We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Beaten Path and So Worth the Trip”

Bayou Black Airboat Swamp Tours
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Gibson
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path and So Worth the Trip”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

You park at a marina in the small town of Gibson ($2). We were lucky to be on the tour by ourselves with our friends. The beautiful serenity of the swamp, wildlife siggtings (nutria, gators, endless amounts of birds including herons and bald eagles) made for a memorable experience. The local narrative was much appreciated and the $40 per person was a bargain. I felt like it was a National Geigraphic adventure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpio117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    8
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Swamp Tour”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is the Airboat tour you want to take! There were alligators all over the place. Saw American Bald Eagles and several of their nest! My wife got really excited when we came across a large momma Nutria and her four babies. The tour guide gives a great narrative of the history of the area. The tour included a slow trip through the Cypress and Tupelo swamp as well as the open savanna. Over two hours and it seemed much shorter. Time flies when you're having fun!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Curtis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“True Louisiana swamp tour!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Met our captain and he took us out on a 2 hour tour that was closer to 3, but you wont mind a bit. Beautiful scenery! Great if you have visitors like we did. Saw all kinds of wildlife. Very much an enjoyable day. Just don't let your kids run in the Marina store, owner doesn't appear to enjoy them much!

Helpful?
Thank NewfiegirlLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big fun on the Bayou”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

It does not get any more authentic than Junior. He rolled up in his airboat in camouflage vest, Wranglers and Bayou accent. He kept a straight face as us West Coast folk spent 15 minutes dousing ourselves in bug spray, and even as we squabbled over seats in the boat as families traveling for a month are wont to do. We piled on the boat and Junior didn't say much (or anything) just made a lovely Bayou grunt/nod at everything we asked as we first pulled out onto the Bayou. This grunt/nod was extremely entertaining and very informative. It pretty much meant, Look over there at the alligator 6 inches from your face on the left. As we got further out, Junior let it rip and started really zooming over the wetlands. He knows what a thrill it is to race toward what looks like a grassy hill at 25 mph knowing it's all swampy. The incredible beauty of the Bayou cannot be overstated; we were completely blown away by the wildlife and changing landscape. We stopped in several different parts of the Bayou, and Junior really opened up and answered all of our questions and told some amazing stories (insert a few more grunt/nods). We read after the tour about how he helped after Katrina, we were sorry we didn't ask him about it. When we booked the tour, Junior said it would be 1.5 hours but he spent 2 hours with us. What we thought was going to be a cool experience ended up being a top highlight of our entire cross country trip. Make sure to eat lunch at Bayou Delight and SERIOUSLY MAKE SURE to order the bread pudding.
P.S. We read other reviews that Junior didn't show, but he was right on time for us!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 101MLKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What Tour?”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My family had made reservations through email a week before we went on vacation. When we arrived to Louisiana the weather was raining. We showed up for the tour an hour early and waited outside the store at the Marina. The tour time came and went with no sign of junior the tour guide. The owner of the store had to come out and tell the group of people that Jr. wouldn't go out in the weather. After all that waiting we left. A lady answered the phone when we called to complain. She said he would be going out that afternoon and we could fit in on that tour. Believe it or not we drove back that afternoon to have the exact same thing happen. He never came by to apologize or even tell us we couldn't go out. The tour might have been amazing if you could ever get him to take you out. We ended up taking the air boat adventure in Lafitte. It was great.

Helpful?
5 Thank hlikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bayou Black Airboat Swamp Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing