We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply magic. Period.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B
Ranked #4 of 8 Houma B&B and Inns
München, Bayern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply magic. Period.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I were on a road trip through Louisiana some weeks ago, when we passed "Twelve Oaks Plantation" by car. The house - nestled amongst centuries-old live oaks - looked so beautiful, I just had to say: "That's where I want to stay tonight." - So we rang the bell, asking for accommodation. The rest is history, and grand history at that! Landlady Barbara and her lovely daughter Casey simply incarnate the term "Southern Hospitality". Being Germans we felt like doing a journey back in time; for us, the scenery was like in "Gone With The Wind". SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL. We even stayed in a room named "Scarlett O`Hara" - with attached, private bathroom. Everything was gorgeously decorated and very, very clean. The bed was a thrill to sleep in: wonderful mattress and covers with a very pleasing fragrant. Breakfast was out of this world, including fresh, homemade cranberry-cake, fresh fruit salad, fresh scones and scrambled eggs - unbelievable! - To be honest: We were pretty sad to leave after only one night. We would always come back - "Twelve Oaks Plantation", including owners, is simply magic and absolutely beautiful. We won't come back for sure if we ever come back to Louisiana.

Room Tip: Every single room is beautiful. Wherever you end up, you're right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Public Relations Manager at Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so very much for choosing Twelve Oaks Plantation while visiting Houma, LA. It was truly our pleasure to meet you and have the opportunity to visit with you. We hope you will consider returning again, now that we consider you "part of the family".
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    4
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
19
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morgan City, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our first time at the plantation. Everything was beautiful. My two girls really enjoyed themselves. They tried the tea and loved taking pictures with the Easter bunny and Alice. Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Guest Relations Manager at Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Tank you so very much for attending the Twelve Oaks Plantation Easter Tea with Alice and the White Rabbit. We are so pleased that you and your girls enjoyed yourselves and we hope that you will return for our Christmas Tea with the Elf on the Shelf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McPherson, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the 12 Oaks Plantation was very relaxing and our host, Miss Barbarba, was congenial. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. Thank you Miss Barbarba and Casey for making our trip to Houma one we will always remember.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tonib41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Guest Relations Manager at Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Toni,
Thank you so very much for selecting Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B for your recent visit to Houma, LA. It was truly our pleasure getting to know you. We hope you will consider visiting us again if you ever return to Louisiana because you are "family" now!
Sincerely,
Shannon Rhodes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The ladies in my family attended the Easter Tea hosted at Twelve Oaks. It was a great time of fellowship, in high style. My daughter, who was almost 4, loved using the fancy china, making her own Easter hat and meeting Alice in Wonderland. It was a pleasant surprise to see friends there and enjoy each other's company in a beautiful setting. Your plantation home is so warm and inviting. I could feel the family love walking into the front door. Thank you, Twelve Oaks, for creating this memory for my daughter, mom & me. We had a great time and will be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Public Relations Manager at Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Amy,
Thank you so very much for the heartwarming message about our Easter Tea. It was a pleasure meeting you and having the opportunity to create such a lasting memory for you and your family. We hope to see you in December for our "Elf on the Shelf" Christmas Tea and next Easter as well.
Sincerely,
Shannon Rhodes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed in Twelve Oak plantation for one night after chilly Mardi Gras in New Orleans and the rooms are just adorable! We also enjoyed our breakfast prepared by Barbara in the morning pretty! They were preparing the wedding event in the weekend Surely I would be a good one

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cnadventureBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Guest Relations Manager at Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for selecting Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B for your Mardi Gras visit! We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself and pleased that you had fun in Houma, LA. We hope you will consider returning to our plantation because, after all, you are family now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I had a memorable 40th anniversary weekend at Twelve Oaks! We were given privacy,(we were in the Bonnie Blue suite, w/ private veranda!) They went above and beyond to make us feel special! Barbara and daughter, Kaci, were so warm and personable, wanting to meet our every need or want! We had marvelous breakfasts; and before leaving, we had a complete tour. It is so much bigger than we thought! The pool and patio and back kitchen were so inviting! Shannon, who has worked for Barbara for almost twenty yrs., gave a fun tour. Barbara is quite the tasteful decorator! Would recommend this special place to anyone, couples, families, or girls' getaway!

Room Tip: Having the private veranda is well worth it. Beautiful view of some the the massive oak trees! Lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Auburn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Public Relations Manager at Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are so honored and pleased by your beautiful description and kind words. It was truly our pleasure having you choose Twelve Oaks Plantation and Houma, LA for your 40th Anniversary. We do hope you come back to visit us, as we feel like you are part of the family. Many blessings for 40 more years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMSTERDAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

we had home baked cake and waffles for breakfast made by a very hospitable family.
Unfortunately we did not see much of the plantation
we had home baked cake and waffles for breakfast made by a very hospitable family.
Unfortunately we did not see much of the plantation
we had home baked cake and waffles for breakfast made by a very hospitable family.
Unfortunately we did not see much of the plantation
we had home baked cake and waffles for breakfast made by a very hospitable family.
Unfortunately we did not see much of the plantation

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank blueyemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Public Relations Manager at Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so very much for visiting Houma, LA and choosing Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B for your stay. We truly wish there was more time to visit and show you all of the details of working a sugar cane plantation. We wish you safe travels and hope to meet you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houma
16.4 mi away
The Dansereau House
The Dansereau House
#1 of 2 in Thibodaux
160 reviews
14.8 mi away
A Chateau on the Bayou Bed & Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma
4.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Houma
6.3 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#9 of 19 in Houma
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B

Property: Twelve Oaks Plantation B&B
Address: 3650 Southdown Mandalay Rd, Houma, LA 70360-2103
Region: United States > Louisiana > Houma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Houma
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve Oaks Plantation is an elegant home on a working sugar cane plantation in Houma, Louisiana. We are located in Terrebonne Parish on the serene Bayou Black. The Georgian Revival is nestled among twelve magnificent great oak trees. Accommodations are luxurious, yet comfortable and each room includes its own private bath, cable television, free WiFi and a gourmet southern breakfast in the formal dining room downstairs. Whether you visit for a special occasion or stay a while, Twelve Oaks is your home away from home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing