducks!) right out back. Having our own back deck and dock on the lake made it feel like no one else was around. A hot breakfast delivered each morning was a real treat! Thanks to Stephanie and Chris for their hospitality, and for such an interesting, peaceful spot that has become part of the whole Louisiana Cajun country experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marja_f_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

As a youth, I used to ride Pirates of the Caribbean at Disneyland in California, and the opening scenes there take place in a Louisiana bayou- country setting. Told myself someday I would visit the REAL place- and with Cajun Country Cottages, I think I found it-almost.

We arrived after dark-with excellently marked road signs, by the way. First thing we did was step out onto the little dock extending from the Magenta Cottage to the lakeside. The tree frogs and other critters of the night were singing their songs. A few things were missing from that Disneyland memory: the guy sitting on the porch slowly strumming a string instrument; the fireflies dancing in the bushes- they probably come later in the year, though; and the run-down bayou shack he was living in. The cottage was anything but run-down. Magenta was a 2-bedroom (the Little Cypress had been our first choice but it was booked) with a little kitchen and living room. It was very well-appointed with all the modern amenities and comforts, with an artful, country decor.

In the morning, after a good night's sleep, we brewed the high-quality coffee that is provided, and enjoyed it on the back porch, admiring the sunrise on the water. Around 8:30, a hot breakfast was delivered to us in a Little-Red-Riding-Hood basket, which consisted of delicious French bread French toast, sausage, juice, and fruit.

The other thing that was missing from my Disney dream was the small lake here is not a moss-draped cypress swamp. You don't have to go far for that, however. Book a tour on Lake Martin with Cajun Country Swamp tours. I would recommend the sunset tour. We saw plenty of REAL wildlife, and the sun setting amongst a foreground of all those moss draped cypress-it was a Disney dream fulfilled.

Upon checking out, the friendly innkeeper told us that Magenta was reconstructed using wood from old slave quarters. Very cool, indeed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmiingham, al
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Very comfortable cabin (Evangeline) for 4 sitting next to a pond. Morning sun or moonlight reflecting off the water was framed beautifully in the living room window. Each cabin has it's own pier. Nice breakfast delivered to the door each morning. Very clean rooms. Canoes are available. Bring your fishing pole. Exceptionally nice owners. Highly recommend. The location is about 10 minutes from Breaux Bridge and 20 minutes from downtown Lafayette.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubydykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I loved my stay the the Cajun Country Cottages. It was a nice place to unwind after a trip to New Orleans. Would love to go again, maybe for a week! We stayed in the Evangelin Cottage, which had two bedrooms a cute little kitchen and sitting room. My favorite place was the back porch which I forced myself to enjoy despite the unusual 30 degree temperatures! The ducks were cute and I really enjoyed the sunrise of the peaceful lake. Breakfast is delivered at 8:30 and it was REALLY good! If you plan on being anywhere near Breaux Bridge stay here!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quitman, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Cajun Cottages finally made a bed and breakfast believer out of my husband! It was like coming home but better! I grew up 40 miles from here, moved away, traveled extensively and after 45 years away this wonderful magical place brought back great memories. The peace, quiet, ducks on the lake,rain on the roof, spanish moss on the trees, soft cajun dialect, wonderful breakfast delivered in a red basket to the door each morning--romance revisited! Could have just moved in and can't wait for our next visit...want to stay in another unique little cottage on the lake! Thank you Stephanie and Chris for creating Magic in Cajun country!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We came here for a work retreat and this place was perfect for unwinding, quiet thinking, and just doing nothing. It's quiet, peaceful and totally comfortable. The proprietors are lovely.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breaux Bridge
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
9.2 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#25 of 50 in Lafayette
121 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
8.2 mi away
Bois Des Chenes Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Maison des Amis
Maison des Amis
#7 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cajun Country Cottages Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1138A Lawless Tauzin Dr, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-6339
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 lakeside cottages bring you as close to our lake as possible!. What a delight to walk out of your cottage and have this beauty right at your door. The porches have wooden swings and our piers on the lake place you right on the water's edge. So relaxing and tramquil! Cottages are comfortable and well equipped. Close enough to tourist attractions and restaurants, yet just far enough off the beaten track. Come enjoy and relax! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cajun Country Cottages b&b
Cajun Country Cottages Hotel Breaux Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing