We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boudin!!”
Review of Boudin King

Boudin King
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Jennings
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Riviera, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Boudin!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

If you are looking for the best boudin around just look no further than here. We're from Texas and have relatives in Jennings. Everytime we get a chance to visit them we usually have to have our boudin fix and Boudin King is the place we go. We also bring home extra to share with our other family members. So take an ice chest and filler-up,,,you won't be sorry!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDRA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in the southwest!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

If you want real china and silverware, don't come her, however for quality at a low price, do, good boudin, good gumbo and wonderful fried fish and shrimp!

Helpful?
1 Thank glennmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed with Boudin King”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I decided to stop by Boudin King after it was recommended to me by the travel clerk at the official Visitor's center outside of Baton Rouge, LA, off I10. The Boudin King is about 3 miles off of the Interstate in Jennings, LA, which wasn't too far from the Interstate. The service was below average as the clerks were impersonable and did not even know what to recommend. So, I ordered the shrimp gumbo and was totally disappointed. It was small, popcorn shrimp in a brown sauce gravy over white rice. That's all it was. I thought there was more to gumbo than that..It tasted terrible and had no seasoning. The establishment is run down, the atmosphere was quite grungy and the bathroom was filthy. Nothing like seeing the cooks on the way out smoking cigarettes on the front patio! I was very disappointed with this place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelsogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good boudin, the rest is just OK”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

After years of seeing the billboard on I-10, I finally stopped in to eat.

The good stuff:

1. The building has character. The restaurant apparently started as a grocery store and the building was gradually converted into the restaurant.
2. The boudin was good and served in hearty portions. I ordered one link and had something that looked like it was one and a half feet long. The boudin itself was very flavorful and I was just about able to cut through it with my plastic knife. Only a little bit stringy, overall it was really good.
Stuff that could be better:

1. With a name like “Boudin King”, I found it odd that I had to look hard to find Boudin on the menu. The menu on the wall was mainly fried chicken, fried seafood, and side dishes. The boudin options were listed in small print on top of a menu taped to the countertop where customers place their orders.

2. The gumbo was a bit weak and tasted like it came from a jar. The chicken and sausage in it were OK but the gumbo itself needed some help.

3. The service was OK. Nothing bad, nothing special, almost apathetic. That’s too bad. I’m originally from southern Louisiana and like to tell people about the friendly people and good service there. Unfortunately that was not exemplified here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best boudian and gumbo”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Friendly service, quality gumbo/boudian/fish/chicken.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennMiller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boudin King also viewed

 

Been to Boudin King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing