We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff certainly were ragged!”

Bear and Ragged Staff
Price range: US$0 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Shroton, Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The staff certainly were ragged!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We visited this pub on a Tuesday lunchtime in April and it was packed! Long queues at the bar and a thirty minute wait for food. The staff looked overworked and - well - ragged and didn't have time for any pleasantries. I saw one lady chase after a waitress to say that they had been waiting a long time. Her reply? 'Well, we're busy!' When our food arrived, it was adequate at best. I had ordered an avocado and smoked salmon salad. The smoked salmon was curling at the edges and the avocado was rock hard. This could be a lovely pub, it just needs a little TLC. Clearly, it gets busy, so employ more staff, both front of house and in the kitchen and train them properly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    104
    63
    53
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CHEERFUL, BUSY, GOOD ATMOSPHERE, BUT BETTER FOOD NEARBY”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went to the Bear and Ragged Staff on an ordinary Sunday lunchtime in March, half way through a long walk and hungry, but without a booking. We saw as we approached that the large car park was full. Entering, we found that the pub was crowded. All of the thirty or so tables were occupied or bearing “reserved” signs and there were a couple of dozen people at the bar or standing elsewhere. The staff didn't give us much hope of a table but after 10 minutes one materialised, so we lunched.

In this pub everything – ordering drinks, ordering food, paying your bill – has to be done at the bar. On the day we were there it was so full that it took a very long time to order or pay for anything. The food, which arrived promptly, was adequate except in two respects. First, the apple sauce that accompanied our pork had been removed from its liquid nitrogen storage only moments before it was served, turning everything it touched to ice. Second, the ocean of gravy I was given was so vast that my first instinct was to search within it for the remains of flight MH370.

The staff were friendly, cheerful, accommodating and efficient. All the customers, mainly families and groups of friends, seemed to be enjoying themselves. From the number of reservations I guess that people come back regularly. It clearly has a formula that works for it. But there is better food at several places nearby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NigelTransunicux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We popped into the Bear & Ragged staff on the off chance after visiting Montisfont Abbey and what a treat! The inside is all beams and a big log fire. The staff were very pleasant and had soon found us a table - all of which seemed to have plenty of room around them. We all had lunch which averaged £10 for a main meal - and we can highly recommend the liver & bacon and the beef & stilton pie that were both on the specials board - we were stuffed! We will definately be visiting again when we're in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveLinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

It was okay food was tasty presentation not very special there was a little delay on the food apart from that it's ok fantastic place nice inside and lots of parking available.
Around the side there is a space for an open fire and all in all it is a country pub a real country pub.

Helpful?
Thank Fatman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food even when very very busy”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Had Sunday lunch here on a very very busy, Sunday lunch time. We were told it was a 30 minute wait, but the food came in 20. Really nice Sunday roast and also a nice curry ,which you don't often get in a pub. Nice food and good portions. Friendly service

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smarkholden22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bear and Ragged Staff also viewed

 

Been to Bear and Ragged Staff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing