We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming!!”
Review of The Holly Bush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenhaugh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hull uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome - room was nicely decorated, clean, large and very comfortable!! The décor throughout Holly Bush Inn was excellent - open fire in the range very cosy, comfortable restaurant area and full of very friendly locals - home from home!!! Oo food was amazing too - garlic and stilton mushrooms and bread and butter pudding to die for - thanks Mary!! Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room as we had a dog with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pushnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    51
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
36
155
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teynham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in Wild Northumbrian Tipis and Yurts so unfortunately did not get to stay in a room at the Hollybush however we ended up going there for dinner twice in our 4 night stay (as it was so good the first time) The staff and locals were all very friendly and welcoming, the prices were reasonable, it looked lovely (roaring fire in the bar area and two lovely dining areas) and best of all the food was incredible! Between the two of us on two nights we tried the steak and ale pie, the bangers and mash and the beef burger and all the meals were great! Just a shame that we didn't leave room for deserts! Anyone staying in the area must try the food here and based on our dining experience we would happily stay here next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for two nights, we stayed in the green room which was clean, comfortable and modern but still holds its old farmhouse style. The bar is so homely with the open fire in the range and the locals so friendly, we felt like we had known them for years. Staff were more than accommodating and couldn't be more helpful ( the boiled eggs were perfect ) The food was excellent, we highly reccomend the lamb shank and steak and ale pie however everything we ate was excellent. So all in all we had a great stay and will be returning. Thank you Holly bush inn and locals. Suzanne and David

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzweena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boroughbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A hive of activity, laughter and music in this otherwise tranquil village. An oasis of civilisation amidst the beautiful rolling Northumberland countryside. Good food and selection of ales. Friendly staff and music loving locals - all made for a surreal but pleasant experience,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have just had an amazing weekend staying at the Hollybush Inn. I travelled to Northumberland with two other couples to take part in the Kielder marathon. We were made to feel very welcome from start to finish. The accommodation was top class, clean and well decorated. We had a fabulous breakfast made by extremely friendly staff. Superb evening meals, in fact, after the marathon I just fancied a sandwich, not on the menu and this was absolutely no problem for the chef. The locals in the bar were so friendly, providing lots of banter on an evening. I would definitely stay again and will recommend to others especially since dogs are allowed and the surrounding area is just so beautiful for outdoor activities. Just be aware that on a weekday, you cannot gain access to check in until 5pm but the Cheviot Hotel down the road in Bellingham provides warmth and hydration if you arrive a little early! Perfect weekend!

Room Tip: If you want an early night, ask for a room that isn't above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMc480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollyBushInn, Owner at The Holly Bush Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks for the great review, so glad you enjoyed being with us. Just a quick note to say that we check in from 4pm midweek and 2pm at weekends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Smashing community inn; full of life, vibrancy.....oh and good wholesome food and real ales......and the views are superb too. Anywhere near Kielder......go the extra mile to this wee gem! Good service too whether a traveller or local. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow on Humber
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The room was cosy, clean and comfortable.The food was good, The staff were very helpful and had no objection to filling our flask. The crack in the the bar with the locals by the open fire was great. wish we had booked two nights. will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenhaugh
7.7 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
19.3 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
145 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
3.4 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Bush Inn

Property: The Holly Bush Inn
Address: Greenhaugh, Northumberland National Park NE48 1PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Greenhaugh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenhaugh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holly Bush Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proper little country pub with award winning accommodation. We are located in the beautiful Northumberland National Park and we have some of the DARKEST SKIES in England. We are very close to Kielder Water and Observatory, Hadrian's Wall, Alnwick Gardens and the Coast. There are some beautiful walks that start from the pub including an ancient BASTLE trail. We have 2 family rooms and also welcome well behaved dogs. Whether you are coming to the area to walk, cycle, star gaze or just relax we can assure you of a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Holly Bush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollybush Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing