We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Cajun venue”
Review of Cafe Des Amis - CLOSED

Cafe Des Amis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glensted Mo
Level Contributor
267 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Local Cajun venue”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had an evening meal. It was ok, but not great. They do have a nice verity, the soup was good. It is very pricey compared to other offerings in the area. Server was nice and efficient.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentGlenstedMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    140
    38
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Half and Half: Cold bland étouffée and fried shrimp jerky, ugh!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Went after an awesome swamp tour and expected to get a fantastic meal (given their reputation). What we got was cold bland crawfish étouffée and such overcooked shrimp that we coined the term shrimp jerky. And to top it off this was the only place we visited in southern LA that the waitstaff was allouf and not a bit friendly. We also ordered a round of bloody mary's that should be served up with a pickled okra, pickled green beens and olives; what we got was a bland BM w/out any of the typical embellishments only two olives. Had to spice them up with tabasco just to make them drinkable. We all commented that they had lost their edge, their eagerness to serve the tourists and that their expeditor and chef should be fired for those petrified shrimp. Waste of caloric intake and $35 bucks!!! Don't go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice and loads of fun!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We ate here 3x while in Breaux Bridge for a couple of days. We specifically visited Breaux Bridge to experience the Sat. morning Zydeco breakfast and we were not disappointed. So much fun - incredibly tight band, and the cafe staff was top-rate in getting the crowds served. While you wait, there is free coffee and off course the music to dance to, or simply watch those that dance. It's an experience not to be missed!

We also ate dinner there one night and it was excellent. I have allergies to shrimp, crab, crawfish and dairy which makes eating much of LA's cuisine difficult, but Megan was incredibly helpful in her suggestions. Their chicken and sausage gumbo was superb - incredibly flavorful. Their catfish was so well prepared as well. A meal as good or better than what we experienced later in our trip in New Orleans!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank katefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crawfish for Breakfast”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had the most amazing crawfish omelet with half being topped with crawfish etouffee and the other half crawfish au gratin.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjgbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breaux Bridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service is exceptional”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Old, quiant small town feel at its best, Great drinks and wonderful food. Taylor was our server, she was great,it felt like family there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeneL877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Des Amis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing