We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of The Woodman

The Woodman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £4 - £17
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Woodman Inn is a traditional style pub with a modern twist. Shane and Laura run the pub together with Shane as chef patron showcasing some of the best locally sourced Yorkshire produce in his menus and specials. A great range of Yorkshire guest ales changing weekly and a fantastic laid back ambiance make us a must for a visit. Super dog friendly and with a huge kids adventure playground in the garden, we really are a must for a visit. Pop in and give us a try.
Reviewed 19 October 2019

We visited while staying in the Lovely friendly village of Bishopthorpe , we all enjoyed Great food in a friendly atmosphere, very good service by owner (who spoiled my Beautiful Grandson with balloons that he was delighted with) and her helpful staff, very good sized portions, would really recommend.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 57quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2019

Visited the pub today with my dad and cockerpoo dog! So nice to have such a friendly pub that welcomes dogs also. The landlady even brought our dog sausages which was an extra nice touch. Definitely will return. Thank you

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

Popped in for a quick pint when out for a walk with the dog and made use of the beer garden as it was a lovely day. It has a fantastic play area for kids which kept our little one happy for well over an hour. Never ate on this visit but the food smelled lovely. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank simonf395
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

We visited tonight for our anniversary meal and was not disappointed. The Woodman is under new ownership - Laura and Shane. Laura was front of house and very friendly and welcoming. The surroundings were lovely with a very friendly atmosphere. There is a good choice of food on the menu with something for everyone. We had a special offer meal which was 2 rump steaks for £19.00. Both were cooked to perfection. We had banoffee pie and fruit crumble for afters - both very tasty. At the end of our meal, Laura gave us a little tasting treat for our anniversary which was a lovely touch. Go along sometime, you won’t be disappointed!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank CorkyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2019

My partner and I have been visiting The Woodman for a few years now.
Sunday lunch has always been a winner, (along with lots of other favourites on the main menu) the over-sized freshly made Yorkshire puddings, meat cooked to perfection, tasty vegetables all served on warm plates. Finished off with a home made dessert.
We booked in on Sunday 13th under the new owners, both open minded as to what was to be offered.....So disappointing, tiny Yorkshire puddings tasted & looked shop bought, meat over cooked and plates were cold in return making our food cold.
The prices have increased, portion sizes decreased....we didn’t bother staying for dessert instead opting to go over to the Co-op to buy and eat at home.
The menu has decreased dramatically and no specials board either.
Just the small touches of when calling to book being asked if anyone has any allergies etc have gone too!!
Unfortunately I don’t feel we will be rushing back any time soon, which is a shame as this has been our local for a few years now.
The most positive is that they have changed the beer options over....yet!!

Date of visit: October 2019
4  Thank Linnnnns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LauraLouS2511, Owner at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2019

Thank you for your review however obviously I am disappointed at the content. The previous owners clearly did things their way but with every change of ownership there are changes to the way things run. Our menu is completely different which is an obvious change for any food led business, and these menus will also change seasonally giving a huge range of in season choice throughout the year,t and as we had only been in the pub since Thursday we did not have specials on. These will be going on from next weekend. The prices and potions can not be compared as our menu and the previous menu are completely different. We do not ask about allergens as we have produced a comprehensive folder of all allergens kept behind the bar so that customers can advise us at the time of ordering rather than an inaccurate message being taken over the phone. I appreciate that you came to try us out and were clearly disappointed and for that I can only apologise. I would love to invite you back, give us another try. Please contact me at the pub if this is something you would consider.
Thank you
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woodman also viewed

Bishopthorpe, York
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
Colton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Woodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.