We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in anantara in over water villas. I had the best time there. It's been a month but still can't get that thing out of my mind.

Everything was really good , staff was very supporting specially for the vegetarians Chef Dinen was very supportive amazing service .

Place was really great i would really like to come back to have an amazing time .

It's like one of the best thing ever happened to me.

Thanks,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauravGupta777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear GauravGupta777,

We have just passed your regards to Chef Dinen and will share your lovely words with our team.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest regards to India,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had a great holiday and really enjoyed. Staff did everything to make us comfortable and were excellent. With children the kids club was excellent. A great surf break right off the front of the resort you could not ask for more in terms of water sports. It has everything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOSHUA h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear JOSHUA h,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Anantara Dhigu.

Indeed, our kids club is a great place for the little ones, while the parents are discovering various activities, like surfing, snorkeling, cooking classes or diving at the most spectacular spots on the Maldives.

As you know, we have many other family activities like Dolphin Quest with our Watersports team, Sunset fishing or a trip to another island, inhabited by Maldivian families.

Each Anantara Resort draws its strength from the rich cultural traditions, historic heritage and natural beauty of its destination. As such, every experience is a unique voyage of discovery and inspiration that is distinctly Anantara.

We agree, everything is here to create memorable moments for couples, exciting activities for the kids and pure relaxation!

See you soon again and warmest regards from the Maldives,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We initially wanted to book our room at Veli, as we are childless, and wanted a calm, relaxing holiday. With the repairs on some of the bungalows on Veli, we opted for Dhigu to ensure we would not be disturbed by construction noise. The over the water bungalows are nice, but if you want an unobstructed view, and more privacy, pay the extra and get the sunset ones, they are on the open ocean, not the lagoon, and you will avoid seeing a crane digging the new ditch for the boats to pass. You'll also experience less adults and children swimming in front of your bungalow when you're using the bathroom in the morning! Dhigu is definitely the kids island, and chock full of families... so if that's the experience you are looking for, strongly suggest that island and the restaurants which really cater for larger groups and families. The breakfast buffet was always full on, with more than one could possibly want. There was an Indian woman who came out the last day we were there with fresh baked goods to the table personally which was a nice touch. We did hang out during the first few days at Veli after surfing, and it's a great island for couples, the pool never crowded, and an active yet classy bar scene in the early evenings overlooking the ocean.

We opted to shift to Naladhu after our first three nights at Dhigu - thank you to Beatrice for her kindness and heightened attention to customer needs - you quite simply rock! While we thought the Maldives would be that once in a lifetime trip, given the expense, our experience staying at Naladhu has forever changed this. We will return! The privacy, seclusion and service on Naladhu is tops. Bottle of chilled champagne awaiting our return from dinner, bubbly bath prepared as we re-enterred the room from dining one day with a bubbly bath with hand picked hibiscus flowers carefully arranged in the bubbles, the rooms and view on the ocean facing pool bungalows are exquisite! The dining experience was a highlight - private, personal, custom designed. Not to mention the breakfast any time of the day... this is key if you are surfing, so you can leave in the morning with a quick bite, coffee to line your tummy, and then surf four hours and come back and have a proper breakfast. Simply devine! Carla and Andre made our stay on Naladhu unforgettable. Our room boy & housemaster were great, and always attentive to our needs. One night they had a cocktail hour with sample chair massages while you sipped your wine - that sold me on a massage the last day to get out all the surfing knots which could not have been more perfect.

Now... for the icing on the cake for this trip... the surfing! We booked through TropicSurf - Jenni was fantastic, helping to resolve tons of questions I had to ensure we knew what we'd be getting from a surf experience. Not having been on a board since moving to Singapore, did not want to be tossed out into a lineup with 50 aggro guys and gromms. Alex was fantastic. He created a great vibe amongst the small pod of surfers that went out each day. I don't think there was a day there were more than 4 people surfing the peak, and all were cool, taking turns to be sure everyone got their waves of the day. It was toward the end of the season, so while the surf may have been only shoulder to head high (ok, I'm only a 5'4" female) so smaller, it was a long fun right that would wrap on the inside with the tide, and would kick up a faster steep inside section to keep the speed to take it all the way into the inner reef, just in front of the staff quarters. Alex has a great way with some of the newer to surfing participants, and gave coaching tips to all which was a treat. To have the chance to surf an entire week with just a few people out, on a really fun wave was unbelievable and made our trip one we'll seek to repeat again, and again. Thanks to Beatrice, Carla, Andre, Alex and Jenni for helping us book and take an amazing trip! See you again soon... and Carla, hope to see you in Phuket in Dec!

Room Tip: sunset bungalow on Dhigu a must - the lagoon view one we were in was not as private, and a bit run d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flashpacker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Flashpacker08,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is great to read, that we have created a memorable stay for you. Indeed, our Spa therapists are well trained and we receive a lot of good comments about our treatments!

Rooted in the timeless healing traditions of the world's richest cultures, Anantara Spas are designed to restore balance and harmony between body and mind in an oasis of beauty, grace and tranquility.

Surely you have noticed, we have many guests coming over to Anantara Dhigu to enjoy surfing, as the spots around the island are incredible.

We will pass on your comments to our team, especially to those ones, you have mentioned by name.

All of us are looking forward to see you soon again on our paradise island!

Sunny greetings to Singapore,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We visited Anantara with our 3 children - aged 5 months, 3 and 5 years. We had an amazing time, all of the staff at the resort were just wonderful with the children they made them so welcome. The kids club (Priscilla/ Aisha) and babysitter (Jana) were amazing, they had great activities for the children, so imaginative and so enthusiastic which meant we could have a great time diving.
We stayed in the beach villas (sunrise) no.32. It was perfect, the beack was quiet, peaceful and beautiful condition overlooking the lagoon. We preferred this side as there was much less wind, we found the sunset side too windy in the afternoon. It also was not too bright in the mornings as the villa was surrounded by vegetation and they had good black out blinds.
Diving and dolphin excursion - great - good team. My only criticism is that they were not forthcoming when you would ask what dive sites they would visit the next day, the standard answer was we decide on the day, when actually they do have a rough plan but not finalised until they check the weather. they could do a better job of providing at least some ideas of what dive sites would be there. We were lucky that there was an advanced divers boat when we were there so we go to go to cocoa thila - awesome dive a definite must for advanced divers - BUT you need a boat of advanced divers or they wont go there.
spa - was good, but was expensive and also they advertised a slightly misleading offer - it was US$225 for a 2 hour package including US$60 worth of spa products, this turned out to be US$30 and a bottle of shampoo. It was a shame as left a disappointing note after otherwise a nice experience. Other resorts I stayed in had better packages and offers which encouraged use of the spa. location though was great.
Morning yoga - fantastic - highly recommended.
food - fantastic - thai, aqua bar, fuddan and the buffet restaurant - all exceptional quality. We found though that we spent less at the resort than we would have paid for half board. especially as the kids ate for free in most places which was a lovely surprise.
Water- very generous on the supplies in the room.

Room Tip: sunrise beach villas - quiet, no wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear julesh5,

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay at the Anantara Dhigu with your family.

We are very proud to have a fantastic, well trained team at our kids club to take care for the most important guests: the little one’s!

Great to hear, that you have enjoyed exploring the underwater world of the Maldives, whilst your kids were playing at our Dhoni Kids Club.

We will discuss your suggestions about the Spa with our Spa Management Team, to ensure there is no confusion for our valuable guests. We will review our packages to make sure, our offers are attractive and represent good value.

Once again we would like to thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Anantara Dhigu – your home away from home!

With warmest regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

From the time we arrived at the airport until we returned to the airport the fabulous staff at Anatara Dhigu took great care to ensure all our needs were met to ensure we had a wonderful time. The island is naturally a beautiful place coupled with the luxurious facilities the Anatara resort offers and the exceptional staff we simply experienced "paradise" and a very special holiday.We spent 9 wonderful nights staying in a Sunset Villa which was very spacious, luxurious and private. It was very comfortable and attended to, we never had to ask for anything, everything was taken care of. The food in all restaurants was excellent, fresh and varied and the Thai restaurant Baan Huraa is very special. All the restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive and a special thanks to Akhil who goes above & beyond to make sure all your needs are met. Also special thanks to Janaka for the best croissants ever! The staff at Aquafanatics were brilliant - we did an introductory dive, snorkeling safari, dolphin trip & swim with mantarays - we always felt safe in there care & they did everything to facilitate the best experience you could have. Special thanks to Hamid, the resident marine biologist who is doing a fantastic job recolonizing coral house reefs (for the benefit of all of us!) Snorkeling around the island is very good, very clear water & easy access. There is also plenty of other activities to do or simply relax and enjoy a truly magical place (the stars at night are amaising!) where the Anatara staff pay real attention to detail to ensure guests have a very memorable experience. Congratulations to Torsten & all staff - you provide wonderful service and I would recommend Anatara Dhigu to couples and families alike. Truly a five star resort with a unique culture. We will be back!
Still smiling

Room Tip: Sunset villa's enjoy a wonderful outlook along with magical sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Krys R,

Warmest greetings from the Maldives! It’s really great to receive such a feedback about your recent stay. WOW!

You are absolutely right, there are many places and activities to discover: Diving, snorkeling, culinary experiences ( e.g. Dine by Design on your private island ) or a Spa treatment of one of our professional therapists ( e.g. our Anantara Signature treatment for couples ) are just a few things, our guests can indulge.

We are very proud to receive comments like your! Part of our ongoing effort is to understand the guests needs, combined with our luxury environment.

We are also smiling each day and especially when you are coming back! See you soon at Anantara Dhigu Maldives!

Sunny regards from the paradise,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We love beach resorts and have searched Australia , Phuket, Koh Samui and Mauritius. Anantara Dhigu is what we have been looking for.
The Maldives has been on our list of destinations for many years.
We spent six months deciding on which island to choose and we got it right.
Beautiful clean white sand, warm water, nothing in the water to bite you, no rocks to hurt your feet, shallow water and deep water. Numerous choice of bars, dining, swimming, activities.
We chose this island because of the beach and all the dining options and we were not disappointed. A cluster of four islands so you never get bored. Dhigu, Veli, Naladhu & a small uninhabited island with a bar on it. We had a full board dine around option and were very fortunate to be able to dine at Naladhu which was spectacular.
On our last night we had dinner at Naladhu. Sous Chef Dany & Exec. Chef Christopher prepared a special degustation menu for us. Sitting out on the white sand at a special table just for us, we felt like we were the only guests on the island, it was one of the best meals we have ever had.
Management are fantastic, Torsten, Charles, Carla, Michelle & Karthick, always asking from day one if we are happy with everything. Nothing is too much trouble. A few little things were fixed immediately.
Breakfast was quiet & relaxing looking out to the sea. A variety of different foods. iPads with the days news if you want. The best crepes, pancakes & waffles cooked while you wait. The chef even made me crepe suzette when I told him it was my favourite.
We had the best Fish & Chips and Tuna Pizza at Fudan sitting over the water. Aqua bar is so laid back and fun, Mohan makes the best cocktails, everyone is so friendly & helpful especially Jibran. We enjoyed having a chat to all the staff. The Thai restaurant has the best Thai food and service we have ever had. It is spectacular built out on the reef in between Veli & Nalahdu.
Shareef our housekeeper was wonderful, he surprised us by decorating our bed with rose petals and made us a special bubble bath. He delivered an esky full of ice to our room each day to keep our drinks extra cold.
Don't waste your time searching for which resort to choose in the Maldives.
We are already planning to go back next year.
Wifi Internet was a bit hit & miss at times, due to the weather, but who cares, we were on a beautiful island having a relaxing holiday.
The only negative comment I have is the Day Spa was overpriced even though it was the best I have been to.
I could go on and on, just read all the other excellent reviews!
Helen & Mark.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hellew3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Hellew3,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your lovely comments on our resort!

We are very pleased to read that you had a tremendous stay at the Anantara Resort & Spa Dhigu Maldives, and that we played our part in the success of your well-deserved holiday!

We will pass on your comments to our team cross the board, as feedback like yours is telling us, we’re on the right way!

“Anantara” the word in Sanskrit means "without end" and evokes the freedom, movement and harmony that are the spirit of the Anantara Experience.

Rest assured, we will continue to WOW our guests!

All of us are looking forward to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

i went to Maldives on the 5th of October till 9th for as a honeymooners , and it was my first time to Maldives ,,

everything was super from A to Z , beginning of the great reception we had at the airport and the nice boat trip to the luxurious Anantara with the warm welcome and souvenir picture we had

we stayed at a sunset over-water villa and it was lovely , service overall was great in all aspects

i recommend it and planning to get back soon

Room Tip: sunset villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blast1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle K, Resort Manager at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear blast1825,

Thank you for sharing your excellent review.

We are indeed delighted you had a truly memorable honeymoon stay with us in the Maldives. It is great to hear you enjoyed our lovely sunset over water suite and most importantly, you have received great service from our team.

Please do display our little souvenir for you where you could see it to remind you of a return trip to Anantara Maldives as we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Once again, thank you for your excellent review and kind recommendation.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhigufinolhu Island
19.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
11.2 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,707 reviews
9.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,326 reviews
22.2 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort

Address: Dhigufinolhu, South Male Atoll, 2098
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range: £445 - £1,791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing