We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regulars with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coushatta Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kinder
Certificate of Excellence
Porter, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Regulars with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have been coming to Coushatta for a long long time. We have never had a "bad" stay. Twice in the chalets and one of the stays was barely average. Stayed at the Seven Clans a couple of time, the Inn a few time and the rest of the time brought the rv trailer. We are more prone to bring the trailer when we bring the kids and dog. They do Kids Quest and Cyber Quest and we do the slots. Most of the time the meals are compensated and are always good. Never ate in the Steak House.

Never had a bad experience with any of the hotel, chalet, or rv personnel. Always treated nicely and promptly and they have always taken the time to explain any questions that we have had to ask about.

We are on our way back this coming June.

Room Tip: If you don't like the rooms, bring your own. They have a nice RV park. Some times when we don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jadagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    33
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
46
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
312 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very disappointed in the cleanliness and upkeep of this hotel, had visited the casino in the past but this was 1st time to stay in hotel. Carpet was dirty and torn in places, stains on the comforter
on the bed and the bathroom was nasty and smelled bad. It was so bad we decided to leave a
day earlier than what we had reservations for. Stay in this hotel only if there is nowhere else to
get a room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhollingsworth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A S, Yield Manager at Coushatta Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
JimH_11

We at Coushatta Casino Resort sincerly apologize that your hotel room was not up to our standards. Since your stay the Coushatta Grand Hotel is undergoing major renovations to improve the hotel guest experience. We encourage you to check out our other lodging properties when visiting Kinder. Thank you for your continued patronage and we look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groves, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent two days at the Coushatta Grand hotel, I am glad to hear they are starting to renovate in a few weeks. It was a bit outdated for the $99 a night price tag during the week. They were working on the exterior of the hotel, I opened the curtains and was nose to nose with a man on a scaffold. We asked to be moved, no problems there. The employees we interacted with were very nice. Will go back after renovation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Grand Hotel at Coushatta is appropriately rated as the #3 hotel in Kinder, LA. Choices in Kinder are limited and this hotel is not what it was at one time. The hotel is dated and in need of refurbishment. Bed covers, bedding and furniture are dated. There is no safe in the room. The Grand Hotel does allow smoking. There were two guest elevators for the 200+ room hotel.

That being said, the room was clean and bath linen was fresh and of good quality. The high rise hotel was quiet and did have a very quiet HVAC system. Fire suppression systems were in evidence, with smoke detectors and annunciators... I think that is very important in a small town. The staff at the hotel/casino were friendly and engaging. The Grand Hotel and the newer Seven Clans hotel conveniently adjoin the casino.

Visiting frequently, I think the Seven Clans Hotel is a much better value $99 weekly and $170 on the weekends. The Grand Hotel is overpriced at $170, on the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the Hotel. There is vehicle traffic and railroad traffic at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A S, Yield Manager at Coushatta Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
JamesD20,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at Coushatta Grand Hotel. We are pleased that you chose us for your lodging and gaming entertainment.

The Coushatta Grand Hotel will be undergoing an extensive remodeling beginning in November. The casino and other lodging properties will still be opened for your continued enjoyment. Please give the Coushatta Grand Hotel another try after the reopening, I'm positive we will WOW you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We visited Coushatta from Sep. 30, to Oct. 3, 2013. I cannot think of enough superlatives to describe the employees we interfaced with. Professional, helpful and service oriented. Great people. One example, early Wednesday morning Oct. 2nd. I was playing "let it ride" when they changed cards. I asked the pit boss if I could have a couple of used decks she said she would check. Later I was playing the slots she found me and gave me some cards. I didn't get her name but I truly appreciate her thoughtfulness.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Last minute late night visit - Room was just cleaned you could smell the bleach. Beds are standard a little lower than 7 Clans nose bleed mattress. This is the side where smoking is allowed. Bathtub and Shower with conditioner shampoo and body lotion. Room is generally comfortable with TV and Wifi - Coffee maker is a drip Cuisinart not the Keurig found in 7 Clans stll good coffee and sugar creamer etc. No Safe in the room - usual fridge in its hiding place - fairly quiet in the daytime. Check in was smooth - food nearby in the casino. Kids Quest and pools and spas. Overall 7 Clans is much nicer this is Not Bad at All kind of Holiday Inn Style - Could use a little update but it probably keeps cost down especially with the new part open. AC worked well. Shower hot and had pressure.

Room Tip: 7 Clans is non-smoking this is smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_C_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A S, Yield Manager at Coushatta Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Bill_C_06

Thank you for your positive review from your most recent visit to the Coushatta Grand Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and continued patronage.

Our goal is to make Coushatta Casino Resort your favorite entertainment destination. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nice hotel. Good rates, clean room, friendly staff. Very convenient for those who enjoy playing at the casino. Good location to visit other attractions and casinos in the area as well. Like to stay here, play a little, go over to Alexandria and play at their casino and then back to Lake Charles to take in the casinos there. Good food and great prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinder
0.0 mi away
Seven Clans Hotel
Seven Clans Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kinder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Coushatta
23.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Iowa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jennings
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Eunice
23.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Eunice
BEST WESTERN Eunice
#1 of 3 in Eunice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coushatta Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coushatta Grand Hotel

Property: Coushatta Grand Hotel
Address: 777 Coushatta Drive, Kinder, LA 70648
Region: United States > Louisiana > Kinder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kinder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coushatta Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 208 spacious, ADULTS-ONLY beautifully furnished rooms and suites of Coushatta Grand Hotel offer an unsurpassed level of comfort, style, and personal service. From the luxury of authentic marble floors, magnificent chandeliers and intriguing art, to the practicality of in-room coffeemakers, hair dryers and ironing provisions, you will treasure every moment of your stay at Coushatta Grand Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coushatta Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coushatta Hotel Kinder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing