We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014”
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chalmette
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“July 2014”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked my room via Orbitz. We came for Essence Festival. Room was clean. Staff was courteous. Diner attached was great, food and cooks. The only complaint was the lack of irons. People checked them out and never brought them back, so some of us were unable to iron our clothes. The drive into town was really easy and there are plenty of businesses and restaurants in between. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destinee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
8
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for my sons baseball tournament and had a great stay. Although a little older motel it was very clean and cozy. Would recommend to everyone in search of a good and safe experience!! We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a typical wayside hotel that makes a shabby impression and we even wondered if the sheets were clean. The cafeteria smelled so badly of old frying grease that we decided to skip dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momou_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Came down for essence festival last year...it was a last minute try to find some hotels reasonable and most were booked up so we gave this one a shot. Must say it was out by swamp water and seemed to be away from everything but it really wasn't that bad of a drive into downtown New Orleans because we could see downtown from our hotel and it was a easy circle to get us there and back. Hotel did have a smell but the rooms were decent...the sheets were clean, had no problem with getting extra towels, has a washer and dryer in hotel, also has a diner connected on which I can say the food was awesome!!! Breakfast...Lunch & Dinner...Those cooks are the bomb!!! Has a small basic casino connected to but it was filled with smoke. It is an older property but I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brusly, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We recently stayed here with our travel baseball team as a last minute resort when we realized that the first hotel we booked was "unsafe". We stopped off here and were able to get 8 rooms at the last minute. The staff was beyond friendly and accomodating. Yes, the motel is a little dated, but everything was clean and the service was amazing. They reopened their entire restaurant for us after hours when we came in from a long day at the ballpark. Highly recommend and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank croberts1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We went to Mardi Gras Feb 2012 and I searched and searched for a room and this was the only opening I could find. On the outside, in the front of the hotel it looked really nice; u can see some of the marina on the side. We stayed in the second floor where u could see the highway out front and some of the water. The room had a musty odor, the bed sheets were old, not as in unclean, but as in uncomfortable to sleep on because they looked old. I slept in all my clothes on top of the sheets because I was uncomfortable. The tables and chairs in the room were old, but there was a nice flat screen in the room, but half the channels didn't show. All the plugins were behind the bed or under the tables and TV stand and I was afraid to stick my hand back there. The bathroom was ok as far as cleanliness but the shower was old, had to have assistance with turning it on. There was a restaurant downstairs, but no one was in there and the 'casino' had entirely too much smoke in it...open a window please. I just cant believe we paid that much for the room and then found a cheaper room in the city the next night. I was definitely swindled by the photos that are uploaded online....Beware...the rooms are dingy, dark, and a musty version of the photos you are looking at online. The staff was pleasant and helpful though, very courteous; got some got tips on the best parades from the staff. I just think it was false advertising with the photos of the rooms

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaRyjanE8340319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is an older property that could definitely use updating. The room was clean. The blanket on the bed was old. The water pressure in the shower was not good. It's a shame because this could really be a nice place to stay if a few upgrades were made. The television was the nicest thing about the room. There is a nice view of the water. The sfaff was friendly. I ate in the cafe. The food was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 86goodintentions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalmette
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 163 in New Orleans
145 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Property: Marina Motel
Address: 5353 Paris Rd, Chalmette, LA 70043-8302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Chalmette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chalmette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the French Quarter and downtown New Orleans, the Marina Motel is located in adjacent Chalmette, historic location of the Battle of New Orleans. Surrounded by serene and picturesque bayou waterways which boast fishing that is world-class, not only does the Marina Motel Chalmette offer close proximity to the excitement of the city, but also access to the very waterways that have labelled Louisiana a true sportsmans' paradise. Situated on Bayou Bienvenue, we are the best location for visitors to New Orleans who prefer the respite of a suburban setting, extended-stay industry contractors, or travelling families. Ample bus, truck and boat parking, outdoor pool and grills, coin laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Chalmette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing