We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise ”
Review of Terre Restaurant - CLOSED

Terre Restaurant
Cuisines: French, European, Australian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A nice surprise ”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here with no expectations and was pleasantly surprised. Nice food, nice wine list, nice service and good ancillaries. Would definitely return and will soon!

Helpful?
3 Thank Centonove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Set within the boundaries of Dromana Estate, this top notch restaurant has much to offer. Mr. & Mrs. Herrald run the entire operation behind-the-scenes, and they leave nothing wanting. Their fresh, seasonal pickings are exquistly partnered...from protein to starch to sauce to wine. Foie Gras brulee...surreal. The baklava...the best I've ever had.

Clinton, a very sincere "thank you." The front-of-the-house service is all class. You made us smile from beginning to end.

Is it pricey? Of course, as the entire experience is a work of art. Your palate will thank your wallet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great historical homestead @ Dromana Estate winery”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was my first visit back to Dromana Estate since the renovations and the opening of the new Terre restaurant. We were looked after beautifully by Clinton and his lovely team. They accommodated my dairy free needs very well and all members of our party were more than satisfied. Great food, the palate cleanser between meals was well appreciated. The renovations are great and open up this lovely old homestead beautifully. Lovely crackling fire in winter and outside verandah for balmy summer days. A lovely old homestead to visit in the heart of our lovely Mornington Peninsula wine region, with easy access from the MP freeway. A lovely old homestead to have a lazy lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Battmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food Adventure”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited Terre last week with a large group of diners. The evening was a true food adventure and enjoyed by everyone. Limited choices but delicious combination of flavours and unusual ingredients. The foie gras brûlée was fantastic as was my fish main. Atmosphere is delightful and decor sophisticated. Warm and welcoming staff made our night a fabulous dining experience. The wines are quite expensive and maybe some more of Dromana Estate wines could be included. Our only criticism. Excellent as a special occasion venue and for lovers of fine dining.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCrae, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spoilt on the Mornington Peninsula...again”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We joined friends for lunch at Terre, we were wonderfully looked after by Thomas, enjoyed fabulous Garagiste Chardonnay, my husband and I really enjoyed the fish of the day....Flathead fillets with parsnip mash and coffee, carrot, coriander and citrus.....our companions both loved their Prawn, Buckwheat, Stinging Nettle Risotto!
Then Thomas surprised us with a spoonful of quince sorbet to cleanse or palate before we weaker ones each competed for best dessert.....mine sounded simple, rice pudding...but tasted spectacular with the rice being formed into Arancini - like balls with raisins inside and a yummy crusty gingerbread outside, and served with a layered pear slice and pieces of quince with a mascarpone cream....Heaven....the other two weak ones loved their chocolate and pistachio Baklava, made into tubes with mandarin and a chocolate, honey icecream and the prune and honey Clafoutis, with the rhubarb and apple compote with fig and marsala icecream.....followed by great coffee and a little chocolate to finish....we were all very happy.
The venue is a good size for groups, there is a welcoming fire, also a well covered outside area, which we are always looking for, to take our dog....note, Thomas, even though he is French, did not get the need to bring the dog!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terre Restaurant also viewed

Tuerong, Mornington Peninsula
Tuerong, Mornington Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing