We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Woodman

The Woodman
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Woodman Inn is a traditional style pub with a modern twist. Shane and Laura run the pub together with Shane as chef patron showcasing some of the best locally sourced Yorkshire produce in his menus and specials. A great range of Yorkshire guest ales changing weekly and a fantastic laid back ambiance make us a must for a visit. Super dog friendly and with a huge kids adventure playground in the garden, we really are a must for a visit. Pop in and give us a try.
Reviewed 27 October 2019

I took my family for a meal yesterday as I heard the food was amazing and I was far from disappointed the food looked too good to eat but tasted too good to stop eating we had the special dessert it was to die for I will be taking friends and family here again can’t wait till next time thank you

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

Sunday roasts, potato & veg portions were tiny & salty. Parsnips & Yorkshire’s bland. Meat good. Dessert lovely.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Sue-Parsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

Have to unfortunately completely agree with Linns12345's review from 15 October - our thoughts exactly. We went for a family meal shortly after the change in ownership and were very disappointed with the quality, quantity and pricing of the food. Stark contrast to what went before. £s were squeezed out of the meals too much for us so we don't intend to return for any food - but it remains a lovely place to have a drink.

Should be said however that the female owner who worked front of house was fantastic and very welcoming. Indeed service overall was strong, shame the food let it down so much.

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank F3803TXchrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Under new ownership, with big boots to fill. It’s a big step to take on a well established pub and I think the new team at the Woodman have something going for them. Try the specials, and get a taste of what chef Shane is all about. You also can’t go wrong with the typical pub classics, we had fish and chips for our meal and the plates left clean. We dined on a cold Monday night and the restaurant was full, which is something to be proud of. Overheard a table praising their night, saying that they had enjoyed it more than the last establishment that they were in. I really hope Laura, Shane and the team enjoy every step of their new venture, they are doing a great job so far.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank FoodieYork19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

Food was unimpressive. Pie was watery stew in a bowl with a few chips and peas on the side. We also had a fish pie which just came in a cereal bowl. Would have been okay in a lunch time cafe but nothing special for a £15 per dish evening meal. Sides are £3 each for a little sugar-bowl-sized bowl of chips/onion rings/veg. Was very over priced for what it was.

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank rachelle1984h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woodman also viewed

Bishopthorpe, York
Bishopthorpe, York
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Woodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.