We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome”
Review of Horse & Groom

Horse & Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$34
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bledington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Only had a drink in this delightful pub as we were checking out pubs to the area we are moving to very soon. The welcome we received was very warm and the menu looked tempting. We look forward to visiting again once we live nearer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAlgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    57
    25
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a little gem!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was a delightful surprise. The welcome was warm, the surroundings beautiful and the beer and food were excellent. There was a varied choice and the publican and his staff were knowledgeable. The service was attentive and the whole experience just made you want to go back for another visit.
This is everything an English pub should be and why I would never emigrate!
Drive out of your way and visit this pub.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Everything an English pub should be”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Vacationing in the the Cotswolds with my son, his wife and 11 month old baby gave us the opportunity to discover this absolute gem. The food, ambiance and appearance was excellent. So much so that we all returned for a second night and I returned for a third night. The food and service was excellent and they were terrifically welcoming to the baby too, of course we made certain to arrive early before they became busy. They and other customers really made us fell wanted.
We would definitely return!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hamer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Perfect pub with fantastic food”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I wrote a review in 2011: "The perfect vilage gastropub"
Beautiful building. Ultra comfy pub with log fire. Friendly and knowledgeable hosts, Simon and Sally. (He is a wine buff and SO enthusiastic. You can trust his recommendations and many wines available by the glass.) The real ale is excellent too. The food is brilliant: I had an oustanding duck confit with walnut jus. This place manages to have the feeling and atmosphere of a local pub coupled with top class cooking. we go for a couple of meals every year during the Cheltenham Festival and I would say they pull off the impossible by getting better every year. I wish this was my local.

Just want to add that I think the food is even better this year: venison suet pudding was the best thing I've eaten in a long time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth the walk up the hill!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our hotel in Morerton in Marsh recommending we visit here knowing that we were planning a trip to Batsford Arboretum. The menu was varied and absolutely delicious. The staff gave a very warm and friendly welcome to us and other patrons. We decided on a selection on appetisers as we had had a large breakfast at our hotel. They also serve a variety of ales, ciders, wines and soft drinks. We whiled away a couple of hours and left with full bellies for the walk back to Moreton in Marsh!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse & Groom also viewed

Lower Oddington, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to Horse & Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing