We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't go wrong!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivershack Tavern

Rivershack Tavern
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Port Orange, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stop by for a beer or a few. Eat, the food is excellent.

I've been there at lunch time and supper time and have never been disappointed. We normally sit outside at the tables (in a rather unattractive parking lot), as we are outside folk. This is great for beer. One can always walk across River Road and climb the levee to see the river, but that's too much exercise...have another beer and then go inside to eat, you will not be disappointed.

When Crawfish are in season they offer several crawfish boils...always great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyT0urists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best boiled crawfish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Rivershack Tavern has become our favorite go to place for boiled crawfish. It is seasoned and cooked to perfection. Other menu items have all been good, but we always end up wishing we had just ordered more crawfish. It is served two days a week for a limited time period (till they run out) so we go early. The atmosphere is very relaxed and service is great. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karli036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLYMPIA
Level Contributor
392 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“A funky little bar with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was the first restaurant that had been featured on Diners, Drive-in, and Dives that we had the opportunity to try and we weren't disappointed. The building lives up to it's name... it is a bit of a shack hidden behind the levy next to the river. But once inside, one finds a funky little bar that has a collection of signs, pictures and paraphernalia that will keep you entertained for quite some time. The stools at the bar are unique as the legs of the chairs are replicas of people's legs.
The food is typical southern comfort food that is absolutely delicious. My wife had catfish with white beans and pork and rice. I had the Shrimp Po-boy. For us, we couldn't have found a greater introduction to Southern cooking. Everything tasted so good. Guy had not steered us wrong.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 98502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food & fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Everything on the menu looks appetizing and I have never had a meal from the Rivershack that I could complain about. Daily specials run out fast as locals know to get there early or put their orders in early. Seafood is fresh and can be expensive so check on prices if ordering by telephone for take-out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Constance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Lunch in a Tavern by the levee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

A few years ago, after seeing The Rivershack on DDD we stopped in for lunch while passing through and had great lunch so we decided to go back last weekend while we were in New Orleans.
We hit the lunch crowd of blue and white collar eaters. Although Barbra our server was busy she was friendly and very efficient. She was fun to chat with and she had on this crazy lit up skyline tee shirt.
The food was good, fast, and hot. Hubby had smoked turkey and sausage gumbo that was spicy, tasty and not too spice hot either. There's hot sauce on the table.
I had some of the best sweet potato fries I've ever had. They were served piping hot and seasoned just right.
The Rivershack is just that. A neat old unpainted river shack situated by the levee with a lot of character, good food, good service and friendly servers and reasonable prices. What more do ya want sometimes!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MouthoftheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rivershack Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Rivershack Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing