We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Historic Michabelle Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Courtyard Hammond(Hammond)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hammond)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Hammond)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
35
15
2
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
15
2
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseb bfront porchoriental suitenew orleansthe cottagesrocking chairshouse is beautifuldowntown hammondmini fridgea wonderful staybed was comfortablepompadourbamboocobwebstub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed only one night in one of suites, enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub and Community coffee in the room. Only complaint would be the number of loose tiles and uneven floor. Service was exceptional and friendly, even have us a tour of all the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Historic Michabelle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

David Bradley and the staff at the Michabelle run a lovely B&B that is perfect for a relaxing weekend. The grounds, the main house and the cottage suites are all absolutely lovely! I stayed in the Orleans Suite, which is beautifully decorated with a wonderful jet tub and separate shower. My suite was equipped with an incredibly comfortable bed, a microwave, mini-fridge and a flat screen tv in both the bedroom and the adjacent living room (complete with pull-out couch). Breakfast for two is included and served in the main house. You must try Mr. Bradley's famous omelet; it is divine! I visited the Michabelle in December and found the Christmas decorations to be truly beautiful. I whole-heartedly recommend the Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant to anyone looking for a B&B in or around the Hammond, LA area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Historic Michabelle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Our only problem with this B & B was deciding which room to choose, as they are all so stunning and uniquely decorated. We chose the Marie Antoinette room which was just as beautiful as advertised. We were travelling from Memphis and chose to stay one night at Hammond on our way to New Orleans, and our only regret was we did not have longer.

The house is meticulously decorated both inside and out and the grounds were beautiful. We were also fortunate to be the only guests for the night of our stay. This is a family run business and everyone was polite, and friendly. Breakfast was served in a nice dining room, and was tasty.

The property is very close to Hammond itself which has a reasonable range of fast food and other restaurants. Or you can always eat at the Michabelle. We didn't have dinner there but if the breakfast was anything to go by, I'm sure it would be great.

TIP: If you are heading to New Orleans and want to do a swamp tour - the Cajun Pride Swamp tour is on the way to New Orleans and we did this tour after leaving the B&B to avoid having to pay for the (expensive) shuttle bus or travel back out of New Orleans. The tour is definitely worth doing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAusCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Historic Michabelle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in one of the Suites, situated in a separate one-story house on the property. It was quiet, even though all of the suites had occupants. The antiques were beautiful, and the modern upgrades were great.

The main house was beautiful. We enjoyed the breakfast, which all tasted homemade (vs. one review we read where they thought everything was frozen). The omlets were freshly made for us, and very good. Dave, the owner, was very personable and ensured everything was as we liked.

Very good value - price of a room here was comparable to the holiday inn located next to the highway in Hammond, but with a MUCH better atmosphere.

Make sure you don't miss the Kleiberts Turtle and Alligator farm - its fun!

Room Tip: If you don't need lots of privacy, I'd recommend staying in the main house on the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angels45069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Historic Michabelle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

One star given because I could not submit review with less.

We stayed here because of the great reviews and we were deeply disappointed. The place was a DUMP, to put it as nicely as possible.

- The "cottages" were really an old trailer hidden by half-dead bamboo trees.

- The room smelled dank, musty, and moldy.

- The throw rugs were disgustingly filthy; I would not walk on them without shoes.

- The jacuzzi tub had a leaking faucet and mold inside the jets - not so "romantic."

- The breakfast was not the "pleasure to the eye as well as the taste buds" as claimed, but rather an inedible mess that should never have been taken out of the freezer. The omelet had no flavor. The fruit cocktail was a partially defrosted out-of-season frozen fruit medley topped with Cool Whip. The croissant and mini-muffins, although defrosted completely, tasted like the refrigerator. And the tea tasted like cardboard.

I am left with the conclusion that the other reviews must have been planted as there is no way possible for them to be accurate. Looked at closely, the writing patterns and verbiage of some of the other reviews are very similar.

Do not waste your time or money going to this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Historic Michabelle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Alex,
Since we were closed for the month that you claimed to stay here I wonder if you might be confused about where you actually stayed. This is not as much a review as a rant. Please contact me directly.
David Bradley
9854190550

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews