We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cajun hospitality at the very best”
Review of Whiskey River

Whiskey River
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Henderson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live Cajun & Zydeco music dancehall, overlooking the Atchafalaya Basin, open EVERY Sunday from 3-9 p.m. with LIVE local music from 4-8 p.m.! Come "pass a good time" with us on the levee cher! Allons Danser! Must be 21+ to enter!
Zaandam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cajun hospitality at the very best”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This venue is great to visit and taste the Cajun music and dances with live band music on a sunday afternoon. A lot of local families and friends were enjoing themselves and let us join in although we were strangers to them.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NicZaandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Rockin the Bayou”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Went to Whiskey River on a Sunday to see the Zydaco band. quite the joint. It sits on the other side of the levee outside Henderson. We knew we were there when we saw all the cars. The place was packed. It was a mainly local crowd who seemed to know each other and were having a blast. There is a large area where the band is for dancing...and dance they do. You will see older people, younger people, bikers and cowboy hats. My wife and I found seats a long the front wall in the back room. You can still see the band but are away from the dancing craziness. The whole place bounces on the floor boards. (reminded me of the B52's song Love Shack). Bartenders are running like crazy but always on it. Never saw the band take a break in the 2 hours we were there. Really worth the trip to see what locals do on a Sunday afternoon. A true taste of a Zydaco party. What's not to like??

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank wpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Sunday afternoon fun”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

As a party of Brits this was far removed from anything we have experienced before. A fantastic Zydeco band, way off the beaten track, ( we nearly ran over an alligator on the way) and a packed bar full of people having the best time. The dancers were all ages and there was a constant change of partners - one old chap danced with most of the women in the room! The atmosphere however was not at all pervy just good old fashioned fun.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Loud, but fun”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We went here to dance one Sunday night/evening. Parking lot was almost full when we showed up but there was plenty of room in side. Two areas...upper area for drinking and sitting and lower area for bar, drinking and dancing. Live band. They were very good but we were wanting Zydeco so we left after about and hour and a half. When you are dancing right in fron of this particular band, it was too loud to even scream in each other's ear. LOTS of smoking going on. We're not used to that as we're from California. Fun time though.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Lastrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okies gone Cajun!”
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Well, it was a few years back when we were visiting. My brother lives in Lafayette, LA & he brought us all out there to the Whiskey River. We had so much fun! Steve Riley was playing & we were jamming. I even got to wear the washboard instrument & play it some. My brother & sister-in-law were dancing with me on the floor after I got done dancing on the bar & those Cajuns got to stomping so hard on the floor that we just grabbed eachother & held on. It will be a memory that I will never forget. I think everyone should experience this place.
We'll be back soon!!!!!

Helpful?
6 Thank deaislandgurl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whiskey River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing