We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
205
67
24
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
67
24
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub holly bush the owner kielder observatory bar area beer garden great food green room evening meal sausage kielder water my partner friendly locals dark skies full english warm welcome open fire
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

On a stormy Sunday walking around Keilder with the dogs, there was no room at the inn....... anywhere. All were closed. Despondent and without a pint in sight, we set off home. Then, after following a signpost to Greenhaugh, the Hollybush appeared like the proverbial gold at the end of the rainbow, as if to prove the maxim when all mediocre pubs are closed a gem appears out of the mist. Warm, friendly, welcoming with a good pint and signs of an excellent cellar what more could a girl want. Throw in a little friendly banter and locals who definitely did not glare at new comers with the effontery to enter their space, to the contrary they invite you to join their conversation, and it is a very near perfect watering hole.
It is obvious that the place has been loved and a loving eye cast over it. Fresh paintwork renewed regularly, a roaring log fire, offer of good food, friendly banter, and local musicians CDs on sale, the Hollybush is a hidden gem. Go there. If you can get a room and spend an evening in the bar without the drive home, all the better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zakattack19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome - room was nicely decorated, clean, large and very comfortable!! The décor throughout Holly Bush Inn was excellent - open fire in the range very cosy, comfortable restaurant area and full of very friendly locals - home from home!!! Oo food was amazing too - garlic and stilton mushrooms and bread and butter pudding to die for - thanks Mary!! Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room as we had a dog with us.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pushnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in Wild Northumbrian Tipis and Yurts so unfortunately did not get to stay in a room at the Hollybush however we ended up going there for dinner twice in our 4 night stay (as it was so good the first time) The staff and locals were all very friendly and welcoming, the prices were reasonable, it looked lovely (roaring fire in the bar area and two lovely dining areas) and best of all the food was incredible! Between the two of us on two nights we tried the steak and ale pie, the bangers and mash and the beef burger and all the meals were great! Just a shame that we didn't leave room for deserts! Anyone staying in the area must try the food here and based on our dining experience we would happily stay here next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for two nights, we stayed in the green room which was clean, comfortable and modern but still holds its old farmhouse style. The bar is so homely with the open fire in the range and the locals so friendly, we felt like we had known them for years. Staff were more than accommodating and couldn't be more helpful ( the boiled eggs were perfect ) The food was excellent, we highly reccomend the lamb shank and steak and ale pie however everything we ate was excellent. So all in all we had a great stay and will be returning. Thank you Holly bush inn and locals. Suzanne and David

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzweena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A hive of activity, laughter and music in this otherwise tranquil village. An oasis of civilisation amidst the beautiful rolling Northumberland countryside. Good food and selection of ales. Friendly staff and music loving locals - all made for a surreal but pleasant experience,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews