We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gretna
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I really regretted staying here on my trip to New Orleans. When checking in I was waiting behind a line of angry customers because they didn't get the room they wanted, or the room stunk, or things were broken in their room. The staff seemed to just be telling them they could go somewhere else if they could find anywhere with available rooms.

Our room was very noisy, it smelled very bad although it was supposed to be non smoking, and the place looks nothing like the pictures. I was embarrassed by how horrible the place looked. I felt very bad for the family member with me that I'd booked us at a room at such a shady looking place. The taxi driver joked that you'll never see a local staying there because they know what it actually looks like.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    46
    36
    42
    68
See reviews for
77
49
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were very concerned about this hotel after reading all the reviews. Very glad we decided to stay with this hotel! We booked 3 rooms and were pleased with all 3. The staff was VERY helpful and friendly and we couldn’t have asked for more. The breakfast was plentiful and a good variety. The hotel was very clean and well kept. We booked the rooms for a 2 day pre-cruise stay and couldn’t have been more pleased. The free shuttle to the cruise port was very well organized and got us to the port in minutes and helped us get a porter for all our luggage. We will definitely stay again before our next cruise. The price, free breakfast, free parking and free shuttle were all reasons we booked the hotel in the first place. The way we were treated and the expert handling of all the amenities are reasons we will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brahmani8146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The pictures are deceiving. The rooms looked gorgeous and spacious from the photos, but are very small and lackluster. Four tiny pillows on a king bed. Found a roach crawling on the wall before bed. Floor and bathroom clearly unswept. One single serve coffee maker. Phone and several lights not working. Toilet flush slow and sluggish. Two thin full sized towels. Difficult to contact front desk or receive extras ( towels, pillows, coffee). Staff at check in unmanicured and standoffish. Only one working computer to check in several guests waiting when we arrived. Breakfast only served from 5am-9am and bar was closed. One way street to exit and had to drive around several blocks to gain access back to highway.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmkbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gretna hotels

Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We must have gotten lucky with this hotel. We booked the Stay, Park, and Cruise package ahead of time, because this was the ONLY hotel that I could find that offered shuttle to and FROM the port. We booked two rooms for $139 each, and when we checked in, put our name on the shuttle form for the time we chose. Both rooms were clean and well appointed. The beds were double size, the rooms had a dorm size fridge & coffee maker, and the air conditioner was on, and the rooms were cool. We didn't try the continental breakfast. We used the shuttle to the port, and it was pulling into the port as we were exiting the building. We arrived back at the hotel, and he pulled up right behind our van to unload our luggage.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms facing the pool 1016 & 1018.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Where do I begin? The area was bad, I was scared to go by myself anywhere outside my room door, the smell of the room was like wet rotten wood, the bathroom faucet was rusty, they probably never cleaned the drain bc the water collected like a pool if u took a shower, we requested a fridge and microwave the first day, it never came, even after 3 days, the fridge had over $70 worth of food which went bad the next day bc surprise, surprise, the fridge doesn't work, the floor/carpet looks like it was in a construction zone with wet stains all over, the breakfast was ok, little choice, but ok, but the lady in charge was very vocal about us coming at 930 one day and sitting down to eat bc breakfast ends at 10 and its just too much work to wipe a single table, the phone line to call the front was down for 3 days so if u needed anything u would have to walk a mile to the front desk only to be greeted by someone on their cell phone eating hot Cheetos...this would all be ok if the price we paid was on the lower end but we paid freaking $110/night for this place which goodness knows where that money goes. There is more but my fingers would fall off from typing this long list of dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanaali83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked this hotel because we were heading out on a cruise the next day and when I called the hotel they said they had a courtesy shuttle to the cruise port. The hotel did not have a shuttle so we caught a taxi to the hotel for 45.00. When we checked in I asked about the shuttle to the cruise terminal and was told that was only for those customers that bought the park and fly package. I explained that I called the hotel and was told we could use the shuttle they said sorry you were given the wrong information. If I wanted to use the shuttle it would cost an additional $50.00 (the same price for those parking). We called a taxi and it cost us 25.00! The room was small...bed ok..TV worked when it wanted to...bathroom door did not shut! The customer service was terrible! Three girls behind the counter and only one even smiled and was reasonably nice.

I would skip this hotel and pick a better chain! Even it it cost a little more you will save in the long run if you are cruising and not parking!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We were concerned about our stay as the reviews are everywhere. We were in 1094. It was a little musty as the extractor fan was out of commission. Apart from that the room was very basic and clean. The breakfast was liquid poured eggs with round sausage patties and biscuits. Yogurt was available, too.

Pictures of the pool are accurate. I do not know what the pool is like when it is in season.

The staff was coolish but competent.

If you take a look at your room and it is good, take it. Basic accommodation at a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mahatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank

Property: Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank
Address: 100 Westbank Expy Bldg A, Gretna, LA 70053-5613 (Formerly New Orleans Expressway Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank 1.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing