We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have been a solod 4 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sedgebrook Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sedgebrook Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should have been a solod 4 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

So its a lovel hotel set in beautiful grounds in the countryside. The room was very nice, had a very grand feel with a huge bed.

The restaurant service was great. The food I was fantastic and at a very reasonable price. Great service too.

Where did ot go wrong? Well in the morning the restaurant was clearly understaffed and the staff rushed around none stop.

I waited to be seated and was offered a choice of tables. Told to help myself to the breakfast buffet amd someone would be with me shortly.

I finished eating and was about to head back to my room some 15/20 minutes later when I 2ad asked if id like tea/coffe and toast. Really? !! Ive finished and need to check out to head to a meeting.

At reception the computer system was not working properly and added another 10 minute delay. And at no point did staff ask me how stay was.

So I might stay their again and given the mixed reviews my stay was plesent. I just felt it lacked that little extra service I expect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kieran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis C, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Sedgebrook Hall and for sharing your feedback. Whilst it is very pleasing that you enjoyed your evening meal and accommodation, I am disappointed that service in the morning fell short of expectations. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your comments have been discussed with the relevant department managers, and I am confident that improvements will be made. I do hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    181
    159
    80
    29
See reviews for
78
218
14
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We held our Wedding here on Saturday 26th July and can't thank the staff enough. Emily did an amazing job running the day and in an emergency the staff reacted quickly and couldn't have done more for us and our guests. Andrew was also on hand and very helpful. Gemma and Lauren were great the whole way through our preparation for the day and couldn't do enough for us. All of our guests have given us positive feedback on staff, venue & food. Thank you all for making our day as special as it was!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tory27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis C, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are delighted to have shared your Wedding Day with you, and thank you for your lovely comments. I will certainly ensure that these are passed on. I would like to add my personal best wishes for the future, and hope to welcome you again to Sedgebrook Hall on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Dinner was tasty, however, portions small for price and distinct lack of vegetables. Breakfast was best meal.

Bar Prices extortionate.

Rooms dated - bathroom grouting needs attention, Taps and furnishings old. No Air Con. TV control not working, ~ internet intermittent. - I would be totally ashamed to sell accommodation with such a low standard at the price charged

One thing that tells me great deal about a standard of a hotel is when a member of staff asks the question "is everything OK? " - My response is "Yes it is ok but does not exceed my expectations which really means everything is rubbish" when will hotels & restaurants learn they need to exceed expectations and not just be ok?

I have stayed at 2 PH hotels (Sedgebrook and Cranage) in one week and very disappointed with both.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis C, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for staying at Sedgebrook Hall and for sharing your experience and I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Your comments have been discussed in detail with my management team, in particular our Maintenance department to rectify any faults within the accommodation areas. Feedback is very important to us, as it is through this that we will continue to improve, and I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights whilst working at an outdoor exhibition in Northampton
Room was very nice and clean
Bar is spacious and they put Rugby League matches on Thursday and Friday for us very nice gesture
Bar staff are brilliant
Drinks prices over the top but typical hotel prices
Used the health Club which is very good My son used the Gym which he said was more than adequate
Had a bar meal one night which was tasty

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis C, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sedgebrook Hall whilst attending your Exhibition. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the visit, and very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here after seeing a deal (groupon or similiar, probably) for a stay in another hotel within the PH group, who seem to own several hotels around the country. The deal had a link to the PH group's website, and after checking that out, it became apparent that it's actually even cheaper if you book direct (you seem to get 20% off for some dates, at least). So we did. Coincidentally we'd already stayed in an PH hotel in Dorking and had a great time there, too (again, we'd got 20% off then, too :-) ). I must say, for the price we paid for the room (about £50 for a superior double including breakfast), you can't go wrong. Especially considering it has lovely grounds (full of baby rabbits - so cute) and a swimming pool. So things were looking good in the value for money department. The room was comfortable - bed very comfortable. And quiet - we had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was amazing - we skipped lunch that day :-) We decided to push the boat out at dinner and bought a bottle of wine and have three courses - two things that we never do. But why not - we were on holiday. So imagine my surprise and the smile on my face when we came to checkout the next morning to be told that there was some sort of deal that we'd qualified for in the restaurant and it came to about half the price on the menu. Nice! Top tip - don't bother paying the extra few quid for a superior room. When we got to our room, I called down to reception because the website said that we'd have a spacious bathroom in the superior room. You don't - the receptionist told me that all bathrooms are the same size! And the website also said we'd get a superior view. Our view was of the room opposite, rather than the rolling hills of the wonderful grounds. Just a minor gripe, really, but very quickly forgotten considering the lovely staff - especially in the restaurant - the incredible value for money on the food and the stay - and the comfortable room and bed - and the quiet, relaxed atmosphere with full facilities. Definitely one to stay at again.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying the extra few pounds for a superior room. All that really gets you is a slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis C, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Sedgebrook Hall and for sharing your experiences. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in a superior room.
Check in was quick and the girl was helpful. Bit of a treck to room with small flights of steps/stairs - not great when you have a suitcase.

Room was adequate - for what was a superior room id have expected far better. The bathroom was really quite dated and tired, the room was clean but lacked space and did not have any air con - which on the second floor made it unbearable in this heat - needless to say we didnt sleep well.

We did not in the restaurant went to the pub literally 5 mins from the room.
The breakfast & the actually restaurant was lovely - good selection of breakfast items.

The downsides were you could hear corridor noise and your neighbours.
Would i go back? Yes if it wasnt hot and air con not needed, and only if i got a good deal.
The grounds and the carparking are very good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis C, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Sedgebrook Hall and for sharing your feedback. We do have a rolling refurbishment plan in place, however I have taken on board your comments regarding the bathroom and temperature in the bedroom. I would like to thank you for your comments relating to breakfast, I am pleased that you enjoyed this. I hope that you will visit us again in the future, and we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at sedgebrook hall for 3 nights with my partner and baby. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and made a fuss over my daughter which she loved. The pool was good and we had a nice meal in the restaurant, however had to leave after mains as our teething baby started screaming her head off. The staff were very good about this though and offered to send up deserts etc to our room if we wanted them. The room service was very good value with big portions. As other reviews have mentioned the bar drinks were pricey but that is to be expected in a hotel like this. The room was a good size and the bed was comfy. However the bathroom needed a bit of tlc as the toilet roll holder and shower attachment were both loose and the bath had mould stains around the edge. Also the room was very hot due to the summer heat with just a small window that didn't open far so it would've benefited from a fan. Overall had a good stay but take a fan if weather is going to be hot or you will melt.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xxxkatie87xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis C, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for visting Sedgebrook Hall and for sharing your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. However I have taken on board your comments regarding the bathroom and have asked my maintenance manager to rectify these issues as soon as possible. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Brampton
3.0 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.3 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
12.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedgebrook Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedgebrook Hall

Property: Sedgebrook Hall
Address: Sedgebrook Hall Pitsford Road, Chapel Brampton, Northampton NN6 8BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Chapel Brampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedgebrook Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedgebrook Hall is located in the picturesque village of Chapel Brampton, in the heart of the beautiful Northampton countryside. Set in idyllic country gardens, Sedgebrook Hall seamlessly mixes Victorian heritage with modern comforts and is an ideal venue for weddings, corporate events and inspirational training along with breaks and weekends away in Northampton.Whether you are looking for a charming wedding venue, a picturesque hideaway, a state-of-the-art conference venue or simply a hotel from which to explore Northampton and relax and unwind at the end of the day; Sedgebrook Hall should be top of your list.We have 102 bedrooms set alongside the main house in a modern annexe, which also houses our conference and banqueting suites which are ideal for conferences for up to 200 and banqueting for 120.Just 20 minutes drive from the M1 and with a wide variety of local attractions including: Althorp House, Castle Ashby Gardens, Silverstone and fantastic onsite leisure activities, Sedgebrook Hall is the first choice for short breaks and weekend breaks in Northampton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sedgebrook Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedgebrook Hall Hotel Northampton
Sedgebrook Hall Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing