We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A negative experience..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Salhouse Lodge

The Salhouse Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salhouse Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Salhouse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A negative experience..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stopped off here after a long journey for something to eat. The staff are pleasant, but the alarm bells started ringing when we were told that there was a problem with the gas supply in the kitchen. We were very tired, and were assured that they could provide food, so we just ordered the burger and chips... you can't cock that up can you???

WRONG!

The so called chips were soggier than the Norfolk broads in flood and the presentation (burger salad) was akin to a grenade gone off in a pig bin!

However, the staff are polite and I could see that they were embarrassed by the chefs inept attempt to produce a decent meal (despite assuring us to the contrary)

I think if this place got a grip of the catering pantomime and gave the place a lick of paint it could do very well.

Such a shame for a place with so much potential

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jayrobbo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    15
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just come back from staying at the Salhouse lodge in our tent. A very friendly place. Great staff, nothing it too much trouble.
Just one thing a roof over the washing up sink and piped hot water.
Thanks for a great few days and hope to see you again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for four nights in June. Lovely relaxing hotel/pub. We ate there on every night of our stay and we found it to be good value for money, with excellent, friendly service. The food was really lovely.

The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the Norfolk Broads. Our room was very comfortable, clean and serviced every day. We stayed in room six. The only downside was that we had the extractor fan for the hotel kitchens right next to the window so if the window was open, it was quite loud when it was switched on. However this is very minor as we did keep the window closed the majority of the time, as even though it was sunny and warm outside, it didn't get too hot in there.

Whilst some have commented on the tired décor of the hotel - this was only the bar/restaurant area as the rooms have been recently upgraded and are modern and stylish. for what the bar lacked in decoration it certainly made up for in atmosphere!

Room Tip: Book directly with hotel not on website as it may be cheaper than going through a third party web se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Went to a birthday party here and was really impressed with the buffet food - the crackling and the pork were top class. I drank white wine on that evening and it wasn't very cold but I was told the beer was good. The drinks prices were not over the top.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The only negative about the place is that the decor is quite tired - time for a refresh!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprowston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here overnight after a family party. The buffet was very good and they could not have done enough to make the evening go well for us and all our guests. We stayed the night. The room was comfortable and clean and the bed very comfortable. Would certainly recommend this place if looking for a party venue or overnight accommodation. Their new front of house manager is a great asset to the business.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very nice and quiet although with the location I would think all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed there over a weekend with friends and I loved the place. The staff are very very friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The campsite facilities are clean and modern and I love the fact they encourage recycling and provide the suitable bins.
It is very close to Wroxham for local shopping and renting a boat on the broads.
I will definitely be coming back to Salhouse in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickyjh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I attended a MC rally here and have to admit it is the best facilities I have had the pleasure to camp at in recent years.
Nicely looked after campsite area with clean toilets and shower facilities, and I did notice power points for caravans too if that is your thing.
Great beer from local breweries and a well looked after pint too. Food is pretty good, plain fare, plenty of it, and reasonably priced - breakfast being a full english at £6.50 is extremely good value!
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

Friends who did stay in the rooms commented that they were clean, comfortable, and all the usual facilities you would expect.

Overall I'd give the Lodge an excellent rating, and I'll certainly be back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salhouse
1.7 mi away
Hotel Wroxham
Hotel Wroxham
#1 of 1 in Wroxham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bridge House B & B
Bridge House B & B
#1 of 3 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salhouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salhouse Lodge

Property: The Salhouse Lodge
Address: Vicarage Road, Salhouse NR13 6HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Salhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salhouse Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Salhouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing