We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home away from grandparents house for thanksgiving holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Covington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great home away from grandparents house for thanksgiving holiday”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel for the thanksgiving holiday week with our six children. Every person who worked here was so courteous and thankful we were staying there. Our children loved the fresh cookies every night, the hot apple cider in the lobby and the delightful pool and hot tub, even in the frigid night air. Evelyn, who works in the breakfast area, brought them towels and hot chocolate when they got out of the pool! The fitness center was nice and clean. Breakfasts were just what the kids needed to start the day. Our rooms were clean, fresh and spacious enough for all of us. We had quiet rooms, even though we had people above us. And, to top it off, we took advantage of a super-sale to make the rooms very affordable. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We were well taken care of, and I so appreciated everyone's positive attitude. It really makes a huge difference.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi Ms. Suzanne! We truly appreciate such a thoughtful review. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed the Thanksgiving holidays with us. Your children were wonderful and so well behaved! They had a great time in our heated pool, eventhough the weather was quite chilly :) We would love for you to like our page on Facebook so you can see a picture we posted of the kids playing! Thanks again for commenting and the kind words. We hope you and your family have a very Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    78
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
198
86
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opp, Alabama
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Liked that the hot tub was correct temp, and no one else was in it besides us. Did not like however that there is not a rail or step to help you get in or out of hot tub, so getting out was kind of difficult for me with bad knees. The first time i stayed there, i asked for a corner room which i did not get. The room was good except i would not call the drapes, Blackout drapes, blackout means, little or no light, i was awaken at sunrise by the light that flooded our room. Breakfast was good the first morning, but the second morning wasnt worth getting out of bed for. Food was not hot, barely warm, and hard boiled eggs were ice cold. Second time we stayed there, this month for one night was not that great either. Walls are really thin, so we got waken up at 3am by someone either hard of hearing, or someone partying next door. Tv was on so loud, and people talking, woke all of us up. Only three things i can say positive about this Country Inn & Suites. Hot tub was relaxing, free breakfast, and the best part, hot baked cookies, and hot chocolate upon checking in. Out of the other hotels in the close proximity of the interstate, i would still recommend this hotel. Completely non smoking anywhere, i like that. Plus this hotel had the better reviews than the others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camille1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks so much for your review! We are glad you chose the Country Inn & Suites of Covington, LA for your hotel accommodations. I would like to apologize for the difficulty with your blackout drapes. We do in fact have black out drapes in all of our rooms. Sometimes the handle for the blackout drapes is hidden behind the fabric curtain and sheer. Please feel free to contact me directly at 985-809-0467 or blair.goodrich@covcis.com to make your next reservation with me personally and I can ensure you will have a great, quiet room. Thanks again for commenting and have a Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Super value for the money, we stop at the state welcome center and got one of those discount motel coupon books. Shorty after we got into a blinding rain storm and decided not to push to Mobile al. we started calling places in the book and this one had a room and held it for us, as we were an hour away yet. What a nice surprise, the girl at the front desk was helpful and our room was clean and compfy, got a great nights sleep, and went on to our daughters house in Mobile AL the next moining

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Happy Thanksgiving!!!! Thank you so much for your review on our property. We are so glad you were able to snag those coupons we offer at the welcome centers....they are a great value! We hope to see you again when coming to visit your daughter. Hope you have a wonderful holiday! Thanks for choosing the Country Inn & Suites, Covington, LA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

As we checked out of the worst western hotel next door, following a very unsatisfying stay (feeling that our money should have been returned to us) we saw the Country Inns and Suites. My husband and I decided to inquire about an early check in and rates with this business. Our week has since become a vacation. It isn't all that easy to find a good-smelling room or an insect-free experience in this part of the country sometimes (we're both from here). But this hotel has made us rethink our expectations about what our part of the map has and should have to offer.
Fresh baked spunkmeyer cookies at the front desk-even at midnight on Friday.
Housekeeping staff with excellent manners-we hunt them down to give them tips they're so fast and efficient.
Front desk and breakfast hospitality that makes you think of your mom on a good day :)
Seriously the staff is first rate at making a traveler feel welcome.

I'm not crazy about the kind of food they offer for complimentary breakfast in a few particulars, BUT today there were omelets in the chafing pan, rosemary potato wedges beside it and their grits look pretty groovy, i might try em tomorrow.
Also, it's possible to get a free hot coffee, reg or decaf throughout the night in the lobby which is comfortable, spacious and smells good.. We are still enjoying our stay here after almost a week and have decide to stick around through Thanksgiving-it's a change of plans but they have made us feel so welcome, we'd rather pay their rate (very reasonable) than stay at my Mama's house. Believe it!

Room Tip: The corner suite of 2nd floor- shower is barely hot enough to call hot but the rooms in the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
This is such a thoughtful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share. We appreciate your extended stay, and hope you have a great Thanksgiving with us. We are looking forward to sharing hot apple cider, hot chocolate and holiday cookies with you during this special holiday time. We’ll be celebrating with these treats till the New Year. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel was convenient, comfortable, and had a warm country feel. Our group was in and out of the hotel over three days, as we explored the Louisiana Northshore. We had some great adventures on Lake Pontchartrain, in Abita Springs, and off to Global Wildlife. Country Inn was a perfect home base with large rooms and a great living room space in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are so glad your group stayed with us and had a good visit. I hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet while you were with us. It sounds like you discovered some great adventures we have available in our area. Global Wildlife is one of my favorites along with alligator tours. Happy Thanksgiving to you and the rest of your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel was a great find. The desk clerk was so friendly and helpful. When we arrived late afternoon, there were free appetizers and wine, as well as fresh baked cookies. The hotel is clean and has a charming decor. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean and quiet. I would definitely stay here again. The only negative was having to drive for dinner. Nothing was in walking distance and busy traffic area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi. Thanks so much for your comments about our hotel, we really appreciate you taking the time to let fellow travelers know about us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to partake in our Complimentary Guest Reception that we serve M-Th. We hope you can come stay with us again when in the area, please be sure to ask the front desk about restaurants in walking distance as we do have some :) Thanks again for your comments and Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I can understand why this is the highest rated hotel in Covington... one word: Service. Stopped here based on location and an advertisement. Got a great rate of 95 dollars including taxes. Received room 317, room was large, clean and had fridge and microwave. Hotel overall was clean and inviting and was close to restaurants, gas stations and very close to the bridge that took you to all the fun and excitement in New Orleans.
Service is what really impressed me at this hotel: Two Examples: The first was at breakfast which offered a wide variety. The morning I was there, breakfast was really busy... no seats... large families... people waiting. The staff opened up their meeting room and let me eat breakfast there. It was great, staff kept coming back to ask if I wanted more coffee or anything else. The staff went out of the way to make a bad situation, a great one.
The second example: As I was leaving it was really raining... the manager offered me her umbrella, then came outside with me to help load my car... offered me a bag of cookies for the road and invited me back next time I was in the area. Excuse me, that does not happen in $300 per night hotels! Great job, Country Inn.

Room Tip: Near pool get a first floor room, quietness go for a 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryCovMgr, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for such a nice review; I have shared your comments with our entire staff. We are so glad you were able to take advantage of one of our great deals that we have available. We hope to have you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Covington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Covington/Mandeville
2.6 mi away
Southern Hotel
Southern Hotel
#2 of 16 in Covington
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Covington Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Northpark Inn
Best Western Northpark Inn
#5 of 16 in Covington
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 16 in Covington
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Covington/Mandeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA
Address: 130 Holiday Blvd, Covington, LA 70433-5017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Covington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Covington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Covington
#1 Business Hotel in Covington
#1 Family Hotel in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites of Covington/Mandeville offers a convenient location off of I-12 (exit 63B), on the North Shore of New Orleans. Country Inn & Suites has been awarded the President’s award for excellence (top 10 Carlson hotel world wide). Hotel is near the heart of the Covington business district, and close to numerous attractions such as Global Wildlife, Pelican Park, Tammany Trace, Fountainebleau State Park, and the famous French Quarter; the perfect choice for the business and leisure traveler. We are in close proximity to Chevron, LLOG and Shell Training Center. Country Inn is surrounded by unlimited great food choices. Hotel offers 70 spacious non-smoking rooms and suites, with all the little extras to make your stay enjoyable. At check-in you’ll be greeted with fresh baked cookies & milk. During your stay you will enjoy a wonderful free breakfast buffet daily.The Country Inn & Suites offers a cozy stay at a comfortable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Covington, LA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Covington
Country Inn & Suites Covington Hotel Covington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing