We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place/people/food/rooms”
Review of The Salhouse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Salhouse Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Salhouse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Last year I had my first stay over at the Salhouse Lodge and was very impressed, however after just coming back from another weekend there, I can honestly say they are superb and I'll be back there next year for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doormandean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were looking for a bed and breakfast for the Sunday of the bank holiday weekend and thought we were not going to have much luck, however Salhouse Lodge had availability and was reasonably priced. We arrived Sunday afternoon to live music outside in the garden which was actually quite pleasant...and the sun was shining.
Our double room was clean, fresh and very well equipped, you could tell it had recently been decorated and furnished. The en-suite te same. There was no hairdryer in the room as stated but this was soon corrected without hesitation by the owner. My only small negative of the whole stay would be that our bed had a memory foam mattress and we would have preferred non-memory foam but that is our personal choice.
It was a great location with which to explore the local area. The breakfast was very good with quite a wide variety to choose from.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunf1owers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch here so commonly comment on that.
Lovely grounds inc kids play area. The thing I find most off putting is the smell as you walk in. Smells so old and of stale beer and cigarette smoke and toilet cleaner! Food is ok edible but didn't enjoy it. Chips are said to be homemade but they are very soggy and greasy. The bar area seriously needs updating. It states no dogs allowed in bar area but someone brought their dog in which put me off while I was eating. Service was good and friendly but if took a while for the food to come even though they weren't busy. I wouldn't return

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Emsmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This place has gone through bad times over the last few years but they are working hard to turn the business around. They have redecorated the bedroom accommodation to a very good standard. They are now welcoming caravaners and campers on site and there is good outside space for children to run around safely including a children's play area. Have eaten here regularly and although the food is not the very best it is adequate. The staff are friendly and welcoming and they deserve to succeed with all the efforts they are now putting into the business. Sunday afternoons they always have live music. I agree that the downstairs décor is dated and in need of improving along with the public facilities but no doubt these things will be done in time. I would say that I have not stayed here but only had lunch but have seen how they have improved their accommodation and it can be seen on line.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

After a day on the bure valley railway we wanted somewhere to eat not too far from Wroxham. We had all driven past the lodge but never been in. It was a hot day and as we pulled up we could see the kids play area and outdoor seating. It was great as we had our two yr old sorted then! There were plenty of tents and caravans on site. The lodge inside is very unique - I would say dated but quaint where it's not fashionable but it's not ugly. The service was excellent and food really really tasty and well presented. I would suggest the sirloin - cooked to perfection.
Next time you pass pull in like we did!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveandlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere close to the broads and thought the website looked good, however the decor is dated, rooms have a strange smell, cobwebs in corners. The sheets are scratchy. We did not bother to eat here as it did not appeal to us. We would not be coming back. Poor value for money

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Recently returned back to the lodge after many years, to find the place is still thriving. We booked for a table of 8 for a birthday meal on saturday night. pleasantly greated and waited apon the whole night, service was very quick and food was perfection. 3 of us had the sirlion steak all asked to be cooked different and came out better than you could wish for, Other enjoyed a meal such as a chicken curry, rack of ribs etc. Noone had to complain food service was on top. Best meal out in a long time, very recommend this place to anyone i shall be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salhouse
3.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
962 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
371 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Delaware
Delaware
#4 of 7 in Wroxham
33 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hoveton
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salhouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salhouse Lodge

Address: Vicarage Road, Salhouse NR13 6HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Salhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salhouse
Price Range: £80 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salhouse Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Salhouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing