We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Holly Bush Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grapes Hotel(Newcastleton)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
191
63
23
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
63
23
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubb bthe ownerholly bushkielder observatorybar areabeer gardengreat foodgreen roomevening mealfriendly localsbooked a tablekielder watersausageopen firea great place to staydark skies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed two nights with some friends as two of us were walking round the reservoir as a challenge. Our rooms were lovely and comfortable, plenty of hot water, and facilities for tea/coffee etc. We ate here both nights, it was enjoyable pub grub at pub grub prices. Breakfast was lovely, we started our walk at 7.15 am and we're ever offered an early breakfast to accommodate our activities. Locals were friendly, and we were even allowed to dry our coats in the bar after our walk as we were soaked!! Wi-fi was great as we couldn't get a mobile signal there, the pub had a phone you could use with an honesty box, so it wasn't a problem. We will definately go back, area is lovely scenery amazing and skies to wonder over!!

Room Tip: We saw two rooms and they were both lovely so have no reason to assume they all weren't!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pOtter1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked a night at the holly bush after reading the reviews on trip advisor, first impression were good, after a little confusion we were shown to our room which was cold and felt very unwelcoming as it was pouring down outside and we had just travelled for three hours in the car, the sash windows in the room we were staying in did not have any fasteners and therefor did not shut properly so we could hear cars etc passing and the draft was pretty bad, we ended up leaving the curtains closed most of our stay.
The food was good but we weren't made to feel welcome or wanted in the eating area and so we left quickly after eating our meal
Our room was nicely decorated but full of cobwebs! my daughter found popcorn on her bed sheets! and no TV remote!
I think the Holly bush in could be a fantastic place if it was finished off to a better standard!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T81083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollyBushInn, Owner at The Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I am disappointed that you did not feel very welcome when you came and the room was cold. We have a check in time of 4pm midweek and our lights and heating are all geared up to be warm and welcoming. The confusion arose because you arrived early and the chef tried to check you in rather than leave you outside in the car which can hardly be classed as 'unwelcoming'. I honestly think we are probably the friendliest little pub in Northumberland and to say you were made to feel unwelcome and unwanted when you were eating just confuses me. You said you left quickly after eating your meal which is such a shame as it can be a nice way to end your evening chatting in the bar.
The cobwebs, oh the cobwebs - as its such an old building we are all on 'cobweb alert' and yet they still manage to weave one over us...As regards to the popcorn on the bed, for this I truly apologise as this is not good enough for an establishment which has just been awarded a Certificate of Excellence for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Early May saw 8 of us staying at the Holly Bush Inn for a weekend. We were having our first "Drive Out" this year with our cars. Not knowing the area, I did rely on Tripadvisor for choosing this Inn. We were not disappointed, what a find. The Inn is situated in the heart of Northumberland, great place for walkers, cyclist and lazy motorist like our group. Keider lake and forest were just a couple of miles away and easy access to Hadrian's Wall. However, the best part of the weekend was staying at the Holly Bush. It is an English pub with rooms. The place has so much character and atmosphere. Staff and owner were lovely people, and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were on the small side, but hey this place is hundreds of years old, and they did not make them large in those days. People were smaller anyway, but the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. Food was more than the normal pub grub, well presented and well cooked.
If you like your beer, you'll love this place too. The Holly Bush will be visited again, hopefully, we can still get a reservation.
Graham S
Malvern UK

Room Tip: Go for the Grey room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We made an emergency, last minute reservation here one evening as I could not face another cold sleepness night in a tent and did not regret it. The room we had was excellent - very comfortable and nicely decorated. There was a double bed and also a single so would heve fitted a family of 3 nicely. The bathroom was a bit small (thin) but I guess in such an old building you have to make allowances. Nice touches are the bottles of soap and shamppo in the bathroom: so much nicer than little sachets etc. I was a bit surprised to see they had a couple of real glasses on the table in the bathroom. I knocked one off in the middle of the night and luckily it did not break but it would have a pain (maybe literally!) if it had. My wife claims to have seen a couple of cobwebs in the bathroom The sound insulation seems to be very good. It was a Friday night and the pub was quite busy but despite that the room was very quiet and I spelt like a log.
We had to leave at stupid o'clock in the morning so sadly did not get to sample the breakfast. We did however have a drink in the bar before bed and found it to be very convivial.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hepatacyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst going to a wedding . Room was lovely with all the comfort you needed. Brill shower ! Host was very welcoming and accommodating.

Only word of warning is it is a beautiful old building which does mean you can hear noise from other rooms. Lots of creaky floor boards - added to our experience but imagine others may be deterred by this.

Couldn't get TV to work in room but in all honesty why would you need a TV when in such amazing natural surroundings!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laalaa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews