We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was an awesome boat ride”

Bayou Black Airboat Swamp Tours
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Gibson
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This was an awesome boat ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I am from Wisconsin and I enjoyed the tour so much. We pulled right up next to the alligator nests and the gators hissed at us. We saw a lot of migrating ibus. We went all around the bayou. It was so cool seeing all of the alligators and different swamp creatures. Wane was a very nice person and lets kids go in the front of the boat. This is probably the best swamp tour you can get in the bayou.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    7
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Struthers, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was the first thing we did when we arrived in Lousianna. Booked the trip through the web site. Jr. was a little late but the tour was well worth the wait. He is very knowlageable about the area and the swamp. We saw an alligator up close and close to her nest. He explained the ecosystem and the importance of the swamp and marshes to Louisianna and the rest of the world. This is the tour to take if you want a true experience of the Louisianna swamp. The tour lasted about two hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to spend two hours in the Bayou”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The airboat ride is a way to see things that you'd just couldn't see any other way. Weave in and out of trees standing in a foot and a half of murky, moss-covered water. Glide right over the top of floating pieces of land. At points it's like being in a hovercraft.

"Junior" (the boat operator and guide) stops about 6-7 times along the way to point out facts aout local wildlife. We saw three small alligators, an alligator nest, a fish hawk, a huge eagle's nest, and some beaver-like animals whose name I can't remember. But the best part is the exploration of the strange landscape.

Cost: we paid $140 (you have to pay in cash) for three adults and our 3-year-old daughter. The boat fits 10 people comfortably. You sit on two cushioned benches facing the front of the boat. There was another group of three along with us. You pay $2.00 to park at the marina. Just make sure you go into the marina store and pay the clerk $2.00 before you get on the boat, because they're sticklers about that.

The people are rather hard to get a hold of to set up the tour. The phone number we used was 985-665-8571. It seems they get stood up a lot because they kept texting us to ask if we were still coming. So if you schedule a tour, you might want to set their mind at ease about that upfront.

To find the place, type "Marina Drive, Gibson, LA" into your GPS. That will take you right there. It's just past Linda's Camping and RV, which you can see on Google Maps. There's a convenience store at the marina where you can pick up snacks/drinks and use the restroom before departing.

One thing to bear in mind is that airboats are very loud. Junior will hand out noise-protection headphones to everyone before departing, and there's no way you won't want to wear them. Junior himself wears ear plugs. It struck me that if you're doing this alone or with one other person, the idea thing might be to bring along your own noise-canceling headphones, cue up some appropriate music on your phone or mp3 player, and listen to that while you're gliding along---because that's much better than the muted roar of the airboat. Use a headphone splitter and you and your companion can listen to the same music.

If you're hungry when you hungry when you get done with the tour, all I can say is do NOT eat dinner at the nearby (8 miles east) Bayou Delight Restaurant. We went there hoping to get some authentic cajun cuisine. It's well attended (lots of old people who get up and dance), but the food is both expensive and utterly bland--just a typical country restaurant. It's like eating at Golden Corral or Cracker Barrel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VVM515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stood us up”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked airboat ride by email couple of weeks ago and he confirmed twice via email. Waited 15 min past agreed time then called and was told he would be there right away. After another 15 min and he still was not there, we hooked ride on Cajun Guys swamp boat and had a great ride.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This trip was a favorite of mine for my first trip to New Orleans. This swamp tour is about an hour and a half ride from New Orleans. I know there are other swamp tours closer but this one interested me as it gave us a chance to get away from the New Orleans area. I don't know how this compares to other swamp tours but we all absolutely loved this one. We had perfect weather, sunny and 70 degrees. Our guide was very knowledgable about the area. He started out not saying hardly anything, barely a "hello." We were wondering if we were on the right tour. Actually, we were on the right tour and once we got going he was full of stories and information. The boat was not crowded and our party of four were the only ones on the air boat. We saw plenty of alligators, even stopped the boat for about 10 minutes right next to a 9-10 footer sunning itself, nutria (swamp rats), bald eagles, and a wide variety of birds. We experienced many different aspects of the swamp from areas closed in with cedar trees to wide open areas. The price was actually cheaper than similar tours closer to New Orleans. We all loved this trip and for someone with no experience being in the swamp it was truly magical.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bayou Black Airboat Swamp Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing