We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Naladhu Private Island Maldives(Naladhu Island)
US$1,226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kaani Grand Seaview(Maafushi Town)
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
COMO Cocoa Island(Cocoa Island)(Great Value!)
US$1,109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Biyadhoo Island Resort(Biyaadhoo Island)
US$625
US$224
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$150
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kaafu Inn Guraidhoo(Guraidhoo)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Raakani Villas(Guraidhoo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$274
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,103)
Filter reviews
2,103 results
Traveller rating
1,671
300
73
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,671
300
73
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua barthai restaurantkids clubfishwater villaoverwater suitebeach guruour honeymoonfushi caferoom boysunrise villawater sportsfront office managersister islandspecial thanksoutdoor bathroomsunset beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,421 - 1,426 of 2,103 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2009

I have to echo the other recent reviews of this place. What lets the Anantara down is its staff. Although we didn't have as bad experience as some other people and it seems strange to criticise staff for being over attentive, it really does get on your nerves....

POSITIVES
- Beatiful beach bungalow. Contrary to other reviewers, we were on not on the sunset side of the island and truly appreciated the shade and wind from 3pm onwards. It seemed to be much quieter on this side and our bungalow, 42, was very private
- Stunning setting
- Great to have the flexibility to roam between the 2 islands and go for different places for dinner
- Excellent facilities. Beautiful pools on Dhigu & Veli. The gym is well equipped and Aquafanatics center staff very helpful
- Great breakfast buffet

NEGATIVES
- Overbearing staff. If the Manager could just read all these comments and take this on board. I don't need to be asked 10 times at breakfast if i'm ok and if the food is good. It also felt at times as if staff were insincere
- Lack of shade by main pool at Dhigu
- Music by pool at Dhigu. We actually asked them to turn this down which they did for the remainder of our week. Why anyone would want to hear fairly loud music (albeit chill out) vs. the tropical sounds of waves crashing on shore is beyond me...
- Expensive and mediocre food
- Beware when booking some of the water bungalows at Veli. A few currently have a view of a JCB stuck in the sand and others appear not so private. I really recommend the Beach Villa....

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tartan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Upon arriving at the airport in the Maldives, we were greeted by the person to take us to the Anantara resort in Dhigu. We noticed that there were only four people going there even though our plane was completely full. After a short time at the resort we soon found out why. Our first meal there was truly magical and we enjoyed everything. The island and the scenery was absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately, the bubble burst soon after. The staff kept coming out of the wood work asking us if everything was to our satisfaction. Ok, this fine once or twice but when it happens seven and eight times during a meal, you feel like you want to feed them to the sharks. The staff were so hypocritical that it was written all over their faces that they really didn’t give a damn although they kept asking us how our day was. After a week, we wanted to chuck them into the flaming Tandoori oven. We additionally had the misfortune to have particularly bad weather during the month of January when it was supposed to be the high season, however this was beyond the control of the staff. The selection of food in the main restaurant was quite monotonous as the menu was never changed during our two week stay. All the food was far too heavy for a warm weather environment. Luckily there was the Terrazzo restaurant which had a nice selection of Italian food although the pizzas were not all that great as they had a definite Indian influence. We luckily found the island of Veli which has a very courteous staff and was far more intimate than Dhigu. We had a beach villa on Dhigu which was nice although once again we were subjected to three visits a day from the room boy who made the room and brought fruit. The beach villas on one side of the island get a constant heavy breeze while those on the other side of the island do not have this. It’s important to note though that the snorkeling was much better on our side and even better over at Veli. Our villa was located on the side near the Aquafanatic sport centre and facing the staff island. If constant harassment by the staff during every moment of the day is your cup of tea, then I guess the Anantara Resort in Dhigu is for you. Otherwise I’d strongly suggest going somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank sb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Having never been to the Maldives before I can't compare Anantara to any other comprable resort. I have been to the Seychelles and liked that much more. We opted for a beach bungalow on the sunset side of the island. The interior was lovely, with a wonderful bathroom and bedroom, and all the facilities, but outdoor space was very limited. The bungalows were all in a line and very close to each other. When next door entertained guests on their terrace, the noise and chatter sounded like it was outside our door and this went on till 4am some nights. There was also the thud of base notes when others played their disco music, which carried some distance. The sunset side of the island was by far the best for the time of the year, because we had long sunny afternoons and no wind. The lagoon side was in deep shade all afternoon, with a constant strong wind.

The infinity pool was beautiful although there was virtualy no shade because the umbrellas were set in heavy concrete blocks which were almost impossible to move. We enjoyed lunches at the poolside Aqua Bar. We found all the restaurants to be good but every meal was ruined by staff constantly requesting that we enjoy our meal and then following it up throughout the meal with ," are you enjoying your meal?", even though we had mouthfulls of food at the time. This could go on on 5 or 6 times during any meal. It was oppressive and ruined the enjoyment of every meal.

Where your bungalow is situated is critical. Ours was very good but having taken a tour of the island there are some that I would not care for at all. Sunset and south side are best, certainly from December to April.

The snorkelling trip was ok but in terms of value for money, not that special.

Anantara has all the trappings, it is very luxurious, but it lacks a certain something. We were there at peak time and I take that into consideration, but for the price, there was not much privacy or exclusivity. We found The Seychelles to be much better. The staff were discreet, we had plenty of outdoor space and privicy, there was no noise and nobody bothered us. We were able to enjoy the beauty and peace without hindrance, which was not possible at Anantara, Maldives.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uk-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We spent 5 nights over Christmas at this resort and would endorse all comments about the amazing setting, comfortable accomodation and very friendly and efficient staff.
However, the management of this resort seem to do everything they can to get every extra penny or cent out of their guests and this really left a poor impression on us.
On arrival (literally, as we sipped our welcome drinks) our credit card was whisked away and a $700 charge was made, in addition to the full room rate we had already paid prior to arrival. It took personnal 2 days to clarify that the charge was to cover obligatory breakfasts and Christmas dinner (incidentally, one of the most amateur meals we had eaten in a long time, an absolute rip-off at the price!). By then we had already enjoyed 2 room-service breakfasts on the lovely deck at our villa: but no, breakfast was to be taken at the breakfast buffet restaurant only, therefore any room-service breakfasts were to be charged as extra! Because we had been allocated one of the distant over-water villas (well-worth having, for the wonderfully easy access to the lagoon) this meant a 15-minute walk with our child to the breakfast restaurant each day, not our idea of a relaxing start to our day. This issue, together with several small incidents regarding extra charges, meant that by the last day of our stay I simply had to ask to speak to a member of personnel and gave my opinion in no uncertain terms. As a result our room-service breakfasts were waived and our last meal, a room-service dinner, was personally served by the F&B manager, who phoned 3 times in the course of our meal to make sure everything was OK.
At a Maldives resort, stunning location, great accomodation and superb service are almost guaranteed. The Anantara's approach to their guests meant that we will definitely not be returning to this particular resort on our next visit to these amazing islands.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 17lydia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

My wife and I honeymooned at Anantara Dhigu in October / November. The resort is made up of three islets -- Veli, Dhigu, and Nalahu linked by regular water taxi, with the last two linked by an stunning walkway.

We stayed in an over-water suite for the first 10 days and the 2 nights in a Bungalow on Naladhu. To summarise how much we enjoyed it, both of us are quite hyper and I was a wee bit worried that we would get bored being on a desert island. I need not have thought so. We both relaxed / chilled and in general slowed down to a crawl.

The facilities were definitely the 5* and 6* as reported. Our over water suite was in the middle of the long jetty. The foyer and mezzanine were air conditioned (MUCH needed given the heat of the Maldives) and the bathroom was VERY large and stunning. The bath an shower were wet room style and definitely designed for two. Sitting in the a bath big enough for the two of us, with the doors open watching the sunset go down over the lagoon while drinking some champers is a great memory. :-)

You also have a very very private deck with an outdoor shower and steps into the lagoon. I think we spent about 70% of our time there.

The staff were brilliant. They provided great service and our "house boy" (sorry that's what he asked to be called) gave us a surprise about every 3rd or 4th day consisting of a specially run bath, or fruit setting or designed bed with petals.

Our last two days / nights were on the 6* Naladhu. BLOODY Amazing. The bungalow was more of a private compound where behind your wall you had, a sumptuous room, a huge deck overlooking the Big Blue where we took lunch or slept in the two person rocking day bed or the deck chairs, a 15 meter swimming, outdoor bathroom, and three types of showers. We were going to go to the beach or sea kayak, but ended up just staying in our place.

Speaking of activities, you could do as much or as little as you desired. We sea kayaked a couple of times, went to Male and did two person Spa visits. Only Male was disappointing. You are not allowed to explore on your own, so you don't experience the culture. The Spa is out of this world. and has definitely raised the bar.

In terms of food, we went 1/2 board and that was definitely the way forward. The heat leaves you not very hungry in the middle of the day. The restaurants were all brilliant. We really liked Baan Huraa (Thai) overlooking the ocean as the tide rolled and Fuddan Grill (fish) where you can feed the puffer and Jock fish that circle.

In terms of the other guests. There were a nice mix of honeymooners and families so it didn't get all too lovey dovey or screaming kids.

All in all very expensive, but worth it as we are now expecting our first! :-) and won't be able to do a trip like that again for 5-10 years again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rmfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews