We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Alona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TipTop Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Tawala B&B and Inns
Cebu
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good value in Alona”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Found this property here in Tripadvisor. Based on the reviews, I chose this to spend an overnight in Panglao. The resort is not well known as our rented transportation never heard about it. But the location is easy to find. They have a big billboard sign right before you enter the road going to the property.

Indeed, the place is quite small but the room is great. I requested for ground floor since I have a kid. They gave one just very near the pool. The room we stayed has a kitchen, complete with plates, utensils, with a water dispenser. The bed is big enough. They have an LCD TV with cable. The ref contained some drinks which is really affordable in price - bottled water at 15 pesos, coke at 20, etc.... The bathroom is basic, hot and cold shower, with free soap only. My complaint is the light. The bathroom has only one tiny light and gets too dark in the shower once you close the shower curtain.

They have a very nice clean small swimming pool just near our room but since we were excited to hit the beach, we did not bother. In going to Alona beach, we went through Alona Tropical. We were just a little apprehensive if the guard will call our attention, but he didn't. Just a short walk and we were in Alona beach. This part of the beach is more quiet than in the middle portion. For lunch and dinner, one can choose in the array of beachside restos in Alona beach. There are a lot of seafood and grilled foods to choose from. There were also live acoustic bands, depending on the restaurant you choose.

By the way, the resort can also help you get a motorcycle if you want to rent and explore the area. 150 for 1 hour, 350 for 8 hours. They also can get tours for you like countryside tour, dolphin watching tour, etc. They also have free wifi which my kid enjoyed while playing his favorite Ipad games.,

We ate breakfast at the resort's restaurant. They mostly serve European dishes - lots of breads, pastas... but they do have Filipino breakfast. The price is a bit high (240 per person) but their scrambled egg is creamy and delicious. Perfect coffee for coffee lovers. They also serve fruit juice and fruits in season. I saw some foreigners buying bread from their deli.

I would love to come again and would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    33
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed here for 4D/3N last March and didn't encounter any problem throughout. The property is quite small but the rooms were spacious, clean, well equipped and reasonably priced! There's a small pool right in the middle of the hotel and a restaurant adjacent to it. They didn't have a beach front but is just a few minutes away from Alona beach on foot. The location was excellent for me because it was away from the noisy areas yet easily accessible from the beach.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floor to get a better view of the hotel and to avoid hearing steps from nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The TipTop hotel really is tiptop. My room was modern and had centralised air conditioning. The rooms are spacious, very clean and have tiled floors and a separate shower room. A security safe was also provided. Most rooms have a balcony area, which overlooks the swimming pool, and is accessed via the glass sliding door from the bedroom. One end of the balcony area has a covered kitchen with gas hob and utensils plus a well-stocked and very reasonably priced minibar/fridge and unlimited free drinking water. The other end of the balcony has a table and chairs for relaxing. There is also a drying rack for beachwear or scuba diving equipment. The restaurant attached to the hotel served up excellent meals that were perfectly cooked and again very reasonably priced. The Spanish omelette was the best I’ve had. All the staff were very polite and helpful. Access to Alona beach is a 2 minute walk through Alona Tropical. Overall I thought the hotel offered excellent value and it would be hard to make any criticism considering the nightly rate of 1650 Php. Well done Tiptop hotel!

Room Tip: Hgher rooms have a better view of the pool and the balcony catches the breeze at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for about 5days. Rooms were clean and spacious, very good value. Staff were nice and attentive.

The restaurant on site was excellent! Loved the filet, hummus, salad bar, and their burgers. Even better was the deli next to the restaurant! Excellent meats and breads. Just pick the meat and bread, they will slice it to your desired thickness, you tell them what veggies and condiments you want on them. They will build the sandwich for you and wrap it in plastic! You can take it with to the beach or on a scuba trip. Great service. They go the extra mile for you.

Highly recommend for anybody on a budget and wants great value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spooninjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We ate at the TipTop Restaurant a couple of times. The premises were spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and efficient and the food was great. It was a pleasant alternative to eating at restaurants on the beach, quiet and no vendors to hassle you. The Deli was also a great find for various supplies and snacks.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank OZTraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I booked this hotel via email several months in advance and they could not have been more helpful. The booking was for 4 rooms for a party of 7 over the New Year period we were all very pleased with the rooms they were spotlessly clean and all the employees were friendly and made us all feel welcome.

The restaurant and deli were both excellent with a great selection of ham and cheese along with fresh bread.

The location is great 10min walk to beach if you turn right out of the property where there are some good bars or if you turn left and cut through the first hotel on the right you are on the beach in 2mins.

We all enjoyed our stay at TipTop hotel and would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for spacious clean accommodation with great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liveley1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel, all in all, it's a great decision for us^^

Service: Great service here, the ppl is really good to us, we ask about how to go to chocolate hill and lobor river, they give us detail recommendations.

Value: The price is quite reasonable, actually I just send emails to contact holder, because I fail to book this hotel in Agoda, but totally speaking, I think this is an excellent decision for me.

Sleep Quality: Good! Quiet and nice place!

Cleanliness: They cleaned the room everyday, at frist, we fell a little bit worry about the safety issue, but it turn out to be really ok. Everyday we come back, the room is nice and clean!

Location: About 10 mins walk to the beach, not too far, I think it's ok.

Rooms : We have the King size room, big enough for two ppl.

Swimming Pool: Seems nice, we go out everyday, didn't really try it^^

Room Service: Excellent. My friend lost the wallet in this hotel and they sent it back to us, the holder is nice and honest^^ We love this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tawala
0.1 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
0.1 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 49 in Panglao Island
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 49 in Panglao Island
526 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 49 in Panglao Island
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scent of Green Papaya Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TipTop Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TipTop Hotel & Resort

Property: TipTop Hotel & Resort
Address: Ester A Lim Dr, Tawala, Panglao 6340, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island > Panglao > Tawala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Tawala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TipTop Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your TipTop Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing