We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need a place to sleep only!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrived in New Orleans late on a Wednesday night, on the GPS this showed up as The Clarion, check in was slow, computers weren't working, but found the room to be comfortable for the night, kinda pricey for $99.00, next morning found out you can check in at the Econolodge,which is on the same property, and check in at the same desk for $69.00, as stated rooms were OK for sleeping, not much highway noise, and 5 minutes from the French Quarter, where we spent most of our time anyway. Seems like a safe neighborhood, with plenty of lighting!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank commishWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Smoke detector missing from frame. Clock did not work. Mold in bathroom. Needs updating badly. Had to wait 45 minutes for shuttle to pick us up after cruise. Breakfast was better than we anticipated after seeing the room.




  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontstayhere2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We chose this place because it included a week of parking and free transportation to the cruise port. It was not worth it. We booked a room for 5 people. When we checked in and got to the room we found that we had been assigned a tiny room with that barely fit two double beds. We contacted the front desk and they said we would have to get two rooms... they didn't have rooms for five. This reservation had been made for five by phone and confirmed! Note that their web site did and STILL DOES SHOW rooms for five.

We called ChoiceHotels directly since we couldn't get any resolution from the front desk. The final resolution was to stuff a roll-away bed in the room that really wasn't big enough for the two beds already in there. There wasn't even room to walk between beds.

The room itself was marginal. The beds were old and not comfortable. At least the place wasn't filthy but I wouldn't call it "Spick and Span". Even if we only had the standard two beds this place was miserable.

The free breakfast was just adequate. Normally ChoiceHotels facilities have a waffle machine for fresh, hot waffles... but not this one.

The parking for the week was just outside in their parking lot... no security and anyone could walk in off the street. I do have to say that transportation to the port for embarkation and back after the end of the cruise was fine. This hotel has two busses dedicated for that purpose.

I guess I should add that the wifi worked well.

Do yourself a favor... if you are going on a cruise and are looking for inexpensive parking for the week, find some place else. And get a decent place to stay. Start your vacation with a smile instead of the indigestion this place will give you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kokomo_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This place was awful. We booked it because we could park our car there whike we cruised, which was the only plus. Room was gross, I never wipe a room down but did this one. We took a shuttle to ferry the night before to downtown and the maintenance guy ended up taking us cause there was no driver to locate. When we checked in we signed a book to take 10 o'clock shuttle to ship. Finally at 10:45 we got on one, no attendance taken and found some of the 11 o'clock people were on even though not all the 10 people got on. Very disorganized. Not in the best part of town but was glad to see our car still there and in tact. Would not recommend this hotel at all.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I really regretted staying here on my trip to New Orleans. When checking in I was waiting behind a line of angry customers because they didn't get the room they wanted, or the room stunk, or things were broken in their room. The staff seemed to just be telling them they could go somewhere else if they could find anywhere with available rooms.

Our room was very noisy, it smelled very bad although it was supposed to be non smoking, and the place looks nothing like the pictures. I was embarrassed by how horrible the place looked. I felt very bad for the family member with me that I'd booked us at a room at such a shady looking place. The taxi driver joked that you'll never see a local staying there because they know what it actually looks like.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were very concerned about this hotel after reading all the reviews. Very glad we decided to stay with this hotel! We booked 3 rooms and were pleased with all 3. The staff was VERY helpful and friendly and we couldn’t have asked for more. The breakfast was plentiful and a good variety. The hotel was very clean and well kept. We booked the rooms for a 2 day pre-cruise stay and couldn’t have been more pleased. The free shuttle to the cruise port was very well organized and got us to the port in minutes and helped us get a porter for all our luggage. We will definitely stay again before our next cruise. The price, free breakfast, free parking and free shuttle were all reasons we booked the hotel in the first place. The way we were treated and the expert handling of all the amenities are reasons we will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brahmani8146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The pictures are deceiving. The rooms looked gorgeous and spacious from the photos, but are very small and lackluster. Four tiny pillows on a king bed. Found a roach crawling on the wall before bed. Floor and bathroom clearly unswept. One single serve coffee maker. Phone and several lights not working. Toilet flush slow and sluggish. Two thin full sized towels. Difficult to contact front desk or receive extras ( towels, pillows, coffee). Staff at check in unmanicured and standoffish. Only one working computer to check in several guests waiting when we arrived. Breakfast only served from 5am-9am and bar was closed. One way street to exit and had to drive around several blocks to gain access back to highway.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmkbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower
2.4 mi away
Historic Streetcar Inn
Historic Streetcar Inn
#142 of 166 in New Orleans
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Westbank/Gretna
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Bank Gretna
7.2 mi away
Super 8 New Orleans
Super 8 New Orleans
#92 of 166 in New Orleans
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank

Address: 100 Westbank Expy Bldg A, Gretna, LA 70053-5613 (Formerly New Orleans Expressway Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: £40 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank 1.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing