We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Des Amis

Cafe Des Amis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just happened to stop in Breaux Bridge on our way from Mobile to Lake Charles. A truly wonderful meal - from the crawfish bisque to the chocolate pecan pie. Can't wait to visit on my next trip to Louisiana!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    140
    38
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groves, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Music and Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was my first time to this restaurant and I went with my mother specifically for the Saturday morning Zydeco Breakfast. They have a band every Saturday morning from 8:30am-11:30am and a $5 cover charge, which is totally worth it. Leroy Thomas and The Zydeco Roadrunners were the performers and they were amazing! If you enjoy cajun music and dancing, this is the place for you!

They open at 8am and the band starts at 8:30am. We arrived about 9am and had to wait about 30 minutes for a table. You are able to wait around the bar or outside and listen to the band, or you can find a dance partner and dance until your buzzer goes off. If there is only two or three people in your party, you will have to sit with others at a large table. We had a table with 4 other people and they were very friendly!

I had the Eggs Des Amis ($9) that is a biscuit with a grilled boudin patty, swiss cheese, and two eggs cooked your way that also comes with a cup of grits. It was sooooo delicious and tasty! They have a full service bar, most people get a Bloody Mary or a Mimosa. The waitress we had was super nice and wonderful.

I definitely recommend the Saturday Zydeco Breakfast if you've never been. I wish I lived closer to go every Saturday!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank taylerthib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner with the grandchildren”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We took our 8- and 4-year-old grandchildren to dinner last Friday. The food was great, but more importantly, our waiter catered to the children. He brought them a box of "bar swords" and had them each grab a handful. Then he served them the root beer float for dessert, giving each their own bottle of Abita Root Beer to pour into the huge glass with ice cream.

This was a delightful meal for my wife and me, made only better by the outstanding wait staff.

Bon Appétit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangisuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our third trip to Cafe Des Amis, and we were not disappointed. The Shrimp Kidder, Crawfish Pie and the White Chocolate Bread pudding just blew us away. Our server, Taylor, was outstanding! We were staying in the area, so we ordered another meal to take back for the evening - this was on a Tuesday, and they are only open from 11:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.. This is still one of my all time favorite restaurants. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolBW853YZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stopping on Breaux Bridge to eat on the way to New Orleans and found this charming place with super service and wonderful choices for dinner. The Crawfish pie and Crawfish etoufee - half and half were our favorites. Also a nice children's menu

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathletee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Des Amis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing