We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just look at your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We were concerned about our stay as the reviews are everywhere. We were in 1094. It was a little musty as the extractor fan was out of commission. Apart from that the room was very basic and clean. The breakfast was liquid poured eggs with round sausage patties and biscuits. Yogurt was available, too.

Pictures of the pool are accurate. I do not know what the pool is like when it is in season.

The staff was coolish but competent.

If you take a look at your room and it is good, take it. Basic accommodation at a reasonable price.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mahatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had to stay here because all other hotels in New Orleans were booked. Its inexpensive, but that's not an excuse for dirty and bad service. The room was dirty, the hallways were dirty, the service was bad... just try to stay away from this hotel. Must say the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Look for a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElNavegante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Although this property is a bit "tired" (it is what it is), the staff made up for it. After boarding a ship for a 5-day cruise, my wife discovered she left her medication in the room's refrigerator. We called the hotel and they went to our room found the medication, and then had their driver deliver it to the cruise line where he met a cruise line security person who delivered it to us on board the ship. A big THANK YOU goes out to the hotel staff involved.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

You may as well pay the million bucks hotels cost in New Orleans!!
We booked this hotel for two nights to celebrate our friends' wedding weekend. The photos online looked nice and I expected everything to be in order upon our arrival. We were greeted by a woman at the front desk who gave us our room keys, showed us on a map where our room would be and where to park. We drove around to our room but had to sit in our car for 15 minutes while housekeeping finished cleaning. We unloaded our things from the car and then discovered the toilet in our room did not flush. I tried to call the front desk only to find that the phone did not work as well. We left our room and drove all the way back around to the front desk to report the faults in our room. When we walked in the front desk attendant was trying to give us a different room because housekeeping was still cleaning. We told her they'd finished but that some amenities weren't functioning. She assigned us a different room so we reloaded the car, drove around to our new room, unpacked the car and rode the elevator (which smelled of alcohol and urine) to the 3rd floor. In this room the refrigerator did not work, we had no remote for the television and there was hair in the bathtub though neither of us had used it. I was tired of complaining so I didn't bother to report it. Later that night I found a dead baby roach on our bathroom floor and then a live roach crawling across our wall. We were disgusted with the condition of this hotel and would have relocated had we not already paid the full amount of the stay. Quality is not what we got with this stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed two times here because of a cruise we took out of New Orleans. I tried to talk to the Manager about this, but during the 4 partial days [check-in & check-out] we were there, she could not be found and staff just kept putting things in her box saying she MAY be in later. Now a month later and still have not heard from this hotel. Finally called Choice direct..
Stay #1 09-20-13
For the price we paid at this location, it was not a bargain.
The front desk staff was extremely nice, but that is where it stopped.
We were given room 1001. When I opened the door, the bed was not made, so I went back to see about getting housekeeping or another room.
We were given room 1007. Here is what we got.
1. THE BATHROOM DOOR DOES NOT CLOSE. If you force it shut, the wife had a hard time getting out.
2. The bed was not a king size as we were told and had reserved.
3. It was after 2000 [8 PM] before we got a new TV that worked.
4. There was a USA paper left in the room, from Thursday. Second room today, so I would question housekeeping ability.
Feel there is plenty of room for improvements at this hotel.
Stay #2 09-26-13
Again this is a disaster.
From the time I called at the terminal for a pick up, it was 55 minutes. There were still 5 more people standing in line waiting for pickup [using 7 passenger van] which mean they will wait over an hour. When we went to terminal on 21st, they could not find the keys. Now they had the keys, but the driver with the CDL did not show up for work. Just no back up plans. Maintenance man, James, had to do runs. There was only 1 person in the lobby doing check in and dispatch for cruise. Thursday day was check in day and transportation to terminal which makes it a busy day without limited staff. You charge $60 extra for this service and then you do not provide it in a professional manner. Wanted to talk to Manager was told “may be in later”, same as last Saturday – in later. While waiting at the terminal, other drivers there, when they found out who we were waiting for after they had made several trips to their hotel, told us about how poor the vehicles were. I retired from the State of Colorado working with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration tracking safety issues. When James hit the brakes on the Freeway the vehicle shook and he had to grab the steering wheel because the front end bounced. This safety issue should place the vehicle out of service and subject it to safety citations. On return I reported the SAFETY problem and was informed that the Manager had been informed and even had said that it needed to go into service. Such blatant disregard for Safety along with the liability exposure that the Manager has put not only Quality Inn, but also Choice Hotels in should NEVER be tolerated.
The kid’s pool is closed for repair which is no problem, but it has standing GREEN SLIM water [have a picture in case you would not believe how disgusting]. Not only does it make the place look like what it apparently is, but it is a breeding ground for mosquitos. Also kept us from using the pool just because of the way it makes you feel.
Free hot breakfast buffet [copied from your web site] – Most likely the meekest at any Choice over the years. Even when a place offers “Continental Breakfast” only you get more than at this hotel.
1. No white bread – No Wheat bread – this would be one of the cheapest things they could offer.
2. No Danishes which almost every place on earth offers even if they only offer a Continental Breakfast.
3. Orange Juice tasted like TANG or at best an orange drink
4. No hot chocolate even the one made from powder and made with water. Not everyone drinks coffee.
5. Did have sausage, a round thing that was eggs, but had no taste and a muffin. Sorry excuse for an advertised “Hot Breakfast”. Most that advertise this have waffles or at least waffle makers.
Roof over restaurant is held up by yellow rope because the support/gutter is missing. Makes this Choice property look like crap.

Room Tip: Many other local venues offer shuttles to the cruise ship - check them out before settling for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El1Lobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Miskitos everywhere, phone doesn’t work, TV has lines in it, walls have damage and are different colors, Hanger Rods are rusted, window shades won’t close all the way (People can see in). This place is nasty, don’t stay here. I’m checking in to another hotel and will have to eat the costs here!

Room Tip: Don't get a room here. If you must, look at the rooms before you sign anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Do not stay here! There are some positives. The staff are as friendly and courteous as you will find anywhere. The park and cruise option is unbeatable. The free shuttle to and from the port enhances the free park and cruise option. Now for the property. TIRED does not even begin to describe it. There was mold in the bathroom and as a result a musty smell permeated the room. It does not appear to be in a good area. The window in the room next to us was boarded up but the broken bits of glass were still in evidence. Thank goodness for febreze. NOLA and the surrounding area hotels were completely booked by the time we found this one. BUT you can bet that next time I will change the dates of my visit rather than book this hotel. The really bad part is that I booked for 3 couples, I am fortunate that I have nice friends. Just hope they don't as me for their room rate back ($139 + tax is way to much to charge for this place).

Room Tip: My tip for finding a good room is to NOT stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldF716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower
2.4 mi away
Historic Streetcar Inn
Historic Streetcar Inn
#143 of 166 in New Orleans
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Westbank/Gretna
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Bank Gretna
7.2 mi away
Super 8 New Orleans
Super 8 New Orleans
#92 of 166 in New Orleans
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank

Address: 100 Westbank Expy Bldg A, Gretna, LA 70053-5613 (Formerly New Orleans Expressway Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: £40 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank 1.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing