We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Copperfield

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Upper Largo, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Millie59
Carstairs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent three nights at Copperfield Cottage and were extremely pleased with it. Everything you would expect to find was there, plus a lot more. The cottage was spacious, cosy and welcoming. It was a lovely old and quaint cottage from the outside but done up to a modern standard inside - the best of both worlds. Everything was spotlessly clean. The beds were really comfortable and there was so much storage space. The cottage is ideally situated in easy reach of all the lovely coastal villages of the East Neuk and our favourite Fife coastal path. The booking process was easy and the travel directions provided and arrangements for accessing the key were all straightforward. We would not hesitate to recommend the cottage and would definitely like to return.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind review, as you say it is a lovely area and a great cottage, we think so too! We hope to welcome you again some day. Thanks again Antonia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRRRIBBON
GREENE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“QUAINT, PLEASANT, AND WELL EQUIPPED”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The old fashioned exterior gave no hint of the modern and attractively decorated interior. Everything we needed was there and in great condition. The location was just a short drive to St. Andrews and the fishing villages of the East Neuk, and only about an hour to Edinburgh. The back yard lawn was very attractive and well maintained. We were just a short walk from the Upper Largo Hotel which served wonderful food and drink.

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and the local area. We hope to welcome you back sometime. Antonia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y2566NPdo...
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spacious Cottage”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday cottage is a hidden gem. Tucked away in a quiet location, it's still really well located for St Andrews and the fishing villages of the East Neuk of Fife.

It's incredibly well appointed, with everything a family or a couple would need for a nice getaway. The kitchen is really spacious and well equipped, the living room has a lovely fire and comfortable sofas and the bedrooms are cosy.

If I was desperate to find fault, the water pressure in the shower isn't great, but everything else is just perfect. We really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thanks for your very nice review of Copperfield. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return some time. We're looking at the shower, well not us exactly, but a plumber is due to look to see if the flow can be improved, though it's a very old cottage as you know and sometimes the pipework can become an interesting topic, though generally without major problem!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian152014
Navenby, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and beautiful, home from home.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was well equipped and very clean. It was situated in the perfect place to travel around the country and able to find with ease. It is a cosy, quaint cottage that feels like home.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in this lovely area and hope to see you again some time. Antonia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slock29
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, peaceful location, lots of extras!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week in July with husband and teenage son. Copperfield is a lovely cottage in a peaceful, relaxing location. Every little detail is thought of - nice fluffy towels, very clean and tidy, generous welcome pack, lots of extras in kitchen like cling film, foil, tea, coffee, sugar, condiments (all very handy for just a week's stay). Plenty of good sized mugs, plates, glasses, etc. All appliances you would need. DVDs, books, folders with lots of information for visitors. It was just like being in your own home. Wonderful private, sunny garden with bench, table and chairs. Good location for visiting local areas too. Great correspondence from owners who really have thought of everything for a super holiday cottage. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely, peaceful location with everything you would need from a holiday cottage.
Liked least: The only little quibble (and it is little) is the water pressure for shower isn't great. Was told about this by owner though and it wasn't a problem.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Jul 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your very positive review of Copperfield. We have tried to make it easy for our guests as we like it to be easy for us when we stay in other properties! It is also always a pleasure to have guests who like the area and love the cottage. It is such a lovely area and not actually that well known despite being so close to St Andrews and having easy access to Edinburgh. Thank you once more and hope to see you again in the East Neuk of Fife! Antonia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pottkinde...
Witten, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home far away from home.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had an excellent stay in this lovely cottage. There was plenty room for all of us. It was very comfortable and the furniture was new and modern (up to date). The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable!!! Very nice. We had fun cooking. The kitchen had more equipment than we could've asked for. We had lots of room for our clothing. The small garden was beautiful and we enjoyed watching the birds (especially the little sparrows taking their bath in the dust). The owners were very nice, too. They've always been right there in case we have any questions or problems (which we didn't have because we were very well introduced on our first day!). Even weeks before our arrival, we've been well informed about, how to get to the cottage and things we'd be able to do during our stay. We're already looking forward to our next stay in this cottage.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: matress and kitchen
Liked least: water pressure in the shower
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Copperfield. It is a pleasure to know that everything went well for you all, both while you were with us and before you arrived. We are also glad that it was dust baths you were watching the sparrows were having, sometimes it can be mud baths if you are not lucky with the weather! Don't let this put you off coming back! Thank you again Antonia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Con262
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellent service from moment of booking. Accommodation extremely comfortable , due to quality beds, linen, towels and all equipment. The kitchen was easy to work in as the white goods were of good quality and spotlessly clean. In fact the owners have obviously given much thought to the provision of everything and anything that might make self catering the ideal holiday. Excellent WiFi. Impressive welcome pack.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and Location
Liked least: Difficult to open windows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Copperfield. It is always so nice to have guests who like the area and the cottage. We enjoyed getting the cottage ready for guests and love that they have a god time. Thank you again for taking time to leave such a positive review. Antonia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.