We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zydeco for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Des Amis

Cafe Des Amis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
171 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Zydeco for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This place was recommended by friends from NOLA. We drove over expecting a quiet little French breakfast and instead walked into a Cajun party - the place was jammed with tourists and locals, band playing, and people dancing and really enjoying themseves. Dancing for breakfast - my husband couldn't get over it. We had eggs begnaud and a vegetarian omelet, coffee. We sat at a large table with another party. it was really fun and interesting, food very good, and we were delighted to talk to a few people who lived in town after the band quit who referred us to other places to hear more music. Afterwards we went on a really great swamp tour, Cajun Country Swamp Tours.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    140
    38
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoying the Cajun Locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Cafe Des Amis, Breaux Bridge was recomended by the locals in Carencro. We arrived early Saturday morning, as recommended, and were greeted by a large crowd awaiting the word that we would be allowed to enter the building. Once we were in we still waited for a table. When we were seated we sat with people we did not know but soon came to know. Had a great breakfast of eggs and bacon and conversed with our new friends. All this took place while we were enjoying the joyous live Zydiko Music, dancing, and delicious Mimosa drinks. These local people are so fun loving and happy, it is infectious. Could and have recommended Lafayette Louisiana for a very enjoyable weekend and Cafe Des Amis and a must visit when there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Here you could dine without having everything fried. Their interpretation of crayfish pie was two crusts of puff pastry with
crayfish in tomato-based sauce between - delicious. On a Saturday
night the restaurant was less than 1/3 full - surprising, but maybe the pricey menu was the reason.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We recntly stayed in Breaux Bridge for one night as part of our honeymoon trip and went here for an early dinner. We had such a great time at this restuarant that the meal stretched out for about 5 hours. The service was fabulous and the waiter was very friendly and was happy to chat with us and take us throgh the menu options. The food when it arrived was a real taste of the South and each dish tasted great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just as good the 2nd time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had a great breakfast here a couple of years ago. Same great service and breakfast this time as well. Everything was super. A must stop if you're driving through Breaux Bridge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Des Amis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing