We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks great on the picture,you WILL be dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sedgebrook Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sedgebrook Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Looks great on the picture,you WILL be dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Well I looked long and hard to find a hotel that looked like a little get-away in the country for my wife and I whilst not being too far away from Silverstone.
This hotel seemed to fit the bill, as the picture of a 300yr old hotel filled the first web page I thought "class"
In reality when you arrive, you see a modern building resembling a sort of dormitory look alongside the stunning hall.
It was obvious that upon arrival there was a wedding taking place, the stressed out looking staff greeted us with a weary smile and booked us in, and it's at that point you realise that you are going to be sleeping in the modern part of the hotel, very disappointing.
Drinks are very expensive at this hotel, we had 3x Stella’s and Half of a cider, £15 but if you go just down the road there are lots of cheaper alternatives.
And after a really good meal and some more drinks at the local restaurant we went back to settle down for the night, if that was only possible.
The basic rooms have a small double bed, obviously to make the room seem a little bigger, the bedding was of a poor standard, and all in all it feels uncomfortable.
There is no fridge, no iron, and the trouser press didn't work, (I was hoping to do my shirt on it), the bathrooms are a little worn looking as well, not what you would expect from a 4* hotel.
1.30AM this is when the nightmare starts, Guests from the wedding are returning to there rooms, screaming, shouting, swearing, all at the top of their voices, constant opening and slamming of doors, more running up and down the the corridor, and as you are now fully awake you can hear the constant sound of urinating in the toilets surrounding your room, nice!!
Yes I got up and complained to the reception staff, but by that time it had started to go quiet, and we were left wide awake till about 3.00AM.
I couldn't stand another night so we had a reasonable breakfast and booked out a day early, on the assurance of the reception that we wouldn't get charged.
No such luck, to add insult to injury I checked my credit card statement to find I have been charged an early departure fee of £59.00.
I have been assured I will be refunded, however I will wait and see.
So if your thinking of staying here, check there are no weddings, try to get a room in the hall, more expense but I’m sure it's worth it. will we stay again.,Not a chance.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    181
    157
    80
    29
See reviews for
78
217
14
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Stayed for three nights over the Bank Holiday.The hotel is in lovely surroundings and the ground are kept in a lovely condition.There is a sun terrace which is very pleasant.
Was happy with our room,Very clean and roomy.
Breakfast was very good with with a lot of choice,staff were very helpful & friendly.
There is a Pub 100yards away from the Hotel,this was great,had an outside terrace area with heaters.Food was great with a lot of choice,a bit more than your average pub meal but also very reasonable for the quality!
Overall had a good time,would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJTMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln, England
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

Having selected this hotel from the net instead of using the normal travelodge hotels we were eagerly looking forward to what we thought would be a better experience.
The hotel is very nice and clean and caters for large conferences and weddings etc.The grounds are well kept and scenic and the overall appearance couldn't be faulted.
BUT
The basics aren't there. Very disappointed to see that after advertising a massive budget improvement it didn't stretch to a decent sized bed.It was only a normal double and there was room for a kingsize. There was only one bedside table and there were room for two and the refurbishment did not run to air con.

As the evening of our stay progressed it became apparent that the wedding party that were also in our wing of the hotel had had a few too many drinks already and were rampaging up and down the corridors banging on each others doors and making a racket not too dis-similiar to an infant school play ground.
We cannot condemn the hotel for the peoples behaviour but it would have been helpful to have kept all wedding party guests in one wing and people like ourselves who wished for peace in another wing. There was plenty of choice as the hotel was not to capacity.
On going to bed this is where the problems started. The bed was as much use as a 2 person hammock. The roll together inducing sag was unbelievable. Even budget hotels give better beds than this. Though the linen etc was clean the bed was undoubtedly past its best.
Then when the drunken wedding guests were returning noisily to their rooms at gone 4am. the bad plumbing kicked in when they started to use their toilets. Severe pipe hammer ( the loud noise made by resonating pipes) echoed through the building like a train going by till the cisterns had refilled. But it was too late then as it had woken everybody and so they came out of their rooms to see what was going on resulitng in discussions in the corridor which sounded as though they were in our room.

If you like to sleep during the night this is NOT the hotel for you.
If however your one of those people who likes to stay up all night drinking and enjoying the hotels facilities, you'll like the place as the surroundings are really nice.
You won't have to worry about keeping me awake as my wife and i won't be back.

  • Liked — surroundings
  • Disliked — bed quality poor , bad sound insulation.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank borabandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chapel Brampton hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

Stayed here for work event. The hall is beautiful and old but there is hardly any bedrooms in it so you would be staying in one of a modern and minimalist rooms in the blocks next to it. Wouldn't be happy staying in one of them for a weekend away, would just about do it for a wedding.

Conference facilities were good, we had a very relaxing time, the bar area is really handy as is the outside sitting and lawn areas for activities.

Breakfast and lunchtimes were problematic as the tables and chairs were rammed in and you had to squeeze in and out and queue for a long time (15 mins) to get lunch from the central table.

  • Liked — Peaceful
  • Disliked — Basic rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2008

We were having a day at Silverstone and this seemed to fit the bill.

Well priced at the weekend. Yes its a conference centre but that is hardly a secret.

Pool and Jucuzzi/snooker room looked nice although we didn't use them.

Bar prices OK.

Yes there was a wedding on but it wasn't a problem.

Grounds lovely..with resident rabbits.

Rooms very clean and well appointed.

Staff fine & friendly.

Beds were a bit soft but comfy enough.

Breakfast was very good & hot food was topped up reguarly so was fresh & hot. Good selection of fruit, cereals etc. Mainly aimed at full English breakfast which is fine by us, but fruit ,yoghurts, cerials and cheese and cookies available so I think they cater for most tastes.

Leave your cases in the car and check in first as the sign says ,as the rooms are next to the car park. The are not being awkward they are trying to save you carrrying your luggage twice.

We would go back.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonholyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2008

The location and setting of Sedgebrook Hall is lovely, just a few miles outside Northamptonshire, in beautiful countryside and close to Althorp House.

A nice old manor house facade (shown in the publicity pictures) with the majority of the property being in 1980's extensions (funnily enough - you don't see photos of those parts!).

During the week, Sedgebrook Hall is primarily a conference centre with large parties of corporate delegates who, in addition to using the conference rooms, take over the restaurant/bar/outside spaces. This gives it a very different atmosphere to a hotel and guests attending for leisure purposes may feel a little overwhelmed or pushed out.

Accomodation is OK - basic 'Travelodge' style with no frills, a bit old/dated and could do with re-furbishment. No minibar but otherwise fully equipped. There are some superior/deluxe rooms available which I imagine are better.

Leisure facilities don't get too much focus on Sedgebrook's website, and it's understandable! A tiny pool and jacuzzi which are reminiscent of council-run swimming baths and most certainly not a destination feature. There's also tennis courts in the pleasant grounds and a gym.

The restaurant really lets this place down. I may be doing Sedgebrook an injustice, but I suspect that everything is bought in from a foodservice supplier. Dinner was reminiscent of mass catering events. Lunch was a buffet (better) but apparantly containing the leftovers of the previous evening's dinner menu. Breakfast is also a buffet with a decent selection of fried stuff, but limited healthier options. The good news is that there is an excellent pub serving food just outside the gates of Sedgebrook Hall!

Overall I would rate this place as very average, with food below average. It may be OK at the weekend, but on weekdays it is effectively a training centre with rooms. If this doesn't bother you, and you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation in a nice location then I suppose it's fine. Note that a Travelodge is about half the price though.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Food, extortionate WiFi charges
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

I often stay at the Premier Travel Inn when I come to Northampton on business but my colleague and I decided to treat ourselves and book two room at Sedgebrook Hall.

We arrived at 9pm and the receptionist was very unhelpful and seemed confused as to which rooms she was putting us in. We were offered no help with our bags which were heavy and told to find our rooms by following the path outside. When we got there my colleague's room card didn't work. So we walked all the way back to be issued with a new room card. We then found there was somebody elses belongings in the room. After another trip back to reception (still with no apology) my colleague finally got into a vacant room.

She then had a her sleep disrupted by a loud party in the room next door and as there was no answer from reception had to walk outside in her nightthings to find the night porter who eventually asked the room next door to calm down this was at 1.30am! We had to leave at 6.30am for an important meeting and she was very tired. If this hotel wants to attract business guests they really have to up their game.

I was then woken up on our final morning but loud music from the next door room. The acoustics are very poor and not at all what you would expect from a four star hotel. All I can say is if you are a business guest you are better off booking a room at the nearest Premier Travel Inn.

  • Liked — It has a nice countryside location
  • Disliked — The poor service and acoustic problems
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer14222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Brampton
3.0 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
3.3 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
12.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedgebrook Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedgebrook Hall

Property: Sedgebrook Hall
Address: Sedgebrook Hall Pitsford Road, Chapel Brampton, Northampton NN6 8BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Chapel Brampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedgebrook Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedgebrook Hall is located in the picturesque village of Chapel Brampton, in the heart of the beautiful Northampton countryside. Set in idyllic country gardens, Sedgebrook Hall seamlessly mixes Victorian heritage with modern comforts and is an ideal venue for weddings, corporate events and inspirational training along with breaks and weekends away in Northampton.Whether you are looking for a charming wedding venue, a picturesque hideaway, a state-of-the-art conference venue or simply a hotel from which to explore Northampton and relax and unwind at the end of the day; Sedgebrook Hall should be top of your list.We have 102 bedrooms set alongside the main house in a modern annexe, which also houses our conference and banqueting suites which are ideal for conferences for up to 200 and banqueting for 120.Just 20 minutes drive from the M1 and with a wide variety of local attractions including: Althorp House, Castle Ashby Gardens, Silverstone and fantastic onsite leisure activities, Sedgebrook Hall is the first choice for short breaks and weekend breaks in Northampton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sedgebrook Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedgebrook Hall Hotel Northampton
Sedgebrook Hall Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing