We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Holly Bush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenhaugh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I had booked a table at the Holly Bush Inn for my boyfriends birthday having scoured the internet for the best place to go and the highest rated. We were not disappointed and we both loved it!
It's in a quiet village so it was peaceful outside. We were greeted with a smile and sat at our table. The lady was very attentive and when the food came... Wow! One of the best meals I'd ever had. I'm so glad I booked here as it was the perfect end to a wonderful day.
We shall most certainly be staying here at some point.
Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Miss_sammy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

On a stormy Sunday walking around Keilder with the dogs, there was no room at the inn....... anywhere. All were closed. Despondent and without a pint in sight, we set off home. Then, after following a signpost to Greenhaugh, the Hollybush appeared like the proverbial gold at the end of the rainbow, as if to prove the maxim when all mediocre pubs are closed a gem appears out of the mist. Warm, friendly, welcoming with a good pint and signs of an excellent cellar what more could a girl want. Throw in a little friendly banter and locals who definitely did not glare at new comers with the effontery to enter their space, to the contrary they invite you to join their conversation, and it is a very near perfect watering hole.
It is obvious that the place has been loved and a loving eye cast over it. Fresh paintwork renewed regularly, a roaring log fire, offer of good food, friendly banter, and local musicians CDs on sale, the Hollybush is a hidden gem. Go there. If you can get a room and spend an evening in the bar without the drive home, all the better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zakattack19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome - room was nicely decorated, clean, large and very comfortable!! The décor throughout Holly Bush Inn was excellent - open fire in the range very cosy, comfortable restaurant area and full of very friendly locals - home from home!!! Oo food was amazing too - garlic and stilton mushrooms and bread and butter pudding to die for - thanks Mary!! Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room as we had a dog with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pushnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in Wild Northumbrian Tipis and Yurts so unfortunately did not get to stay in a room at the Hollybush however we ended up going there for dinner twice in our 4 night stay (as it was so good the first time) The staff and locals were all very friendly and welcoming, the prices were reasonable, it looked lovely (roaring fire in the bar area and two lovely dining areas) and best of all the food was incredible! Between the two of us on two nights we tried the steak and ale pie, the bangers and mash and the beef burger and all the meals were great! Just a shame that we didn't leave room for deserts! Anyone staying in the area must try the food here and based on our dining experience we would happily stay here next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for two nights, we stayed in the green room which was clean, comfortable and modern but still holds its old farmhouse style. The bar is so homely with the open fire in the range and the locals so friendly, we felt like we had known them for years. Staff were more than accommodating and couldn't be more helpful ( the boiled eggs were perfect ) The food was excellent, we highly reccomend the lamb shank and steak and ale pie however everything we ate was excellent. So all in all we had a great stay and will be returning. Thank you Holly bush inn and locals. Suzanne and David

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzweena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A hive of activity, laughter and music in this otherwise tranquil village. An oasis of civilisation amidst the beautiful rolling Northumberland countryside. Good food and selection of ales. Friendly staff and music loving locals - all made for a surreal but pleasant experience,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have just had an amazing weekend staying at the Hollybush Inn. I travelled to Northumberland with two other couples to take part in the Kielder marathon. We were made to feel very welcome from start to finish. The accommodation was top class, clean and well decorated. We had a fabulous breakfast made by extremely friendly staff. Superb evening meals, in fact, after the marathon I just fancied a sandwich, not on the menu and this was absolutely no problem for the chef. The locals in the bar were so friendly, providing lots of banter on an evening. I would definitely stay again and will recommend to others especially since dogs are allowed and the surrounding area is just so beautiful for outdoor activities. Just be aware that on a weekday, you cannot gain access to check in until 5pm but the Cheviot Hotel down the road in Bellingham provides warmth and hydration if you arrive a little early! Perfect weekend!

Room Tip: If you want an early night, ask for a room that isn't above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMc480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollyBushInn, Owner at The Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thanks for the great review, so glad you enjoyed being with us. Just a quick note to say that we check in from 4pm midweek and 2pm at weekends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenhaugh
19.4 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
160 reviews
7.6 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
3.3 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
575 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 11 in Rothbury
714 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cheviot Hotel
Cheviot Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bellingham
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Bush Inn

Address: Greenhaugh, Northumberland National Park NE48 1PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Greenhaugh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenhaugh
Price Range: £83 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holly Bush Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proper little country pub with award winning accommodation. We are located in the beautiful Northumberland National Park and we have some of the DARKEST SKIES in England. We are very close to Kielder Water and Observatory, Hadrian's Wall, Alnwick Gardens and the Coast. There are some beautiful walks that start from the pub including an ancient BASTLE trail. We have 2 family rooms and also welcome well behaved dogs. Whether you are coming to the area to walk, cycle, star gaze or just relax we can assure you of a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Holly Bush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollybush Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing