We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of The Woodman

The Woodman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £4 - £17
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Woodman Inn is a traditional style pub with a modern twist. Shane and Laura run the pub together with Shane as chef patron showcasing some of the best locally sourced Yorkshire produce in his menus and specials. A great range of Yorkshire guest ales changing weekly and a fantastic laid back ambiance make us a must for a visit. Super dog friendly and with a huge kids adventure playground in the garden, we really are a must for a visit. Pop in and give us a try.
Reviewed 3 November 2019 via mobile

Great food, great surroundings, thoroughly recommend!! Good choice of quality dishes, quick service despite being busy.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank kingyzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2019

Amazing food. Outstanding service. Highly recommended. Give York a swerve and go here instead. Calm and relaxed.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2019

I took my family for a meal yesterday as I heard the food was amazing and I was far from disappointed the food looked too good to eat but tasted too good to stop eating we had the special dessert it was to die for I will be taking friends and family here again can’t wait till next time thank you

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

Sunday roasts, potato & veg portions were tiny & salty. Parsnips & Yorkshire’s bland. Meat good. Dessert lovely.

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank Sue-Parsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

Have to unfortunately completely agree with Linns12345's review from 15 October - our thoughts exactly. We went for a family meal shortly after the change in ownership and were very disappointed with the quality, quantity and pricing of the food. Stark contrast to what went before. £s were squeezed out of the meals too much for us so we don't intend to return for any food - but it remains a lovely place to have a drink.

Should be said however that the female owner who worked front of house was fantastic and very welcoming. Indeed service overall was strong, shame the food let it down so much.

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank F3803TXchrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Woodman also viewed

Bishopthorpe, York
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
Colton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Woodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.