We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for weekend break!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sedgebrook Hall

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sedgebrook Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good hotel for weekend break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here meeting up with another two couples. The hotel rooms were of a good standard although we did upgrade, but I'm sure standard rooms are of a similar standard. The bar was modern and friendly, maybe drinks are a little pricey. We stayed two nights our friends one night. On both evenings the food was of a good standard. This is a hotel used in the week for conferences, and weeekends weddings. We were lucky there wasn't a wedding on. A local pub is on the doorstep and steam train next to hotel is open on Sundays. The surrounding area is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SedgebrookTeam, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Sedgebrook Hall when meeting your friends and for sharing your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    178
    155
    74
    28
See reviews for
78
208
14
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Sedgebrook Hall on a Groupon deal, with DBB glass of wine and chocs. Before our arrival I received an email offering room upgrade which I accepted, the room upgrade stated superior room with views of garden and king size bed. The day we arrived the hotel had a large group staying for a 'wake' and also a conference in progress.
The hotel has an extension onto the Hall itself which also has leisure facilities, pool and Beauty salon. On the plus side, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the hotel itself attractive. Adverse to this, our upgrade room was a business room with desk taking up most of the room, no view of the grounds, only one comfortable chair, but it did have kingsize bed!
Menu in restaurant very disappointing, with little choice. Prices at the bar were extremely high, so although the offer was a good one, it is only good if you don't have any drinks apart from the one complementary glass of wine offered.
We shall not be returning.
Sedgebrook Hall is situated in a lovely country position very close to Althorp, Duke of Spencers home, where Diana is buried.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corndolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SedgebrookTeam, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for staying at Sedgebrook Hall on a Groupon offer, and for sharing your feedback. Please accept my apologies that you did not have a view of the grounds from your room, and that you found the menu disappointing. All feedback is dicussed with the relevant departmental managers to ensure that it is taken on board for the future. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Good first impressions, nice sweeping lawns and location and good reception area.
My heart sunk when I saw it was a P&H hotel as the only bad reviews I have ever made have been for their hotels. Still the receptionist told me I had a nice quiet room so hopes were high.
The room is dated when I walk in but what grabs your attention is the huge door in the wall linking to the next room. Never a good sign as they are almost always noisy.
Oh was it noisy, just one door no sound proofing you can hear everything from the next room, you can even see the flicker of their TV in the dark through the door. Their TV is on now at 2.07 a.m. and I can hear every word.
The cynical money grabbing of this hotel in putting 2 paying adults who aren't related in these connected rooms knowing how rubbish they are destroys any good things this hotel may offer.
A call to reception was a waste of time.
Note to self, don't ever stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SedgebrookTeam, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Sedgebrook Hall. Please accept my apologies your disturbed night's sleep. Your comments have been taken on board and appropriate action taken to address the situation. I hope that you will consider staying with us again if you are in the area and ask that you contact us direct to make the reservation. Once again please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chapel Brampton hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Having stepped off a trans atlantic flight and a 36 hour day this hotel was a great treat. Good price, excellent friendly staff, comfortable rooms and superb food.
Set in the heart of the english countryside in stunning rural landscapes with good amenities and parking I was impressed.
In direct contrast the `chain hotel` I am now in is by a busy road, double the price and wants to charge me for a very crappy wi fi connection....:(
Highly recommend the sedgebrook experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SedgebrookTeam, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Sedgebrook Hall after your flight, and for your kind comments. I am delighted that your visit was enjoyable and relaxing after such a long day. I hope that if you are in the area again, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sedgebrook Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed one night using a Groupon and had not read reviews before I booked thought I was staying in a mansion but there is a huge two storey block with a maze of corridors to the main area, ours was the furthest room (251) 2nd floor had booked a twin room and received a double, however room was nice and the bed very comfortable had a view of woods and fields. Included in our groupon was an evening meal, service a bit slow but the food was hot and enough of it just not enough attention from the waiting staff ie would we like another drink? is everything ok with your meal? Slept very well until another guest slammed their bedroom door in the early hours of the morning, think it woke the whole of the 2nd floor up! Breakfast was good, loved the mushrooms.
Would stay again but not prepared to pay the advertised good value if you can get a deal or a groupon.

Room Tip: You are not staying in the main hall thats just the reception, bar and spa etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YiannisC805, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit Sedgebrook Hall. Please accept my apologies for any impression of staying in the Old House, but our guest accommodation is located in the separate area away from the main lounge and bar areas to minimise any noise element to the bedrooms. Thank you for your comments regarding the restaurant and I will be discussing service with the Restaurant Manager to ensure this is improved for the future. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed in hotel for 4 nights as part of business trip. The room was perfectly fine, if not a very long walk from the reception. Don't be deceived by thinking you are staying in a Grade II listed building, as that is just the reception hall and the bar. The main bulk of accommodation is a fair walk through endless corridors of shoe box style buildings all modern and purpose built. But the room was clean and stylish and had a very comfortable bed.

The downside to this hotel is the restaurant. There is very little choice in terms of the main menu, and the food is pretty overpriced. I splashed out one evening to have the £25 steak option, and it was so far from worth it I was really disappointed. Plus, upon ordering a white wine tonic the drink cost over £7 which seemed a tad extravagant for house wine.

Clean hotel, slow service in restaurant for over priced food, but nothing horrific. Not bad but not value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicia_taylor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YiannisC805, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Sedgebrook Hall. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our Restaurant and your comments have been discussed in detail with the relevant department managers particularly in relation to service in the restaurant. Thank you again for your feedback, through this we are able to continually improve our service and standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I booked this hotel for a Anniversary treat for my hubby. I was looking for a period Hotel, and from the pic on the advert I didn't see the huge modern annexe! I did see that this was a wedding and conference venue, but didn't think it would be the size it actually was!! There was a wedding that day too!! We had booked for afternoon tea and although the area which was allocated to us for this was very pleasant, the wedding party was in the bar area close to us and extremely noisy. Only to be expected and lovely to hear the happy children, but I had wanted a quiet afternoon tea for us !! Anyway, as the other reviews stated, the staff are great, the hotel is clean, the pool was fine and the food great. However it is not the place for a cosy romantic retreat, if that is what you are looking for!!

Room Tip: away from the bar area!! People complained about room size, but ours was more than adequate and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flossy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YiannisC805, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Sedgebrook Hall for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important to us as it is only through this that we can continually improve for the future, and your comments have been discussed with the senior management team. I hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Brampton
3.0 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.3 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
11.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedgebrook Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedgebrook Hall

Property: Sedgebrook Hall
Address: Sedgebrook Hall Pitsford Road, Chapel Brampton, Northampton NN6 8BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Chapel Brampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedgebrook Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedgebrook Hall is located in the picturesque village of Chapel Brampton, in the heart of the beautiful Northampton countryside. Set in idyllic country gardens, Sedgebrook Hall seamlessly mixes Victorian heritage with modern comforts and is an ideal venue for weddings, corporate events and inspirational training along with breaks and weekends away in Northampton.Whether you are looking for a charming wedding venue, a picturesque hideaway, a state-of-the-art conference venue or simply a hotel from which to explore Northampton and relax and unwind at the end of the day; Sedgebrook Hall should be top of your list.We have 102 bedrooms set alongside the main house in a modern annexe, which also houses our conference and banqueting suites which are ideal for conferences for up to 200 and banqueting for 120.Just 20 minutes drive from the M1 and with a wide variety of local attractions including: Althorp House, Castle Ashby Gardens, Silverstone and fantastic onsite leisure activities, Sedgebrook Hall is the first choice for short breaks and weekend breaks in Northampton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sedgebrook Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedgebrook Hall Hotel Northampton
Sedgebrook Hall Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing