We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The truth . . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I'm not going to dish or throw shade - I'll give the straight talk.

I've stayed in a wide range of accommodations, so I can draw from a level of expert. This motel was about average for this type of facility. Yes, it has issues, but they are trying really hard to overcome those issues.

Grounds clean -- mostly

Room clean -- pretty much; we did find a dead louse in our bed on the pillow case & reported it, they gave us a new room instantly with no issues

Attentive staff? -- could use some work; they are definitely overrun with cruise guests all arriving on the same day/departing the same day, so a wait is expected; as a guest, I would have liked to see a more positive attitude/reception from the front desk staff; they let you know quick they felt overwhelmed with a lot of sighing and eye-rolling, etc.

Smooth check-in/check-out? - yes; once you got through the line, you were out of there in a flash; check-out was simply returning the key card to the front desk - no line

Would I stay here again or recommend it? -- Yes, it served us well for a pre-cruise night's sleep.

Room Tip: be up-front and assertive with the staff if you are not happy; give them a chance to make things bet...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Overbooked rooms and did nothing for us. Had to find a new hotel at 10pm and had to drive 40 miles in the same direction we just came and pay twice as much as we would have if we had booked there in advanced. Friends who did stay there that night said the rooms were smelly and the door knob fell off the door and they could not get out of the room. Save yourself time and money and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Many reviews have been quite critical of this property and although it isn't a five star, or even a four star, it served our needs extremely well. Room was clean, beds and bedding were very comfortable. Free breakfast in the morning was also worthwhile. Hot and cold items and fresh fruit.
Could have used more staff when checking in, but afterwards staff was very helpful pointing us to a great place for supper and then putting us on the shuttle to the port in the morning for our cruise.

Room Tip: Be nice to staff when checking in. They are busy and appreciate your patience and it got us a good r...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very similiar experience to other guests who chose this hotel for their park and cruise rate. While I did save money on parking while on my cruise, I will choose a different hotel and pay the extra to park at the port next time I cruise out of New Orleans. Took us over an hour to get checked in. Sounds as if we were lucky and our rooms were fairly clean and unoccupied at least. They offer a park and cruise rate to attract cruisers so they need to be prepared for the influx of guests the night before a cruise by having extra staff available instead of the one desk clerk to check in the hundreds of guests coming in. The next morning

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okrunnergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Tried to pre-checkin around 11am. NO! Were told the rooms were overbooked and the housekeeping was under staffed. Come back at 3pm for check in. We arrived back at 3pm to a line that was out the door and into the parking lot! We stood in line for 4 HOURS waiting to be checked in!!!! LaTonya had AWFUL customer service skills and poor Charlene had to work a 12 hour shift because of LaTonya's bad managing skills. We finally got our room….at 7:30pm! It was ok but there isn't enough parking and I had to park on the other side of the building from my room. STAY HERE AT YOUR LAST RESORT!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Arrived at 3:40 and was not checked in until 5:45 and still was not completely in as we THOUGHT per Internet description we were getting a suite with enough room for 5 to sleep- when in reality it was an adjoining room that had the bathroom removed with a table, bar, couch and second tv. Had to request and wait on roll away for our 5th guest. Choice Hotels has screwed the pooch on this property. Either turn it into a Econo and charge accordingly - change the highly exaggerated offerings online or just fix the problem. Logistics and basic fundamentals of managing a property is not present at this location. They had 2 clerks that were trying their best to check in between 200-250 guests that were destined for cruises the next day. When we were finished at the desk the line was longer than it was when we arrived at 3.40. I will pray for those behind me In line. They supposedly offer a free shuttle. We will see how that works out and add additional comments as necessary.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It took 2.5 hours to check in. Then the electricity in the room did not work and still had crap in the toilet. While I stood in line
I called choice hotels because it too late to cancel and they refused to not charge me so I could go to another hotel. They moved us to another room and have to hope they do not give it to another person. The people in line in front of is went to the room and came back because the previous occupant was still there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgpgjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Gretna New Orleans
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn New Orleans West Bank Tower
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn New Orleans West Bank / Gretna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Westbank/Gretna
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harvey/New Orleans West Bank
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Harvey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank

Address: 100 Westbank Expy Bldg A, Gretna, LA 70053-5613 (Formerly New Orleans Expressway Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank 1.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Gretna New Orleans West Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing