We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French Bistro”

Chez Jacqueline Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“French Bistro”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Cooked-to-order food in a family-run restaurant. Our server explained that each meal is cooked after it is ordered - and that this is not the place to lunch if you are in a rush. Worth the wait!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“BEST BREAKFAST EVER! And I'm picky.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The breakfast was the very best I have ever had. Everything was incredibly delicious and massive in portion size.. Jacqueline was a lovely hostess. There is a sign on the wall saying good home cooked food takes time. We didn't feel like we had to wait long and we were not the only customers. It was worth any amount of time we could have waited. My husband had the crawfish etouffee and eggs. I had the sweet potato pancakes. My pancakes were the size of the plate and an inch and a half thick. I couldn't make it all the way through one and my husband did his very best to finish the other. She let us know we were there on Bastille Day and we were welcome to come back for the 6 course dinner she was preparing for that night. You might have to wait for good food. Sit back, relax and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, Good prices, good people”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The title says it all. Great restaurant. Servers we attentive without hovering. A very pleasurable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomAfton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little Lagniappe in Louisiana”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were four hungry ladies travelling from New Orleans to Beaumont TX and pulled off IH10 in Breaux Bridge, LA hoping to find a tasty meal. We were headed to a favorite of mine,Des Amis only to discover there was an hour wait on this Saturday morning prior to Mother's Day. Having found the last parking place in the town, we decided to walk around a bit and discovered a tiny
cafe just down from our original destination Chez Jacqueline's. Old wooden floors and very plain decor were overcome by our hunger. Fortunately for us it turned out to be a delightful little experience. The service was quick and food very tasty and each dish was scratch prepared when ordered.. One of the group loved her sauce so much she asked for a bit more only to find that each dish and it's accompanying sauce(s) is prepared for just that order only! A true chef was cooking for us. To top it all off, there was a great singer/pianist entertaining the small group of diners that morning. She was as good as any we had seen in New Orleans. It is definitely worth checking out again..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bmtame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenner, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Nice small restaurant. Only problem I wanted a hamburger. It was on the menu however it was Sunday and they don't service burgers on Sunday so I ate fried shrimp.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Jacqueline Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chez Jacqueline Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing