We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holly Bush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenhaugh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Early May saw 8 of us staying at the Holly Bush Inn for a weekend. We were having our first "Drive Out" this year with our cars. Not knowing the area, I did rely on Tripadvisor for choosing this Inn. We were not disappointed, what a find. The Inn is situated in the heart of Northumberland, great place for walkers, cyclist and lazy motorist like our group. Keider lake and forest were just a couple of miles away and easy access to Hadrian's Wall. However, the best part of the weekend was staying at the Holly Bush. It is an English pub with rooms. The place has so much character and atmosphere. Staff and owner were lovely people, and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were on the small side, but hey this place is hundreds of years old, and they did not make them large in those days. People were smaller anyway, but the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. Food was more than the normal pub grub, well presented and well cooked.
If you like your beer, you'll love this place too. The Holly Bush will be visited again, hopefully, we can still get a reservation.
Graham S
Malvern UK

Room Tip: Go for the Grey room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    49
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
150
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We made an emergency, last minute reservation here one evening as I could not face another cold sleepness night in a tent and did not regret it. The room we had was excellent - very comfortable and nicely decorated. There was a double bed and also a single so would heve fitted a family of 3 nicely. The bathroom was a bit small (thin) but I guess in such an old building you have to make allowances. Nice touches are the bottles of soap and shamppo in the bathroom: so much nicer than little sachets etc. I was a bit surprised to see they had a couple of real glasses on the table in the bathroom. I knocked one off in the middle of the night and luckily it did not break but it would have a pain (maybe literally!) if it had. My wife claims to have seen a couple of cobwebs in the bathroom The sound insulation seems to be very good. It was a Friday night and the pub was quite busy but despite that the room was very quiet and I spelt like a log.
We had to leave at stupid o'clock in the morning so sadly did not get to sample the breakfast. We did however have a drink in the bar before bed and found it to be very convivial.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hepatacyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst going to a wedding . Room was lovely with all the comfort you needed. Brill shower ! Host was very welcoming and accommodating.

Only word of warning is it is a beautiful old building which does mean you can hear noise from other rooms. Lots of creaky floor boards - added to our experience but imagine others may be deterred by this.

Couldn't get TV to work in room but in all honesty why would you need a TV when in such amazing natural surroundings!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laalaa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We ate at the Holly Bush back in 2009, so made a point of returning (twice) during our 2014 holiday (I have no experience of the rooms, just the food!)

The inn is in the small village of Greenhaugh, with parking on the road outside and also a few "off road" spaces across the road. As it's not a through road the pub is quiet, however if you visit on a Friday or Saturday I would still recommend reserving a table, as dining space is quite limited.

The bar is situated in the larger of the 2 rooms, and there are 3 or 4 tables in the 2nd room.

The staff were really friendly, the beer was served with a smile, and the food was hot, tasty and home cooked. 2 courses for 2 with drinks came to under £40 both times.

We have found that the choices for eating around the Keilder area are relatively limited, and having been disappointed elsewhere, we would certainly recommend the Holly Bush as the best that we've tried.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Nottinghamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have visited this pub many times. It is quite unique. We see an earlier review describing it as a canteen. They must be joking. There are no canteens like this. This is a small, friendly, country pub in a beautiful village. The main bar has an historic range burning logs with casual tables and chairs. The staff are welcoming and it is a real gem. Something special for a pint or a home cooked meal. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Very small traditional Northumbrian village pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheelagh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just returned from two nights at The Holly Bush and the tranquility of rural Northumberland. Great pub, good food, friendly staff and locals. Shame it is two and a half hours travel door to door, otherwise we would be back on a regular basis.
You are doing everything right so please don't change.

Room Tip: Only saw the one room but from what we saw on the website any would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a table at this pub expecting something a little more appealing than what we found. The pub itself is unattractive, the bar area resembles a canteen more than a country inn. The dining area is a little better but not a lot.
The menu was quite limited and not at all adventurous. I had garlic and Stilton mushrooms to start. These came in quite a thin sauce with nowhere near enough Stilton for my taste and two small pieces of bread. My main course was beef and ale pie, or so it should have been. It was actual a beef and ale casserole served in a small dish and topped with a rectangular piece of puff pastry which had been cooked separately and then plonked on top, it wasn't even the same shape as the dish. This is not a pie.
The food was OK but nothing special. We were all a little disappointed by our night out.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sealdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollyBushInn, Owner at The Holly Bush Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Why do people review us as a food destination ? We have never set out to be that - we are a proper little country pub, in a beautiful but very sparsely populated area, there are very few of us still about... This reviewer has a Trip Advisor Badge for being a 'Top Contributor' - in other words he feels the need to review everything he eats and drinks to a worldwide web. Well perhaps he did not notice that the 4 stars outside our door are from Visit England and not Michelin ! We are not a Gastro Pub, the Holly Bush is about the whole experience staying, joining in with the great locals (optional), eating good honest, home-made pub food and drinking a decent pint, or two....
The pub is described as 'unattractive' and similar to a canteen - I don't think I've ever met anyone who doesn't like our huge log fire and I'm not sure if I've ever seen Farrow and Ball paint in a canteen ?? Perhaps he's from the competition or maybe he just needs to get a life....
My team work very hard to deliver a good experience and a 3 star rating is quite harsh and actually alters our overall ranking on Trip Advisor, not quite fair, but hey we have lots of amazing reviews we can be proud of. Onward and Upward....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenhaugh
3.4 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
19.3 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#4 of 20 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Bush Inn

Property: The Holly Bush Inn
Address: Greenhaugh, Northumberland National Park NE48 1PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Greenhaugh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenhaugh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holly Bush Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proper little country pub with award winning accommodation. We are located in the beautiful Northumberland National Park and we have some of the DARKEST SKIES in England. We are very close to Kielder Water and Observatory, Hadrian's Wall, Alnwick Gardens and the Coast. There are some beautiful walks that start from the pub including an ancient BASTLE trail. We have 2 family rooms and also welcome well behaved dogs. Whether you are coming to the area to walk, cycle, star gaze or just relax we can assure you of a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Holly Bush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollybush Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing