We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Service Great”
Review of Roy's Catfish Hut

Roy's Catfish Hut
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Kinder
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: They are listed on Urban Spoon
Restaurant details
Description: They are listed on Urban Spoon
Mooringsport, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food and Service Great”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had the seafood platters.
Catfish , fried shrimp , fried oysters and stuffed crab.
Came with salad bar and baked potato or fries.
Our waitress (Gabrielle) gave us great service. Thanks Gabby.
Food was plentiful and crispy . Seasoned just right for Us. (not to salty)
Only thing I didn't like was the peanut shells on the floor. ( too slippery for the older folk) BE CAREFUL.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Catfish”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had read the reviews and said what the heck will try it. The waitress was super. Ordered the catfish and it was the best I had eaten in a long time. Salad bar was very well stocked. The price was great. Will go there the next time I visit Kinder.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eunice, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Really enjoyed the food. The catfish was very good and the shrimp were very tasty. The prices were reasonable also.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonzales, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I wouldn't recommend it”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our waitress was efficient and polite. The restaurant looked clean. I just was not impressed with the food. My stuffed crabs were way overfried. My husband liked the catfish but not the shrimp and oysters. Salad bar is very small. Not worth the money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vsb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK - Nothing Special”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stopped here on our way back from Houston. Decided to drive the back roads back to Baton Rouge. We had heard about Roy's & thought we would try it. We were a little disappointed. We shared a large fried catfish plate. There was ample food for the price. The baked potato & the salad were good but the catfish left something to be desired.
The main problem with the catfish was, all of our pieces had a large oil vein left in them, giving them a strong taste. When we removed it the fish was actually pretty good. The fillets should have been cleaned better prior to frying.
They have peanuts on the table & you are allowed to let the shells go to the floor. Since I love peanuts, this was a nice plus.
The service was fast & friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrackerBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Roy's Catfish Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing